We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal and service we had in Spain!”

Posada mayor de Migueloa
Ranked #9 of 36 Restaurants in Laguardia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $145
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Antiguo Casa Palacio de Viana de 1619, actualmente Bodega Restaurante y Hotel con encanto. Cocina vasco riojana de basada en la calidad del producto
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend and I travelled for 3weeks in Spain, finishing with a gastronomic tour in the basque Pyrenees (which was brilliant). But I have to say, the high standards of food and service in this restaurant are hard to fault. We had several dishes and they were all outstanding. They were also reasonably priced.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank SpontaneousTravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 374 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2017

We had the prix fixe lunch and it was excellent, start to finish, for all of us! Actually, it was the best meal we had in the Rioja region. We usually fully research our restaurant choices but on this one we wandered in to the Antiguo El Trujal 1619 and were surprised to have such a delightful and delicious lunch in their back patio (with retractable cover to shield us from the hot sun). Some sort of corporate group was having an event in their other, more formal, restaurant but we were the only ones at El Trujal. The food was beautifully presented and full of great flavor. The fish was cooked perfectly and was some of the best I've had in Spain (I live in Spain most of the year).

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ES442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017

We enjoyed the food here, good experience, with only two manageable drawbacks.

We shared the asparagus (very good), the chard "stuffed" with ham (soggy, bland, smothered in too much cream sauce), the lamb chops (simple but excellent) and the steak with cabrales bleu cheese sauce (very good- it was basically a NY strip cut, very tender).

We were seated upstairs, which was a bit hot in late August, exacerbated by another table who were brought a heated cast iron plate to finish cooking their steak (can only guess that the couple had different preferences on how well done they wanted the enormous steak they shared, so a little extra tabletop cooking of it for one?). That and the stuffed chard were the drawbacks, but we'd go again.

Service was attentive (by the standards we've seen across Spain, anyway) and spoke enough English to get us through without a problem. The whole meal plus a bottle of wine from up the road was around €100.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank codependent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile

Very good location, nice interior and warm welcome. Friendly service (in English) and helpful in the selection of the food. A menu built up with local and teaditional dishes. Very interesting to learn and taste even more! Good quality.
Attractive wine list as well...
Address to go back, sure!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank 568wimg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017

What a beautiful and historic place to stay....the cellar is a must visit...the restaurant cuisine great and wine list spectacular.....bodega bar friendly with lots of tapas and fantastic wines...the rooms comfy and nostalgic...staff friendly and happy....loved every minute

Date of visit: June 2017
2  Thank Janice242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayordeMigueloa, Propietario at Posada mayor de Migueloa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

Thank you very much for your visit, we are glad to read your review, wework for the happiness of our clients.
Once again
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posada mayor de Migueloa also viewed

Laguardia, Province of Alava
Laguardia, Province of Alava
 
Laguardia, Province of Alava
Laguardia, Province of Alava
 
Laguardia, Province of Alava
Laguardia, Province of Alava
 

Been to Posada mayor de Migueloa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing