We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Fiesta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Laguardia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have just spent a wonderful 5 days in Laguardia during the annual fiesta. This hotel was superb, the bedrooms are beautiful and very well equipped, and very quiet due to the thickness of the walls. The location is right in the centre at the heart of everything, the bar is a great place for relaxing, but the underground cave wine cellar is something really special. All of the staff made us feel very welcome, and they went out of their way to accommodate us one morning when we wanted an early breakfast. I would totally recommend this hotel and this lovely little town as a must see when visiting Rioja. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: If going at festival time ask for a room at the back, otherwise choose a room with a view do the squ...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 584 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

Laguardia is a lovely old, medieval walled town. It is relatively small but should be on a everyone’s “to do” list - at least for a couple of days. As you walk through the main gate you come into the small town square which is where the Hospederia is located – the rooms at the front overlook the square and the town clock.

From the moment we arrived, the service and the welcome were excellent. Reception was friendly and happy to help with any questions or travel suggestions. The building has been converted to a hotel relatively recently and they have done an amazing job. The rooms are wonderful. We had a Jacuzzi room and the bedroom was huge with a massive, very comfortable bed. Everywhere was spotless and some lovely wine based bath/shower products were supplied. Great Jacuzzi.

The breakfast is good (try the eggs) and the hotel restaurant is excellent (quite frankly try anything!). Earlier in the week there are limited places to eat in Laguardia in the evenings – everywhere is open for lunch but many only open for the evening from Thursday onward. The hotel restaurant is open all week,

In addition to the main restaurant the hotel also has its own wine cave underground which also serves good food. Whether you eat there or not, it is certainly worth going to for a drink – great experience and good wine. There is a spa on site which offers a lot of wine based treatments at very reasonable prices – we didn’t use it this visit but certainly will next time. There is good (and free) Wi-fi throughout.

The staff and owner cannot do enough for you and genuinely want you to enjoy your stay – they clearly love this place and it showed.

If you want a slightly out of the way luxury stay, this is the place for you. I am already planning a return visit.

Room Tip: Room 101 was fantastic - overlooked main square
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Hospederia overlooks the square of the old town. Once they had helped us find parking close to the hotel, which is in a pedestrian only zone, we relaxed and enjoyed our 2 night stay while we tasted and bought Rioja wines in the area. Breakfast and dinner were excellent and a good choice of wines on offer. The first floor Atrium lounge was comfortable with good light and WiFi. Staff were pleasant, friendly and obliging. We would recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed in this hotel as a birthday treat on trip around Rioja.LaGuardia is a wonderful , beautiful medieval town. Hotel right in the centre. Parking available helped by very nice staff. Impossible to find parking on the outskirts. Hotel is imaginatively decorated with wonderful bedrooms. Very good dinner and of course - amazing wine!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank SarahSP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed in room 401 which is fantastic. It has a sitting room loft, a separate room with a jacuzzi tub and a private balcony. The room was immaculate. They were eager to please and we felt pampered. Although we did not have time to use the service, they had spa services available.
We arrived late May which is apparently shoulder season. The good part is that there were no crowds. The bad part is that some shops etc were not open. Robert speaks English, and even better tolerated my bad Spanish. My only complaint, if it really is one is that we mentioned we would like to do some tastings, had been assured before we arrived the hotel would arrange it but then it never happened. We did not insist and quite frankly were just as happy it did not come off as we enjoyed wine which is readily available probably drinking it with meals than we would have tasting eight wines per day.

The hotel gives a ticket for a taste of wine and a pinto inthe IR amazing 16th century wine cellar. That was a delight. The wine was ok, but the experience was a lot of fun. We sat at the ancient wine press.

We have been trying to figure out how to get back in the next year or two.

A couple of hints: we were able to find parking inside the walls of the city in the evening in late May. I believe they have private parking for pay, but we have no idea where. If you want to see the clock do its performance, get a front window on the 2d and 3d floor. Suite 401 has no shower, if that is important.

Room Tip: To get a view of the performing clock a front room on the second or third floor will probably be bes...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have stayed in Laguardia many times but this is the first time we have stayed in Los Parajes.It certainly won't be the last.We thoroughly recommend it.From the time we first arrived and throughout our stay we were made to feel at home and there was a genuine warmth from the staff and especially our hostess. Our room was to the rear of the hotel and was very quiet.It was luxuriously decorated .The rooms to the front of the hotels included a spa bath.The meals in the restaurant were excellent ,the style was Spanish/European. We are regular visitors to Northern Spain and always stay in 'good' hotels and this is definately our favourite.We look forward to returning later this year.

Room Tip: We asked to look at other rooms.They were all luxurious.Some had Spa bath's but we were happy wi...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob_tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We spent 3 nights at this charming hotel. The ambiance, service, and level of comfort were all first-rate. But it's the unique aspects of the place...like the tapas bar in the cellar (have the patatas bravas!) and the perfect location on the main square, steps from one of the gates into the town ... that are the icing on the cake.

If we're ever back in the Rioja, we'll definitely stay in Laguardia and we'll definitely stay at Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the square. You may be wakened at about 7:30 by street noise, but the view is...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fan-of-foreign-films
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguardia
0.4 mi away
Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castillo El Collado
Hotel Castillo El Collado
#3 of 6 in Laguardia
263 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Viura
Hotel Viura
#1 of 1 in Villabuena de Alava
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.1 mi away
Posada Mayor de Migueloa
Posada Mayor de Migueloa
#4 of 6 in Laguardia
224 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Calle Mayor
Hotel Calle Mayor
#1 of 16 in Logrono
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes

Address: Mayor 46, 48, 01300 Laguardia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Alava > Laguardia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Laguardia
Price Range: $175 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing