We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Rural Las Chimeneas
Ranked #1 of 2 Mairena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

A chance meeting with a friend who had taken this holiday last year resulted in us going on this amazing walking holiday. The friendliness of David and Emma, together with their expert guidance and vast knowledge of the area and its history, made our holiday memorable. Our room was excellent in every way with the most breathtaking views of the Sierra. Nothing was too much trouble for either David and Emma or their staff. The food was out of this world, cooked to perfection by the two ladies in the kitchen and served expertly by the restaurant staff. The atmosphere there was so relaxing and friendly it makes you want go back again. very professional people who make a lot of hard work look easy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
81
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Thank you David, Emma & Gill for your hospitality and the nice place you have! I highly recommand this house, very quiet, peaceful and surrouded by beautiful nature. And congrats to the two great cookers for the dinner, it was delicious. We will come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisMarieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed with our three children in one of the casitas for an entire month, and we were thrilled with our experience. Emma and David were extremely helpful, thoughtful and generous to us—letting us borrow their GPS for a trip into Granada, arranging an informal mule ride on their neighbor’s mule for my son’s third birthday (something he still—two months later--talks about almost every day), giving tours of the local church they helped restore (with uncovered frescos—amazing) and the mill they use for their olives, suggesting amazing daytrips, restaurants, and experiences (the highlight of which was weaving with Lola—do this!), setting up a play date with their friends’ grandkids who were the age of our kids, helping right away when my three-year-old had stomach flu, the list goes on and on! Sole and Conchi are wonder-makers in the kitchen—we have never eaten so well—and have such big hearts. Their warmth and hospitality, along with that of the fabulous wait staff, made us feel right at home in what would otherwise feel like the (gorgeous!) middle of nowhere. If you’re looking for an authentic Spanish experience, a gorgeous setting, and world-class food, look no farther.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WELWYN, HERTFORDSHIRE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed in April for a 6 days walking holiday in the Sierra Nevada/ Alpujarra.
It was our first walking holiday and we combined it with a short prior stay in Granada. The drive from Granada was spectacular and the return trip to Malaga fro our flight home was interesting and not too arduous. Near the hotel there are a number of other white washed villages / towns that look down to the valley which are connected by a relatively new unchallenging road.
We booked this hotel via an inclusive deal with hire car and all meals.
It is in a friendly hil top white walked village in which the owners have gradually expanded accommodation by acquiring additional houses and cottages that now provide great rustic style rooms with a view over the valley and a shared area for reading, meeting etc. and a super restaurant.
Not having booked 'inclusive' for many years we were a little reticent about the possibility of restricted and sub standard menus. However, no fears here as there was an excellent choice, the food was beautifully prepared by a renowned local Spanish lady from the village who took pride ion the food and used local produce and good local wine crowned the experience.
Above all was the friendly and helpful nature of the owners and their staff who provided regular advice and literature/maps of local walks to suit all grades of walkers. We could not have enjoyed the stay as much without their advice.
We managed about 3-4 hours a day on some superb rewarding walks which we could not have done without their help and also met some very nice people who were doing the same. They were also a fountain of knowledge in respect of local and Spanish history and threw in some short guided local walks that were very interesting.
All in all, a memorable and excellent value stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandJean_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesvos
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Las Chimeneas for about a week at the end of April 2012.

We had a lovely room over the restaurant, with a terrace with great views to the south down to the sea many kilometres away.

Every morning either David or Emma was available to help us decide what we'd like to do for the day and in the coming days. They have a great variety of walks along with full instructions to cater for all tastes. If a walk requires either a drop off or pick up, they organise this.

They also organise various other excursions and activities, such as a trip to the castle at Calahorra, north of the Sierra Nevada. They also organised a very enjoyable mornings cookery for us at the nearby El Sitio restaurant.

The restaurant at Las Chimeneas is worth the visit all by itself. They have a small menu with 3 starters, 3 main courses and 3 deserts, which changes every night and the quality of all the dishes is superb. Many people who were on point to point walking holidays commented on how much better the food was at Las Chimeneas.

Overall, David, Emma and all of their team ensured we had a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

just back from las chimeneas had a wonderful time walking, great hosts who are very knowledgeable on local history and wlaking routes. Excellent food with an good vegetarian option each night.Very good value for money.

Room Tip: We had the coral which was basic but ideal as a base for walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonnieBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2012

A very peaceful and tranquil place. Beautiful views, rewarding walks. Great food. Many thanks to Emma and her team for their hospitality and sharing knowledge of and passion for Alpujarra with us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mairena
8.5 mi away
Hotel los Berchules
Hotel los Berchules
#1 of 1 in Berchules
139 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Real de Laroles-Nevada
20.4 mi away
HG Maribel
HG Maribel
#7 of 13 in Nevada
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Melia Sol y Nieve
Melia Sol y Nieve
#1 of 13 in Nevada
777 reviews
12.2 mi away
La Fragua II
La Fragua II
#1 of 2 in Trevelez
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alojamiento Vina y Rosales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rural Las Chimeneas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rural Las Chimeneas

Property: Casa Rural Las Chimeneas
Address: Calle Amargura, 6, 18494 Mairena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Mairena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mairena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Chimeneas is a small guest house with a great reputation amongst discerning travelers for its fantastic views, lovely rooms, delicious food, and above all, the warmth and friendliness of the staff and owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Rural Las Chimeneas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rural Las Chimeneas Hotel Mairena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing