We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite expensive for what you got.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Craigiebield House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Penicuik B&B and Inns
Exeter Devon England UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Quite expensive for what you got.”
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Stayed for one night in a suite on a Saturday, It was not the cleanest room I have stayed in either. The bed settee was broken and needed some effort to make up. There was a wedding below and the noise was quite loud. The place could do with a refurb, as it was quite tired in places. It was well over-priced for the area. The breakfast was ok and the staff very pleasant. The gardens were well maintained and tidy.

  • Liked — Its grounds
  • Disliked — The price and value for money
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whizzer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    16
    22
    18
See reviews for
36
53
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2008

My husband and I and two of our older grandsons (18,15) stayed almost a week at the hotel. The room was fine, the bathroom was large. Television stations were awful with little or no choice in the evenings. The food was good, though expensive (evening meal). Breakfast was very good and included with the room. The staff were very nice and helpful.However, one grandson left his glasses in the room when we checked out. We have tried repeatedly to get them back, with no response whatsoever from the hotel. And the hotel is certainly not handicapped accessable. But would I stay there again, yes, probably. And I would recommend it to friends who aren't looking for 4 * accomadation. It's a place to sleep and eat breakfast and it fulfilled those requirements nicely. I slept like a log each night. Maybe I was just tired from seeing Scotland. Oh, and if you don't have a car, there aren't many places to eat in Penicuik. It's pretty much Chinese or Indian.

  • Liked — It was peaceful and quiet
  • Disliked — Not enough inexpensive resturants in town
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishfancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2007

I stayed (I think) almost 3 weeks. Gad. In that time I developed an affliction for well poured Guinness (thank you Kayleigh and Emma) and a thirst for Lagavulin single malt (thank you annonymous 40th birthday reveller).

Without a doubt I had the best time in the Craigiebield I had in the 10 weeks I slouched around the old countries. There's something about the breakfast (eggs, sausage, black pudding, beans, scone, tomato, all the cereal you can eat, fruit, juice, burp) that gets you up in the morning if not out the door afterwards (hard to move).

I spent the time walking up the River North Esk to Penicuik House, in Milton Bridge and Glencorse, Roslin, the Pentlands, and Auld Reekie - which doesn't seem to reek much anymore.

The rub: It's reasonably priced, well-staffed, well-stocked, within reach of Edinburgh, plenty to see on foot in the countryside.

The haggis is good. Try the "appetizer" if you're not sure, but you'll enjoy it no problem, and the salmon, and the sticky pudding (if it's too sticky send it back)!

Ask for Alan, he'll take care of you, and he'll call you "sir" to boot, silly man.

If you go to Roslin the Carrot soup is good at the "Old Original" Roslin Inn. BIG coal fire too as it will probably be raining.

The bus for Edinburgh stops right outside the Craigiebield or you can walk to the main drag and catch a different one. No biggy. 1 pound.

The rooms? Warm, comfortable, clean, enormous tubs, shortcake (bribe the cleaner for extra), TV (BBC gardening shows and football), BUT if you want quiet take a room in the old part; the rooms in the new part are over the well-used function room. Not so bad really as the activity will force you down to the bar with all those single malts.

*sigh*

  • Liked — Food, drink. staff, location, comfort.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Roebare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
631 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2007

We stayed just a single night in the hotel.

The Craigiebield House Hotel has obviously undergone renovation recently and so the rooms in the hotel and the general bar / restaurant area are ok. However the cleanliness of our room left a lot to be desired. The carpet was covered in hair, the toilet dirty and the dirty duvet could be seen through the cover. To be fair we were offerred the keys to another room but that was equally dirty except the duvet so we just took the duvet to our original room.

The food in the hotel was ok but the service average at best. I got the impression the staff would rather have been elsewhere.

Given that a fair bit of money has been spent on the hotel in recent years it is dissapointing that the same investment has not been made in the staff.

The Craigiebield House Hotel will never be a 5 star hotel but if they can work on the customer service it might be an ok place to stay a night or two.

  • Liked — The Bar Area
  • Disliked — The State of the Duvet
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Penicuik hotels

Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2006

The Swallow Craigiebield House Hotel was great! The hotel staff was always kind and extremely helpful. The room was very clean and shower was excellent. The room was a bit small but my husband and I had so much fun that it did not matter. There was a breakfast included on our stay and it was excellent (your choice of a hot breakfast or continental). There was free parking at the hotel and we took a 30 minute bus ride down to the center of Edinburgh. It was lots of fun and I truly recommend this hotel for the fabulous views outside the hotel and the excellent service we received from the staff.

  • Liked — The outside view
  • Disliked — The room was a bit small
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Scottish1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penicuik
3.2 mi away
Chapel Cross Guest House
6.1 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,300 reviews
7.0 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Leadburn Inn
The Leadburn Inn
#1 of 2 in Penicuik
19 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Original Rosslyn Hotel
5.0 mi away
Allan Ramsay Hotel
Allan Ramsay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carlops
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigiebield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigiebield House Hotel

Property: Craigiebield House Hotel
Address: 50 Bog Road, Penicuik EH26 9BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Penicuik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Penicuik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Craigiebield House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Craigiebield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigiebield Hotel Penicuik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing