We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of the Sierra Nevada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Rural Las Chimeneas
Ranked #1 of 2 Mairena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A taste of the Sierra Nevada”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Enjoyed two amazing meals at Las Chimeneas, whilst staying at our own house in the village of Mairena. The food and wine was excellent and the ambience was perfect. Great value for money. Thank you Soledad, Emma and Andrew for two lovely evenings

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
82
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lier, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was a very enjoyable stay. David and Emma are very attentive and engaging hosts with plenty of information and suggestions on local treks of various levels of ambition. They referred us to a local bodega (wine producer) where we had a extremely enjoyable tour over a relaxed few hours sampling some very good wines. The rooms were very nice with many attractive design features and great views. Double beds were adequate but not large. The restaurant was excellent with very high quality, well-prepared meals at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael_Wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have just completed the most excellent enjoyable week walking west for 4 days from Las Chimineas Mairena to Trevelez with my eldest daughter. Emma and David gave us notes and some excellent tips and map and booked us into ideal little hotels on the way and delivered our luggage to each location so that we just had day packs. Then we were re picked up and had such a lovely Easter weekend with absolutely delicious food and a relaxed and excellent 'foraging' trip out to their Finca on Sunday. Las Chimineas is not plush but better than that - absolutely tasteful relaxing, comfortable and delightful offering us every comfort we could think of. I can't think of a holiday I have enjoyed more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoisK18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just spent an outstanding week in David and Emma's beautiful inn in the tiny village of Mairena. The views form our terrace were breathtaking, the food is local and simple yet gourmet, the inn is a perfect combination of antique and modern. The surrounding country is so stunning and the lifestyle is so simple, that to spend time as Las Chimeneas is spend time in heaven.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at Las Chimeneas for three nights in February and feel very fortunate to have spent a few days in such a beautiful location and among such good company.
The casa rural is a home from home, with a relaxing front room, log fire, kitchen, honesty bar and comfortable, quiet, clean rooms with stunning views across the mountains. The sheltered sun terrace is a nice place to relax with a book or just watch the world go by.
Hosts David and Emma are so welcoming and happy to suggest walks to take and places to see, and the food is just outstanding (and plentiful!).
There are endless options for walks in panoramic scenery through almond terraces and following waterways, and a spot of group yoga one morning helped to ease any post-walk aching limbs.
Thanks all for a lovely short break in the sunshine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed here recently for a week's cooking and walking. Like other reviewers I can only say this is not just a wonderful little hotel with lovely rooms and views but David and Emma are the most delightful of hosts. I can't recommend the place too highly and hope I can go back, perhaps to see the almond trees in flower.
A huge thank you to all the staff who made my stay so memorable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were booked into the casa as part of our walking holiday in the Alpujarras and spent a total of three nights there. It set a very high standard. The staff cannot have been more helpful and the food provided by Sole and Conchi was excellent.
We were offered a choice of rooms - all of which had a lot of character, and chose one with its own sitting room and log fire, as well as a small kitchen area. There is also another communal sitting area and a kitchen for guests, so you can really feel at home.
Emma took us on a fascinating guided tour of two the local villages when it seemed to wet to walk and helped us on our way when we were unable to cross a river at the start of our hotel to hotel trek.
We had a great welcome. David, Emma and all the staff really want you to have a great time.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffandLiz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mairena
1.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Real de Laroles-Nevada
17.5 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#1 of 3 in Capileira
238 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alojamiento Vina y Rosales
9.0 mi away
Hotel Villa de Laujar
Hotel Villa de Laujar
#1 of 1 in Laujar de Andarax
152 reviews
2.2 mi away
Los Arcos
Los Arcos
#1 of 4 in Valor
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rural Las Chimeneas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rural Las Chimeneas

Property: Casa Rural Las Chimeneas
Address: Calle Amargura, 6, 18494 Mairena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Mairena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mairena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Chimeneas is a small guest house with a great reputation amongst discerning travelers for its fantastic views, lovely rooms, delicious food, and above all, the warmth and friendliness of the staff and owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Rural Las Chimeneas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rural Las Chimeneas Hotel Mairena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing