We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Craigiebield House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Penicuik B&B and Inns
Southy Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay.”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed for an overnight with friends. Check in very swift. Rooms very comfortable. Don't miss breakfast, fast service and nice. Also want to say good luck to the lovely Lesley and her brother who have recently taken over the hotel. they both made us feel very welcome. book with confidence, you wont be disappointed.. thanks again guys for our lovely stay..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank castledyke11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    16
    22
    18
See reviews for
36
53
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LEEDS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

First impressions were good. Food was excellent (carbonara). Room was nice, right at the top of the hotel (room 19). Unfortunately there was a window in the room which would not close, not a problem really because it was quite warm but the noise wasn't great and the football training pitches right next to the hotel didn't help. One blackout bling which was great but the window facing the bed had very thin white curtains up so the light came stright through there! I had noticed that there was no hot water in the evening but i didn't need it so didn't worry. Queue 6am the folloiwng morning when i went to get a shower. No hot water. No one at reception. Got dressed, went for breakfast then complained on my way back up to the room for my bags. Just an aplogy, no explanation or offer of anything, just 'that's strange'. I travel a lot on business and that one comment means i won't be staying there again which is a shame as everyhting was nice apart from the window, the curtains and no hot water.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

at first view the hotel look very nice from the street, and when we check in the surprise was good to find out that their staff is very friendly, and the atmosphere in the restaurant it was nice, we did try the food a mix grill to share very good indeed, also the bread was excellent home made, everything at the restaurant seems to be freshly prepared. Also we find out that next day a wedding it was taking place for 200 people and we took some photos thinking in ours.

overall the stay was very good, room clean and good sized, no probs at all.

and my partner was amazed of having her coffee with candles on her table looking at the rabbits playing in the garden, yes 8 or 10 rabbits is a nice picture.

I would recomend the place, after reading old reviews, I didn't know what to expect but, after speaking to members of the staff, we were told that a a new chef and manager were recruited no long ago, I guess that is one of the reasons of the improvement together with the dedication of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We found this hotel very friendly and accomodating. The views were amazing and the rooms were gorgeous. We had fresh towels every day and the maid service was great.

Breakfast was very nice and you had a choice of food. We eat once in the bar and again the food was great. Would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaleena29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyrigg
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

After viewing this hotel for our future wedding, we found the staff to be very efficient and helpful. We stayed for a meal in the conservatory and the meal was terrific 1st class.
On looking around in Conservatory, Function Suite & Toilets we found them to be very clean and well looked after.
Will definately be top of my list for our forthcoming wedding.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzer90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Have just had lunch at the Craigiebield Hotel today with my husband and 6 year old. The staff were attentive, restaurant clean and welcoming and the menu good. It has changed hands recently and so the menu is new. The kids menu was good and good value with plenty of healthy choice that didnt come "with chips". Staff gave us paper and colouring in pencils for kiddie-entertainment. Husbands fish (with chips!) was excellent as was my home-made soup with what seemed like home-made bread. Friendly, good value and will return as we live fairly nearby.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HillwalkerEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

On booking our room we chose an Executive double but on arriving it was not executive cleanliness, there were cobwebs everywhere, dirt ingrained round the bath and shower head, hairs in the bath drain holes. Wall round the toilet was filthy. Curtains in the room were faded with the sun, the pelmet was hanging off the curtain rail, windows were in need of a good clean. Would not recommend this hotel for staying in. The best part was the bar meals which were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Penicuik hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penicuik
3.2 mi away
Chapel Cross Guest House
6.1 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,300 reviews
7.0 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Leadburn Inn
The Leadburn Inn
#1 of 2 in Penicuik
19 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Original Rosslyn Hotel
5.0 mi away
Allan Ramsay Hotel
Allan Ramsay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carlops
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigiebield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigiebield House Hotel

Property: Craigiebield House Hotel
Address: 50 Bog Road, Penicuik EH26 9BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Penicuik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Penicuik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Craigiebield House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Craigiebield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigiebield Hotel Penicuik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing