We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Zubieta, Lekeitio, N Spain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zubieta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zubieta to your Saves list
Hotel Zubieta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Atea s/n, 48280 Lekeitio, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lekeitio
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Zubieta, Lekeitio, N Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I'm not sure which was the greater gem, the Zubieta or Lekeitio: probably the hotel because we found several really interesting ports/harbours from Ondarroa to Getaria to Hondarribia in our travels along the N Spain coast, but the Zubieta was most unusual in having 'class without flash' We stay in a lot of hotels around the world but the Zubieta has a quiet charm, class, design sense, and lack of pretentiousness that many more expensive/higher-rated hotels could learn from, both in its staffing and interior style and its garden setting. The Zubieta was an absolute oasis which we'll revist.

Room Tip: The hotel didn't have a pool or fitness centre, otherwise they like everything else would have b...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jake m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I really liked the Hotel Zubieta - the people were very nice, the breakfast and bar tapas were good, the hotel is comfortable and charming.
Listen carefully - the town is a waste of time. We thought a nice seaside town in Northern Spain would be fun(thinking Barcelona) - but this place is a dump - don't expect to have any fun in the town. The beach is nice, the harbor is nice, but don't imagine going out for a fun dinner - the town is practically dead.
If you want fun, go to San Sebastien - full of people and restaurants, check out the "old town".
There's a great restaurant Aiten Etxe in a town Zarautz up the coast - it has great shellfish, and a fantastic steak covered in Foie Gras.
The Guggebheim in Bilbao is well worth a visit.
The local countryside is very pretty and unspoiled.
DO NOT repeat do not expect to have fun in Lekeitio.
The architecture and people are as fun/romantic as Sarajevo, Bosnia - during the war.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickHayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
201 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Really enjoyed our 4 nights stay in this lovely hotel. Beautiful building, rooms, great terrace/bar and the most wonderful staff you could wish to meet. I will add no further comments about the hotel to all the 5 star reviews which are all spot on.
Without exception, however, ALL staff here are helpful and friendly and only too pleased to help you enjoy your stay.
I must give particular praise to the 2 lady receptionists who were particularly so helpful when we found that Brittany Ferries had cancelled our boat from Santander. With no French map one was good enough to print us the Googlemap route through France and discuss the way.
Will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Hotel a bit tricky to find because of the one way system. If travelling from Gurnika when you reach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GasheadBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a glorious hotel, pretty, small and personal. The bar is friendly and serves lovely tapas twice a day and coffee and drinks throughout the day. The sitting room and terrace were very pretty and we spent alot of the day sitting out in the sun, or enjoying drinks at night. The staff are the best thing about the hotel as they were unfailingly friendly and helpful. The hotel and its lovely gardens is small and quiet and feels like an oasis as it is just off a town square and the walk down into the harbour, bars and restaurants is easy. We were a mixed family party with less abled parents and the hotel suited them very well too. I highly recommend it to you.

Room Tip: some rooms are over the terrace which have a lovely view over the gardens and valley but might be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here 3rd & 4th Sep 2012. Lovely setting and fantastic service from all staff including calling us to say we had left passports, money etc in safe beffore we had driven too far. Town, beach & harbour (with great local bars especially the organic one just as you enter harbour area) just 5 mins walk. Also a superb restaurant 200yds the other way from hotel out of town. Breakfast was excellent and there is a very well appointed bar.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper would recommend you ask for a room away from the small lift and stairwell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorcasII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey,England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a lovely peaceful hotel, on the edge of the town of Lekeitio, yet just a ten minute stroll to the harbourside. The staff are friendly and the setting is beautiful. The rooms are a little 'old style' and because of this, it feels a bit over-priced. We stayed one night and it was a brilliant place for a stop-over.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genista082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
198 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there only one night, but wish we could more. We were in room 203, such a cute one with a different style. There was no A/C, and it was not necessary but we had a fan we used whole night. The bathroom was well lighted and airy, but the windows of the room were a bit small. The bed was comfortable, and we had a good sleep that night. The personnel were very friendly and helpful. The only thing I did not like was the breakfast, because it was not included in the price. I would like to have my breakfast in that lovely café in the morning. I did not want to pay extra for the breakfast, because I am vegan and I hardly find something to eat in the hotels.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lekeitio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio Oxangoiti
Hotel Palacio Oxangoiti
#3 of 5 in Lekeitio
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Itsaso
Hotel Villa Itsaso
#2 of 5 in Lekeitio
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aisia Zita Hotel Emperatriz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hotel Gametxo
Hotel Gametxo
#1 of 2 in Ibarrangelu
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Etxegana
Hotel & Spa Etxegana
#2 of 2 in Zeanuri
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
10.1 mi away
Apartamentos Mundaka
Apartamentos Mundaka
#1 of 3 in Mundaka
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zubieta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zubieta

Address: Atea s/n, 48280 Lekeitio, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Lekeitio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lekeitio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zubieta 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel con encanto en Lekeitio, Pais Vasco ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Zubieta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing