We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What An Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jungle Cat World Wildlife Park

Jungle Cat World Wildlife Park
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1983, Jungle Cat World Wildlife Park has been offering visitors the unique opportunity to see and experience wild species, many threatened with extinction, in an up-close and personal environment. Professional staff are readily available and always eager to share their knowledge and enthusiasm. Accredited by Canada's Accredited Zoos and Aquariums - Aquariums et Zoos Accredites du Canada (CAZA/AZAC), which represents the leading zoological parks and aquariums in Canada. CAZA/AZAC promotes the welfare of, and encourages the advancement and improvement of, zoological parks, aquariums and related animal exhibits in Canada as humane agencies of recreation, education, conservation, and science.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“What An Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Spent the night in the Lions Den which was unreal. We walked in and immediately almost felt sad that it would be over in the morning. Great little zoo, did behind the scenes with Lemurs, Serval Cats and Hiena's. Unreal experience and looking forward to doing it again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    58
    22
    19
    39
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“Amazing experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I usually don't like to go to the zoo. But this place is very different. Animals are in great shape and well taken care. They look very happy to be in this place. Also really enjoyed seen the zoo keeper interact with the animals.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Walter Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Behind the Scenes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Came with my boyfriend on August 24, 2013, for behind the scenes sessions with a zookeeper! We saw the fennec foxes, the red fox Hunter, and the Serval. It was an amazing experience being able to learn and interact with each animal, and have some time to be immersed into their environment. our zookeeper, Candace?( can't remember her name exactly) was amazing! She took photographs while she educated us, and kept us engaged in the animals. Definitely would recommend anyone to come to JCW, and try out the behind the scenes as well.

It was also amazing to see the Snow Leopard, knowing how rare those cats are. They were very beautiful.

Good job JCW!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank neshiikinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good for kids, but not exactly "accessible"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The animals are in cages and if you go for the feeding at 1:30, it's a great experience as the chatty guides give you information as they take you around the park feeding the animals. The only problem is that it is definitely not good for wheelchairs or walkers, and even the strollers had a difficult time. The paths are topped with gravel and the grass is uneven. The snack bar is adequate, but would suggest you bring a picnic lunch. There are only two cubicles in the ladies' washroom, one of them being an accessible one. I didn't visit the men's room.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 68Gramma5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This family owned zoo is unlike anything I've ever seen or experienced before, the staff is extremely friendly and has answers to any question you may have. It's extremely amazing to see the bonds that these people have made with these exotic animals and have made it possible for every day people to do the behind the scenes program where you pick from a list of animals 3 you would like to meet up close and personal! I did it with 3 of my friends it may seem expensive at first but TOTALLY worth it! I fell in love with the lemurs and recommend them to anyone who plans in doing it every animal is worth seeing and to make the decision was so hard but we also saw the hyenas and a serval named Murphy who was so beautiful an cuddly. I highly highly recomend going here !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cartoas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Cat World Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Cat World Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing