We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and can't believe it doesn't cost 4x more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Castillo El Collado
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Laguardia
Certificate of Excellence
Tequesta, Florida
Level Contributor
250 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Wonderful and can't believe it doesn't cost 4x more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a wonderful, special property in a beautiful town in the Rioja region. We were able to stroll to wineries and restaurants. We were tempted to have dinner at the castle but there were so many outstanding options in the town, we didn't eat dinner there, only breakfast, which was excellent.

This was by far our favorite lodging in Spain and we stayed in 6 different hotels, some five star. I have paid several hundred dollars to stay at a similar castle in Italy. Javier was wonderful attending to our needs and running our luggage up and down the stairs for us! He struggled a bit with his English and our Spanish was much worse, but somehow we figured things out and his hospitality came through. He set us up with a wonderful winery tour on the evening of our arrival after most tours had ended.

Loved the huge tile bathroom and the decor of the room. Views from room and bath were lovely.

My one complaint.....I found the bed extremely uncomfortable and I am not one to complain about beds.....the mattress was really soft and I woke in the middle of the night with a back ache..,.so much so,I had to move to the sofa in the room.

Room Tip: We booked least expensive available and had a huge lovely room and a huge bathroom, both with great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    46
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
168
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed two nights as part of a trip through the Basque country. Thigns started looking a little eccentric when we were greeted at the top of the steps by a young man dressed in a shabby oversized black suit... but our welcome was warm and included glasses of wine brought to our room, a lovely touch.

The hotel is very comfortable and has great views from the upstairs rooms, but it is a little shabby, as if caught in the 1970's. Our room was fine but our grown-up children shared a room which was effectively in the basement and had no windows - the upside of that was that they slept well in complete darkness! The bathrooms are huge, which is nice.

Our evening meal was quite surreal - the food was okay but I'm fairly sure that a lot of it came out of jars or tins - the 'roast peppers' for example. Indeed, the vast number of dishes on the menu is a clear indication that not everything can be freshly prepared. Muzak was playing - including Leonard Cohen, an interesting choice. We were the only people in the restaurant and Javier was rather too attentive - he would walk back and forth in the hall trying to see if we had finished each course, and having come in would then retreat backwards out of the door. He also persuaded us to 'taste' several more starters than we wanted - we had six between the four of us despite having told him we'd like to share just one. There was no set menu and the prices are steep, considering the quality of the food. Tis is where you need to be cautious!

While the hotel is very individual and exotic it would have been good to have some more normal hotel facilities, e.g. a kettle etc and fridge in the room and leaflets about local things in the foyer.

It was a memorable stay but I don't think we'll be going back.

Room Tip: Avoid the one called 'Cigarra' - that's the one with no natural light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoriablessing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Laguardia is a fantastic charming little town in Rioja, and is well worth a stop or a trip on its own. We used it as a base to explore the Rioja region, which can be highly recommended. We didn't book ahead, but had a look around and inside several of the hotels and B&Bs - but instantly fell in love with Castillo El Collado and its owner, Javier. The small castle is charming and beautiful, and the view from its tower is one of the nicest you'll find in Rioja. The rooms are original, luxurious, big and comfortable - and they are all different, so have a look before you decide on which one you prefer. Javier is very friendly and helped us with everything we needed, including recommending and booking excellent wine tours. He also makes an excellent breakfast, which you can enjoy in the dining room. We did not have dinner there, but it is supposedly very good. All in all a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and have their own design, charm and feel. Ask to have a look at a few o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sol148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Xavier, the owner and host of this medieval B&B/hotel exudes Old World charm and civility. He took care of our every need and we enjoyed our stay in Laguardia immensely with his help. The rooms are large, well-appointed, quiet and comfortable. And the breakfast offerings were huge and diverse. This is the ideal place to stay for discovering the Rioja region of Spain. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: As we arrived mid-day, we were offerred a choice of rooms by Xavier. I don't know if this is a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsklama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The castle is beautiful, it offers spectacular views across the valley and into the mountains. It is located just few steps away from the old town. We were welcome by two glasses of wine and it's very easy to go visit the several bodegas of the region (there is a list of the major ones waiting for you in the room - but note that most of them close early).
During our stay in Laguardia at Castillo El Collado, we were treated like royalty. Javier, the owner/manager/chef's, provided us with everything we could possibly want in a very relaxed atmosphere. We had dinner there, and food was great, the tasting menu is better value for money. Overall great experience, on the expensive side compared to other places in the region but a unique opportunity to stay in a castle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilaria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL 60563
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Javier and staff made us feel so comfortable. I agree with Jamie that we were treated like royalty. We arrived late and stayed in the suite our first night. We were greeted with two glasses of wine and snacks. Very accommodating and nothing but the best. We then moved into another standard room our other two nights. It was fun to see two rooms in this beautiful place. We climbed up the tower and saw amazing views. Breakfast was also a delight! I highly recommend for a stay in Spain. Quiet and a wonderful location in the Rioja region. Laguardia is a medieval town that is a must and a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHughes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Advised by a guidebook, we looked in here for a late lunch (2.45). There seemed to be nobody about but luckily a waiter appeared and we were ushered to a table in one of the dining rooms. The owner then appeared with menus and suggestions and we subsequently ate a delightful meal.
The food was very tasty, if a little salty for modern tastes. The decor reminded me of Spanish hotel restaurants of years gone by with dark furniture and coloured glass panels in the doors.
It certainly wasn't cheap but made a lovely relaxed stop on a hot day. The obligatory visit to the tower is well worth it. Owner and his assistant were very attentive, verging on too much, and it would be a hard hearted soul that complained, so keen to serve did they seem.
We will probably return for a night's stay at some point as it is a very characterful place in a charming town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rydeb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguardia
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes
0.6 mi away
Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel
0.1 mi away
Posada Mayor de Migueloa
Posada Mayor de Migueloa
#4 of 6 in Laguardia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Viura
Hotel Viura
#1 of 1 in Villabuena de Alava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
6.5 mi away
Hotel Villa de Abalos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castillo El Collado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castillo El Collado

Property: Hotel Castillo El Collado
Address: Paseo el Collado, 1, 01300 Laguardia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Alava > Laguardia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Laguardia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Castillo El Collado 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A castle from the begining of the 19th century and restored in 1996. It has ten rooms and each one is named after an influential person of Laguardia and the Kingdom of Navarra. The decoration of the castle is an example of good taste and sobriety, not missing the fine elegance that enraptures visitors, who come here to spend their time in this idyllic and harmounious paradise with beautiful views full of the local colour. There are three very old function rooms decorated with Arabian ceramics and handcrafted coffered ceiling from the beginning of the 19th century worthy of note. Your expectations to enjoy the extensive menu of traditional dishes from the Basque and La Rioja cuisine will come true. The symphony of light from these handcrafted rooms will leave you with a feeling of tranquility and appreciation of art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Castillo El Collado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo El Collado Laguardia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing