We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take the tasting menu!”

Restaurante Castillo El Collado
Ranked #9 of 31 Restaurants in Laguardia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Take the tasting menu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Food is very good, the tasting menu offers good value for money and allows you to try several dishes. If you take a single dishes you may end up paying much more.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ilaria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    31
    6
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
257 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Really? Horrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Yes, Javier is unctuously welcoming and service is good. But, food was mediocre at best, with some courses tasting as if they had sat a long while and then microwaved. We ordered simply - asparagus starter, crepe starter and then shared the 'riojan' chorizo and potato stew. We got 2 spears each, one small crepe each about an inch in diameter, and then a large bowl of watery, flavorless (yes@!), broth with chunks of potato and chorizo floating in it. Our raspberry dessert inedible. All this for $140. We felt he charged us for 2 starters each instead of letting us share them - but with the size of each, it was inconceivable! This was more than an amazing lunch at Hector Oribe the next day with michelin quality food. Yes, the dining room is nice in an old fashioned brocade kind of way and Javier provides good service but truthfully, we felt ripped off.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Oaklandish3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualicum beach
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Impeccable Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a true gem within the Laguardia walls. We had amazing service by both of the waiters. The day was pleasantly warm so we decided to dine al fresco...after a bottle of cava then a bottle of red we dined on lamb. YUMMO. Ask to walk up to the tower once you are finished your meal, the view is stunning

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hemlockcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Convivial service and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in the Castle, which was perfectly located. The meals were delightful--from lamb to fish and the wine list was great. Our host, javier, gave us personal attention and was quite attentive to our needs. We had many of the local dishes and on other nights visited restaurants recommended by Javier. His breakfast was more than adequate--quite tasty and abundant--and he is quite skilled at cafe con leche.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JerseyBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Amazing attention to service from owner Javier, and excellent food. Not often you get real "silver service" these days!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Avalon-Wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Castillo El Collado also viewed

Laguardia, Province of Alava
Laguardia, Province of Alava
 
Laguardia, Province of Alava
Laguardia, Province of Alava
 
Laguardia, Province of Alava
 

Been to Restaurante Castillo El Collado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing