We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of Hotel Meierhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Meierhof
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Horgen
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Four of us stayed here for 2 nights. If the windows are open, yes, it is noisy, but its just fine when they are shut. Rooms are stylish and clean, restaurants are great. We played cards each night in the bar on the 5th floor.

The location to the train and ferry can't be beat, plus a grocery and ATM are right next door.

Most of all, the service was wonderful by all staff members we dealt with. So sweet and accommodating!

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Meierhof, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Meierhof, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Kate

Thank you very much for taking time to evaluate us through tripadvisor.

We were pleased to welcome you in our hotel. Nice to hear, that you have enjoyed the facilities.

We would be glad to see you soon again.

Best regards

Sabrina Nickel
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 293 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is located right next to Horgen train station, which is very convenient, but also very noisy, we stayed in a room at the front of the hotel, the back of the hotel might be quieter. The rooms are not big, with the bathrooms being very small. When we were stayed their was some noisy people in the corridor early in the morning which was annoying. The breakfast was adequate, but not great - and it was noticeable that the service very much depended on which waiter / waitress was working, some were fantastic, some less so.

There is very little to do in Horgen, and given that this is 20 minutes to downturn Zurich in future I think I would stay in Zurich downtown, although having spent 3 days in Zurich I can confirm that Zurich is not like other big cities in Europe where there is lots to do and see - it seemed like a very nice (if insanely expensive) city in which to live, but not a great place to visit as a tourist.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easytofindinaclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

In a bundle with opposite located restaurant L'O at Horgen, we had a perfect setting for a very nice wedding party. Just along the lake of Zurich, this hotel offers everything, necessary for a nice overnight. This includes good breakfast and free coffee to go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salvitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Don't stay here if you want a good night sleep. It was it while we were here and there was no air con in the rooms. Had to sleep with windows open overlooking noisy main road complete with yobs shouting until early hours.

Receptionist quality varied - some seemed to know nothing about the area. Some didn't seem to know how to get beyond "I don't know". They were pleasant but a bit clueless.

Breakfast was ok but no better than a cheaper Ibis would have been. Great view of the lake from breakfast.

Gym excellent of that's what you need.

Overall I booked the hotel out of Zurich intentionally so that I was in a quiet area so I could sleep well in prep for the Ironman. If this is your plan look elsewhere. A person I talked to in the swan hotel was very happy with their choice.

They did lay on an early breakfast for the athletes on race morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theredaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Meierhof, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Meierhof, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Theredaaron

Thank you very much for taking time to give us your feedback through tripadvisor.

First of all we do apologize the clueless of the reception staff. Actually, we do have two new trainees at the desk, who are doing their apprenticeship and only just started last week during your stay.

Please be ensured, that we are always ready, to give our guests the best service to fulfil all wishes of them.

To get back to your comment regarding your bad experience with the location of the hotel,
we like to inform you, Hotel Meierhof is located in the center and next to a shopping area, which gives a big advantage and possibility to our guests, at one side to find their needs around and to the other side, very good connections to Zurich Airport within less than 30 minutes and only 10-15 minutes to Zurich downtown. We are sorry, that we were not able to fulfil your expactations within this matter.

We kindly ask you as well to take into consideration, that during your stay, we had an unsual record temperature of 35 degree outside. In the other hand we do also provide higher categories with air condition in the rooms. Your booking was especially made for regular room with a general cooling system. Just let us know, during your next stay, we would be glad to assist you with it.

It would be a nice pleasure to meet you again in our Hotel to serve you otherwise.

Warm regards

Murat Baki (Mr.)
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Meierhof Hotel in Horgen (Zurich, Switzerland) June 20-24, 2013. We paid a little extra for a comfort room.

The lobby is nice and there's an espresso (coffee) machine in the lobby so you can have that cup of java for free whenever you want. We found the reception staff to be extremely friendly and helpful.

The room was nicely sized and had a wonderful view of Zurichsee and the train station. The rooms are air conditioned (another reviewer said they aren't--but ours was and it worked just fine) and quiet at night. There are blinds you can lower on the outside of the window to cut down on the light so it's easy to sleep in, if you're into that.

The room came with two bottles of water, and outside the room is a water bar, where you can refill the bottles with regular or "gas" (CO2) water. The rooms came with slippers and terry-cloth robes. Internet is free and works well. They have specialty pillows you can use or try out. The bathroom had 2 sinks and a bidet. There's a safe and plenty of closet shelving and space to hang things.

Breakfast is quite nice, several breads and toppings (chocolate and jellys), hot eggs and bacon, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurt, and more. They'll make you your espresso, what do you want? Espresso? Latte? Macchiato (I recommend this)?

We switched to this hotel after a disappointing stay at an Ibis in Adliswil, and were super pleased with our change.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a comfort room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveInMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were surprised this room had no air cond, but put the fan to good use. Beds were good, bathroom great, service at reception good, wifi appreciated, but what a noisy station it is right on top of! We would not have slept without chemical help! Our room faced the lake (lovely spot!) but that meant we heard every train till we doped ourselves.
Kettle provided didnt work (and the cord wouldn't even reach any plug, so must have been for decoration!) but i enjoyed the tea and coffee all hours downstairs, and the brekkie was wonderful, with a great view.

Room Tip: I was told the road on the other side was just as noisy, so my suggestion is, choose a different pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiejen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Meierhof, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Meierhof, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear anonym Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in Tripadvisor.

Our hotel is located between Horgen village centre and the main train station. Actually, this is an advantage for our guests, who are using the trains to get into the city or directly to the airport very conveniently. We regret to hear, that you were not able to sleep well and we do apologize, that we were also not able to meet your expactations within this matter.

Regarding the water kettle in the rooms, there might be a missunderstanding, since the cord was integrated in the kettle. We would be pleased to help you in case of any inquiry.

As well, I like to inform you, that our hotel provides also air conditioned rooms.
At your next stay with us, we are glad to help you to arrange a room with it.

Hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Murat Baki (Mr.)
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Excellent location by station & overlooking lake. Staff extremely helpful. Hot and cold breakfast buffet superb. Downsides: bar/restaurant closed for summer break! A/C noisy. No double rooms at front.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horgen
0.1 mi away
Schwan Hotel & Taverne
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sedartis
Hotel Sedartis
#1 of 1 in Thalwil
226 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hirschen am See
Hirschen am See
#1 of 1 in Obermeilen
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
ibis Baar Zug
ibis Baar Zug
#1 of 1 in Baar
314 reviews
13.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich Regensdorf
9.9 mi away
Seedamm Plaza
Seedamm Plaza
#1 of 2 in Pfaeffikon
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meierhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meierhof

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 4, Horgen 8810, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Horgen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Horgen
Price Range: $110 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meierhof 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Hotel with modern amenities and breakfast room; situated along the shores of Lake Zurich opposite the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meierhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Meierhof Horgen
Hotel Meierhof Horgen, Switzerland - Canton Of Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing