We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent curries and very friendly staff”
Review of Ruen Thai

Ruen Thai
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in Thalwil
Price range: $21 - $46
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Alps
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent curries and very friendly staff”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I am a devout fan of this Thalwil neighborhood joint. A very friendly and accommodating staff serves up some of the most delicious curries around. You can´t go wrong with Paneng or the basic green curry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysupforatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    19
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just fabulous”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

nothing you can do wrong by going there- friendly service, very good food- incredible red fish curry!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderwall1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Ruen Thai is my favorit restaurant in the Zurich area. I have eaten there at least four times a year for the past seven years - the food is always consistent, fresh. I have not found another restaurant anywhere that serves a better Massaman Curry. It is within easy walkin distance of the Thalwil train station.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin3257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not the most convenient location”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The food here is ok, more expensive than the the other Thai restaurant down the road. Parking is not that great though.

Helpful?
Thank cccc9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“For a special occasion”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We love Thai food and were certainly not disappointed when visiting Ruenthai. The restaurant is located just a little bit outside of the center of Thalwil. We were very warmly welcomed by the owner. Service was friendly and food nicely presented and delicious. We very regularly visit another Thai restaurant in Thalwil. The atmosphere at Ruenthai is more intimate and cozy and the price tag a bit higher. We will return but for special occasions only.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SP MD 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruen Thai also viewed

Thalwil, Canton of Zurich
 
Thalwil, Canton of Zurich
Thalwil, Canton of Zurich
 
Thalwil, Canton of Zurich
Thalwil, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Ruen Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing