We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only the service was as good as the food”

Landrestaurant Hanegg
Ranked #3 of 35 Restaurants in Horgen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“If only the service was as good as the food”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We came here on mother's day for dinner. As expected the restaurant was full; glad we had reservations. The food was delicious, however the staff forgetful, the service forgettable. Nice views (make sure you get a window seat) but the whole place is in dire need of a revamp. I don't think we'll be back for a second visit any time soon.

Helpful?
Thank funkyfiorella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    40
    8
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful restaurant with good food”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We ate here on a cloudy evening, so did not get the benefit of the view. But we didn't mind at all. The food was delicious, and the service was excellent. I appreciated the way the waiters didn't hurry us through our meal. I had fish from Lake Zurich on a bed of spinach. Yum! Our bill was reasonable, too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouinZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
320 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Business Dinner for us but Romantic for others”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Renowned as one of the better restaurants in the area. Good Swiss cuisine. Excellent service with attentive wait staff with good command of English. Try the schweine. Actually try anything. Famous for it's roasted chicken - some of the team had this and highly recommend it. Good atmosphere. Not cheap but then this is Switzerland after all.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger61Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneve
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A JEWEL OVERLOOKING THE ZURICH LAKE”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

If once you are traveling in the Zurich area, two things to do. Take the ferry from Meilen to Horgen and then, follow the road up to the top of the hill and stop at Hanegg restaurant.
The view is breathtaking and the staff just excellent. It's not a "gastronomic" but they serve excellent food for the price asked which, by itself, is a performance knowing the price level in the area! The patron is very attentionate and will do his best to please you.
Just perfect!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mondobello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Chicken”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Made sure we had a reservation as this restaurant gets very busy. Too late to get a window seat with the view of the lake but instead we had the fire to keep us warm. Went for the local speciality of grilled spring chicken and wasn't disappointed.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeddingtonGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landrestaurant Hanegg also viewed

Horgen, Canton of Zurich
Horgen, Canton of Zurich
 
Horgen, Canton of Zurich
Horgen, Canton of Zurich
 
Horgen, Canton of Zurich
Horgen, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Landrestaurant Hanegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing