We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aisia Zita Hotel Emperatriz
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lekeitio
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The setting was lovely with a great lobby and decor. The rooms are very classy with wood furniture, hardwood floors and nice curtains, bedspreads and decoration (looked like a more expensive hotel than it was). The beds were not as comfortable as they looked, and for a couple we had two smallish double beds pushed together (with one bedhead) but they slid apart - not very romantic! Nice location close to the port and lots of bars/restuarants - except if you are trying to get sleep on Sunday morning when the church bells are alarming, loud and frequent! Service was mediocre at the reception with a distracted hostess who was efficient, but not particularly helpful or friendly. Breakfast delivered to the bedroom was excellent, great coffee.

Room Tip: We had a balcony, but ugly view over a street - go for the beach side if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenneme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 177 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

I really liked this hotel, especially as I was given a nice room with a little balcony overlooking the park, despite being on my own. Very large room, too. It's quite hard to spot if you're driving. Nice terrace overlooking the beach and harbour. It gets stars knocked off for advertising a free car park which only has room for about a dozen cars and in some of the spaces you could easily get blocked in. If the car park is full, the next nearest is a long walk away. Also, the breakfast was not replenished, as others have said, even though I was there before 9am.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnyinhiscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Nothing of the old world of Empress Zita is still there. Well perhaps the beach!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ennuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

I stayed at Aisia Hotel in Lekeitio for a weekend with my boyfriend, we booked extremely last minute and were lucky to get a room. I was a little nervous after reading the last review on Tripadvisor, however I think perhaps either the last reviewer was extremely unlucky or else extremely fussy! We were extremely happy with our stay, the first night we were in a first floor room which unfortunately had a view of the carpark, and two single beds. Apart from this, it was very clean and modern yet elegantly historical (the hotel used to be a palace of an emperess). The second night we requested to be moved to another room, the staff were happy to oblige and moved us to a sea view room on the second floor. It was amazing! It was perhaps the largest hotel room I have ever stayed in, the king size bed was extremely comfortable and the balcony and large windows that face directly onto the main beach is more than we could have asked for! The ensuite was equally large and had it's own jucuzzi. We also took advantage of the hotel's private Thalasoo Spa that has salt water pools with theraputic jets, jucuzzi, sauna and haman. There is the option of massages and treatments if you want extras.
The breakfast included was also fantastic, buffet with plenty of cheeses, meats, eggs, bacon, cereals, fruit, breads, juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, yoghurt - enough to keep us full for the whole day!

Positives:
- Free wifi
- About 25 digital satellite channels on the lcd tv in room
- Really clean
- Great breakfast
- Sleep quality great from the sea view rooms as you can hear the waves crashing on the beach
- Spa
- Jucuzzi in rooms
- Perfect location right in the centre of town close to shops and restaurants and bars
- Reasonably priced
- Friendly staff

Negatives:
- Spa does need a little updating
- From our first room (first floor car park view) the sound insulation was pretty bad, you could hear people walking on the floorboards above, and noises from the restaurant below

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lillian-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

While travelling in northern Spain on holiday,we happened upon this hotel, from the outside and its position it looked really inviting. It was the dearest of ten hotels we stayed at so were expecting something a little special. WRONG
Our room was on the third floor, I was a little apprehensive as I have bad arthritis, but there was a lift.
This gave the impression it would not make it to the third floor and made such terrible clanking noises I was too nervous to use it,
The stair carpet was worn out and shabby, as was the general apperance of the whole hotel.
As the hotel prices itself on the sea view, it was a shame that you had to open the window to see it, The room had not been cleaned properly, the bathroom was a disgrace. I wrote to the head office to give them chance to address the problem, but so far no reply. I enclose some photos to show the condition.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eurofighter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

My girlfriend and I just stayed for 2 nights at the Zita hotel in Lekeitio. We read every review possible on the place, and we had our apprehensions because of words like 'faded' and 'aged'. While these are slightly true (it's no Holiday Inn Express, people), it only adds to the allure of the place. You could say the hallway carpets could use a good shampooing, but otherwise the guest rooms were simple but stately. Fine local furniture, hardwood floors, gorgeous marble baths -- the essense of Basque charm. Besides Zita, there is no other noteworthy beachside hotel in town.

We were treated very graciously, upgraded to a junior suite, and situated with a balcony overlooking the incredible bay (we had only asked for a seaview room until check-in). The rates were competitive for this time of year, and worth every cent. We went on to stay a couple nights in San Sebastian, but wish we could have stayed longer at the Zita.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank konkoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

The Emperatriz Zita is a grand hotel in the old style that would appeal to persons middle aged and above. We are early sixties and were there for four nights and it was just about right, some older clientele were there for many weeks at a time. The hotel is slightly faded in its glamour but is spotlessly clean, the staff friendly and the meals seriously good. (And seriously good value too). The breakfast buffet was well presented and well stocked.

Our room, which was a mini suite with balcony and sea view, was spacious with a large bathroom containing jacuzzi bath/shower. The tiny harbour is alongside and the hotel sits on a sandy beach, which connects to the slightly larger beach by walking along the sand at low tide. Surrounding the harbour there are tapas bars and the odd restaurant. The hotel has a spa associated but was down in the basement - we were not tempted to try it, possibly as the weather was too fine while we were there.

Lekeitio has little to speak of in terms of other things to do. Gernika is worth a visit. A note to the wise for travellers by car from either San Sebastian or Bilbao, there is a route from Durango to Markina, after which look for the left turn through Mereludi to Lekeitio which is by far the fastest route to the town. Intuitively road maps do not suggest this route

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lekeitio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zubieta
Hotel Zubieta
#1 of 5 in Lekeitio
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Itsaso
Hotel Villa Itsaso
#2 of 5 in Lekeitio
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio Oxangoiti
Hotel Palacio Oxangoiti
#3 of 5 in Lekeitio
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hotel Gametxo
Hotel Gametxo
#1 of 2 in Ibarrangelu
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pinupe
Pinupe
#4 of 5 in Lekeitio
20 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Etxegana
Hotel & Spa Etxegana
#1 of 2 in Zeanuri
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aisia Zita Hotel Emperatriz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aisia Zita Hotel Emperatriz

Address: Santa Elena s/n, 48280 Lekeitio, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Lekeitio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lekeitio
Price Range: $71 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aisia Zita Hotel Emperatriz 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aisia Zita Hotel Emperatriz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aisia Zita Lekeitio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing