We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel !”
Review of Parkhotel Schwert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parkhotel Schwert
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Weesen
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here last week, the place is going down... specially the restaurant which was top years ago, was closed upto Feb'14. The lake view room we had was very good, large, nice bed / with antique furniture, huge flat TV. The bathroom average The reception is a small place and the wifi does'nt work in rooms, no iron available....very less staff rather only 1 person managing everything.You can feel that the place is not run with soul. The staff tried to be nice but I saw sad faces...very poor breakfast...only saving grace next too the lake..

Room Tip: No good as of now....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharadindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 54 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Visited this hotel from friday to sunday and it was just amazing. Very good swiss kitchen, friendly and helpful stuff and an amazing location at the Walensee.
Not so good was that reception was not always in use so we had to ask restaurant stuff.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingtheworld_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here a couple of years ago and I can say that the place is going down... specially the restaurant which was top years ago. The lake view room we had was very good, large, nice bed / furniture, huge flat TV. The bathroom average (I think it was done more than 15 years ago).
The reception is a small place and the wifi is not so good. You can feel that the place is not run with soul. The staff tried to be nice but I saw sad faces.

Room Tip: lake view room 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dragos43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The view is excellent, right in front of a lake. To get there, one needs to take the train to Ziegelbruecke and then take the bus. At the time of my visit, there was only one bus per hour from Ziegelbruecke to Weesen so I had to wait a long time. The hotel itself is seems a bit understaffed, there was nobody at the reception most of the time and one has to look for staff in the restaurant. Rooms are rather small and old. There was no free internet in the room. Breakfast was below standard, not much choice. I would probably stay somewhere else during my next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hschw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Have stayed a few times in this hotel with the family whilst travelling. Bit off the beaten track but offers a nice break, good value, and a lovely brasserie for food. Good location also for weekend break, and is right on the lake which offers nicer walks or swim during summer.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Trip2616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were here a couple of days ago. The rooms were well kept and clean. However the food served leaves a lot of ????. I ordered the zanderfilet in olive oil and it arrived swimmimg in water and oil and was the size of ...... quite certiain must have being thrown in the steamer while still frozen. My choice of vegetables was spinach which had oxidized change that beautiful green to some grey vege. My rice was also swimmimg in water and was tasteless.For 37 SFR; I suggesst the general manager should have my meal and tell if he would be prepared to pay that much. Chef also learn how to do a carpaccio you wll end up poisoning people. Reduce the menu weniger ist mehr.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poppet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Background
-----------------
We were a group of 6 adults and 2 kids in extended family and we wanted to start our journey on board Glacier Express from Chur. We were coming from Luzern and wanted to spend a night and morning of the next day at some hotel. Hotels in big cities such as Luzern and Interlaken are highly overpriced. Therefore, we chose this hotel in Weesen near Ziegelbrücke.

It turned out to be a very good choice.

Location
-----------
The hotel is just in front of the lake Walensee. You need to take a bus from larger Ziegelbrücke station to reach Weesen (The bus stops just in front of the hotel.) Or you could walk from Weesen Train Station.

From some rooms (like one of the rooms we had) you get a grand view of Walensee and snow-clad peaks.

Check-In
-------------
The check-in procedure is a bit of an issue if you come after the normal hours. The hotel does not have a 24x7 manned reception. If you come late in the evening, you need to hunt for one of the waitresses and she will help you check in.

Once you zero in on the person to do the check-in, it doesn't take much time.

Rooms
----------
We had 1 Quad and 1 Double room. Bathrooms were large and clean. The rooms themselves were just about the right size (going by European Standards). As said earlier, one of the rooms had grand view of Walensee. The facilities provided in the room were standard (Soap, Sheets, Radio Alarma, TV), nothing fancy really. No water boiler and tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

Breakfast
--------------
The breakfast too was nothing great to talk about. Pretty standard. A couple of varieties of bread, milk, cereals, joghurt, canned fruits, coffee/tea, juice, Croissant and Mineral water.

Price
-------
We paid 280CHF for both the rooms in total and thought it was a nice value for money accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misslinius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weesen
0.7 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Flyhof
1.6 mi away
Seminarhotel Lihn
Seminarhotel Lihn
#2 of 3 in Filzbach
53 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schwert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Seminarhotel Roemerturm
Seminarhotel Roemerturm
#1 of 3 in Filzbach
107 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Schwert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Schwert

Address: Hauptstrasse 23, Weesen 8872, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > Weesen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Weesen
Price Range: $131 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkhotel Schwert 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parkhotel Schwert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing