We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, though not overly cheap hotel (even for a hotel on an industrial estate in Switzerland)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis budget Basel Pratteln
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pratteln
GreenLeadersBronze level
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Basic, though not overly cheap hotel (even for a hotel on an industrial estate in Switzerland)”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

It's an ETAP hotel. Just somewhere you book when you're on your way somewhere else. It was annoying that the plugs didn't fit, but I assume the standard European plug doesn't work in Switzerland. I find it odd that some hotels in 2011 still charge for WIFI. It's not some futuristic service, but as basic a commodity as having a television in the room. Even McDonalds has free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitby1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brankovic, Manager at Ibis budget Basel Pratteln, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank You very much for your comment.
Yes, in Switzerland all plugs are different to the rest of europe.
We are sorry for the inconviniences you had, at the reception, we sell adapters.


Yours Sincerly,

The Etap Hotel Basel Pratteln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    134
    102
    34
    21
See reviews for
84
92
47
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 15, 2011

roomprice to expensive for an etap hotel in a industry location. Fee for a dog of 20CHF to expensive (in France usually 4 EUR).
The roomsa are OK concerning equipment and cleanliness, as usually in etap hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brankovic, Manager at Ibis budget Basel Pratteln, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank You for your comment, it will help us to improve our service.
We are very sorry that you are unhappy about the price. The price is normal for Switzerland, even for an Hotel in industry zone. We hope to have you back as guest anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pratteln hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
london
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Hi

i stayed with my wife and daughter en route to the alps. I'd booked two rooms so that we were comfortable. When we arrived we were told that there were only smoking rooms available, something that was not an option to check/uncheck on the booking form. The lady on reception was very understanding but her hands were tied. So i had the most disgusting night's sleep for a long time in a stinking room. What made matters worse was the fact that the outdoor smoking table was situated under our windows, and here people would sit an talk whilst smoking, before retiring to their non-smoking rooms. All i was offered was a breakfast in recompense, we did not take it. We went on our way, but had the smell of cigarettes on our clothes for days...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brankovic, Manager at Ibis budget Basel Pratteln, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
We are verry sorry for this inconvienienc, there is a possibility to say if you want to have a non smoking room. We are happy to tell you that we are renovating and that after this we will have no smoking rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 24, 2010

Hotel all clean and tidy which is my main requirement but some of the staff were not that helpful and the breakfast was a complete waste of money. The hot water for the tea was really cold - not what you need in winter. I wanted to borrow an adapter for my computer as the French one I had didn't fir the Swiss socket. My only option was to buy a set of adapters for CHF 10 - it seemed a little money-grabbing to me.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brankovic, Gérant at Ibis budget Basel Pratteln, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
thank you for your comment. it is not a problem to make some hot water for you. We have to sell the adaptor because with only a deposit the most of the poeple keep this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davos, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Clean, classic and standard. 20 minutes away from the Basel SBB. It's a bit peripheral and away from the centre of Basel but that wasn't so bad. The hotel is 10 minutes walking distance from the Pretllen Train station and about 15 min walking from the Pratelln tram station. Good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brankovic, Gérant at Ibis budget Basel Pratteln, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Thank you very much for your nice comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pratteln
Courtyard Basel
#1 of 2 in Pratteln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#31 of 51 in Basel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Hotel Eckert
#1 of 3 in Grenzach-Wyhlen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel zum Ziel
#2 of 3 in Grenzach-Wyhlen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Hotel Baslertor
#2 of 3 in Muttenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
ibis Basel Bahnhof
#18 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis budget Basel Pratteln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis budget Basel Pratteln

Property: Ibis budget Basel Pratteln
Address: Gruessenhoelzliweg 11, Pratteln 4133, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Pratteln
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pratteln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis budget Basel Pratteln 1*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis budget Basel Pratteln (ex Etap Hotel) is an economy hotel located near the A3 motorway, a 10 min. walk from Pratteln's train station and just 15 min. by car to downtown and the exhibition center of Basel. The Basel Muhlhouse International Airport is 10.6 mi. away. The hotel has 94 comfortable rooms with air-cooling system, free WiFi, pay parking and a restaurant nearby. Enjoy an economical stay on a weekend or during the week in Basel for two, with the family or in a group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Ibis budget Basel Pratteln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budget Basel Pratteln Canton Of Basel, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing