We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Eguren Ugarte
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We went in november 2013. A fantastic experience.

Lovely food, lovely wine, staff is very nice. Close to medieval town Laguardia.

Situated between mountains and wine fields as long as you can see. Fantastic room (what a view), free mini bar and helpfull staff. Cheap restaurant diner (5 dishes for 37 with a nice bottle of wine).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianSlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    111
    17
    9
    16
See reviews for
52
260
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We visited this vineyard for a wine tour so were not staying in the hotel.
We initially had lunch here. A very traditional meal which was prepared fresh. The lamp chops were cooked in large open ovens over burning vine branches.
Whilst in the middle of our food and old Spanish guy came over and started singing in Spanish. Turns out he was the 80 year old owner! What a character. He didn't speak any English but one of his assistants did. Really nice guy who was more than happy to help himself to our wine (or his wine I guess!).
We then went on the tour of his establishment.
WOW!
This guy had carved out over 2km of tunnels to store his and other peoples wine.
The additional of a hotel and marriage area were a great idea and nice touch.
This old guy obviously had a real business head on him as he has opened up his vineyard to so many more people that wouldn't have ordinarily visited that type of attraction.
If we went back I would be very interested to see what his onsite hotel was like.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPML1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I think this hotel is a secret that will soon get out and the prices are going to go waaay up. It was a beautiful easy location to get to, the rooms have a fantastic view (the lobby is on the top floor and the rooms are built into the side of hill, each with a good view. You go down to you room in a glass elevator with view of winery cellar in the back, just amazing. We actually had an excellent dinner there the second night, not too many people and our chef came out to meet us, (excellent Italian chef). Also our Portuguese waiter was excellent.

Future plans are to put a full spa in so I anticipate the market for this hotel will be gravitating towards the "upper end".

Only downside was the bathroom walls and door in the rooms was pure glass so you can see pretty much all the morning "ablutions".

This was one of the nicest hotels weI have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaiz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
643 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

So we stayed at three very different hotels during our trip through the La Rioja (Haro=Hotel Arrope, Laguardia=Hotel Eguren Ugarte and Laguardia=Hospederia de los parajes) and they all offer different things for diff people (Laguardia and Hospederia is truly amazing however!)
This hotel is on outskirts of Laguardia and is attached to the Eguren Ugarte winery.

A wine vacation if you will. . . .the hotel is a one star on many hotel websites but this is so far from the truth.. . the hotel may be one star due to lack of amenities however it is a wonderful modern hotel!

When you take the elevator to your room you get a view of the winery!

Pros: modern hotel with large modern chic bathroom, attached to winery
winery tour included and very inexpensive for what you get this is wonderful value!
Cons: not in laguardia itself but close enough

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RonanJordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is an easy 3 hr drive from Santander (Bilbao 1.5hrs) and is situated near La Guardia in the Rioja Region and has a very distinctive tower above the hotel. Arrived at this hotel on a very sunny evening and the views from the hotel were stunning. We had a corner room (306) which allows a view over the hotel gardens, grape vines and the plains below and to La Guardia perched on a hill just two Km away. The hotel is fairly new and is built on a hillside that contains caves full of wine bottles and is also a full-blown modern bodega. A tour of the caves and bodega with a full wine tasting session are included in the room price. Balcony rooms are available for an extra 20 euros per night and well worth it (if you like the sun) as the hotel faces south. A walk around the grounds to take in the gardens, the lake and the chapel are a must.

We were advised to use the rear lift to go to our room and spent the next 10 minutes travelling up and down in the lift. I cannot tell you why because that would spoil the surprise.

Bedrooms are modern with plenty of space, comfy beds and adequate storage. The bathroom was different than the norm. It had twin washbasins, a clear glass walk in shower enclosure with an excellent power shower and high-pressure jets. The bathroom door is also clear glass and everything you do in the bathroom can be seen by whomever you are with!

Beware that dinner is a fixed menu of five courses. No al-a-Carte menu is available! If there are items that you don’t like, tough! The evening menu should be displayed for guests to read before opting for dinner (which is a very reasonable price and includes a bottle of wine!) If you are offered a bottle of water in a blue glass bottle don’t take it! Ask for tap water or some other water otherwise you will be charged six euros for a litre of still water, a real rip off!

The breakfast buffet is very good and also available was a selection of eggs (fried, scrambled etc). The restaurant staff for both dinner and breakfast work well together and are a very good team.

WIFI was offered but not working at all in the four nights we were there. Not really important unless you were banking on it being available.

Only 20 rooms so book early!

Room Tip: Corner room (306) for views south and east or balcony rooms for afternoon sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It doesn't look that nice from the road when you drive by, but once you stop and had the chance to talk with the people in the hotel checking in as well as in the shop and the winery tour, you realize you had found a special place you will return.

A special mention to Don Victorino Eguren Ugarte, who at his 82 years old still is the heart and soul of the winery and hotel. We had the opportunity to meet him and his wife Mercedes, they both hosted us for wine and tapas at their own "cave" within the winery.

If you speak (or read) some spanish, I highly recommend the book Victorino wrote "Lo bueno que me ha he ho el vino tinto" that spans across his life and experiences.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balcony looking to the vineyards, amazing and relaxing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Augusto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We did not stay at Eguren Ugarte, but we sure want to! We came here as part of a cruise shore excursion, touring the winery, including the extraordinary view from the back of the building, just as each of the hotel rooms would have. Then we had wine tasting and lunch. I have had lunch and wine tasting with a big tour group before, but never like this. First we were to have 3 wines for tasting. They decided to bring a little Pinxo out, a small appetizer common to the Basque region, to go along with the tasting. We had three wines, I think it was two white and a red, all different but good. Then lunch started. It seemed like it would never end, the food just kept coming, all typical Basque cuisine. I’ll try to remember it all, but I may forget something! There was another appetizer, then a soup like dish where 2 pots came out, one beans and chorizo, the other potatoes and chorizo and you could mix them, so good. I know there was something else in here, but burned in my memory - literally - was the final course, they lit a bush in the stone oven, then grilled thinly sliced lamb chops just simply seasoned, oh my it was delicious. With lunch there were three more wines served, at least two were red. And the food and wine both kept coming, they were all so good, we didn’t want them to stop! On the ride back to the ship, half of us slept and half were up and roudy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wine-travl-luvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguardia
2.2 mi away
Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes
1.7 mi away
Hotel Castillo El Collado
Hotel Castillo El Collado
#2 of 6 in Laguardia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.8 mi away
Posada Mayor de Migueloa
Posada Mayor de Migueloa
#4 of 6 in Laguardia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Viura
Hotel Viura
#1 of 1 in Villabuena de Alava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eguren Ugarte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eguren Ugarte

Property: Hotel Eguren Ugarte
Address: Carretera A-124, Km 61 | Paganos, 01309 Laguardia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Alava > Laguardia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Laguardia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Eguren Ugarte 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Eguren Ugarte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing