We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Locatrion” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lowen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lowen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lungern
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Locatrion”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

A lovely location, but the hotel was very basic. Could have been a bit cleaner and the staff more polite. Felt very rushed through meals.
The beauty of the area far outweighed the lack of kindness shown at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryroseUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    31
    21
    15
    18
See reviews for
45
20
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

We stayed here as part of a group for 3 nights. Those of us who had rooms with a balcony had wonderful views of the mountains and the lake, others were not so lucky. The rooms could have been cleaner and the staff on the whole were unfriendly. Food was mediocre and we were hardly given any time to finish one course at dinner before the next one was served (four courses served on average in 45 minutes!) However, the surrounding area is beautiful and it is well worth making the effort to climb the many steps to the church.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CdeVilleSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lungern hotels

Sunderland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

Lungern is on the busy main road between Lucerne and Interlaken, both abou 35 minutes away. Unfortunately this hotel is right on the main road, and hence traffic noise is a big problem. Importantly, the village is being by-passed with a tunnel, opening late 2010, but till then, ask for a room at the back.
The hotel caters mainly for groups, though individual guests can eat separately, Still, though, it can get very crowded. The very attractive Lungernsee is nearby for swimming, walking etc, and there is the magnificent Schoenbuel cable car, so the actual area is nice, but the hotel itself doesn't meet the highest standards. There are 3 blocks of rooms - some have balconies. Rooms are OK, but it is still the traffic noise that I shall remember!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunderlandMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

We stayed here with an educational tour/group. The hotel room was average - but we weren't expecting a lot being on a tour with a group of high school students! However, the views of the lake and the area were breathtaking! The room was comfortable, and though there was no air conditioning - the temperature was fine with the windows open to the wonderful evening air. When it started to become cool - we simply closed the windows. The city is quiet and charming - a wonderful place to walk and relax! Would like to go back sometime.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank professor227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

We also stayed here with the Cosmos tours and found the hotel to be very comfortable. The location is the real jewel of this hotel as it sits close to the lake and the mountain views from our balcony were breathtaking!

Everything else here is very adequate as far as a European hotel is concerned. There is a nice little pastry shop across the street and a grocery about a block down.

The view of the Lungern Kirche (Church) is charming and we enjoyed just sitting outside the hotel taking in the quaint atmosphere of this lovely town. Lots of fresh air and a peaceful place to say the least.

If you are not looking for luxury this is a very suitable hotel. We had a very restful night's sleep here!

  • Liked — The scenery.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bisquitlips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

This hotel is about 30 mins from Lucerne. Stayed here for one night as part of a Cosmos tour.
Bland is the word that springs to mind. The hotel is made up of several buildings on different levels and connected by corridors and bridges.
Our room was clean but dull. The bed was too short (and I am only 6ft tall) and the traffic noise loud.
After being in Switzerland I was used to their breakfasts but this was one the simplest. No fruit, one type of bread, meat and cheese and all this taken in a canteen style restaurant.
This hotel is a big favourite with tour buses. Guess the tour companies are getting good discounts. There is no other possible reason to stay there.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Concrete style block favoured by tour companies
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoomSpY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

We spent two nights here as part of a coach tour.

The rooms are not large but at least you could sit on the balcony and take in the beautiful mountain scenery. There is no air conditioning so we had to have the window open until we were awoken by a storm, after closing the window the room got very hot. The bathroom was very tight and the towels very small but everything was very clean.

It was also very hot in the dining room but everytime someone opened a window a member of staff would closed it.

Food was not great but quite ediable, no hot dishes at all at breakfast.

The staff here could all do with a long spell at a charm school, they were very abrupt , never returned a greeting and never smiled but this we found generally the same in the whole area.

If I had a choice, mainly due to the staff, I would choose a different place to stay if I visited the area again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RagBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lungern
7.0 mi away
Seehotel Wilerbad
Seehotel Wilerbad
#1 of 3 in Sarnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Twing
Hotel Twing
#5 of 5 in Hasliberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Giswil
Hotel Krone Giswil
#2 of 4 in Giswil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Bahnhof Giswil
Hotel Bahnhof Giswil
#1 of 4 in Giswil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Gletscherblick
Hotel Gletscherblick
#2 of 5 in Hasliberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
6.1 mi away
Schonegg und Spycher
Schonegg und Spycher
#4 of 12 in Brienz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lowen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lowen

Property: Hotel Lowen
Address: Bruenigstrasse 72, Lungern 6078, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Lungern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lungern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lowen 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Heritage 3-star Hotel Löwen is located in Lungern since 1875 overlooking the beautiful Lake and offers rooms with a balcony and lake view, the restaurant serving local specialities in our lovely winter garden. Local dishes served at the restaurant include local Swiss Cuisine, Italian Pizza/Pasta, Chinese and Indian Cuisine. We also specialize for Vegans & Jain food. Free Wi-fi is available in rooms & around the lobby area. Our one of the restaurant is on the top floor overlooking the lake. LCD TV with satelite channels. En suite bathroom are standard in every room. Lungern Train Station is 800 metres away from the hotel, to and from which the hotel can offers a shuttle service upon request. The distance to Lucerne is around 30 km, Interlaken is 28 km, while Zurich is around 70 km away. Free car parking is available on site of the Hotel Löwen upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lowen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowen Hotel Lungern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing