We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for the kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Craigiebield House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Penicuik B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place for the kids”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I am a single parent with 3 young children and im glad to have found the Craigiebield hotel.Gordon (the owner) and his staff could not have went more out of their way to make me feel more welcome.They entertained the kids so i could have a relaxing time and with the large grounds the hotel have the kids could be outside to enjoy themselves.The food served is of a high standard and the rooms are also.I have now visit this hotel on a regular basis as it is child and pet friendly with lots going on.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    16
    22
    18
See reviews for
36
53
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Photos of exterior are impressive but the interiors leave much to desire. We arrived to find ourselves in the middle of a housing estate and that the hotel faces a street of houses and adjacent playing fields and a school. We had expected a countrified location. Staff friendly and sympathetic but the room had a major problem with the plumbing in the bathroom. We had been allocated a room with a profusely leaking tap; after two hours, the bath was more than half full and there was no way to stop the leak. The plumber had apparently been called and was looking for a new tap but two days later, there was no sign of him or an end to the noisy leak. We were kindly provided with extra towels to try and break the noise impact. As we were in an otherwise quiet room, far from the pub below, we decided to stay where we were for the duration, but had expected to see the plumber during our stay. The TV was interesting: the BBC gave us the Channel Islands (and no Scottish TV in sight) and ITV gave us Birmingham and the Midlands area coverage. Why? The remote was not provided in the room at the outset. The window would not stay open on its own and had to be wedged open. Finally, the dressing table handle came off in my hand at the first tug. I had to laugh. Breakfast was really disappointing as the juices tasted like basic brands and various items kept running out and were not quickly replaced. We were paying full price for the hotel, so it was a real let down. Maybe we should have tried the restaurant in the evening (which gets good write-ups from others here) but in view of the room and the breakfast, we decided not to do so.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLadyCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Penicuik hotels

Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night due to a family wedding nearby, beautiful country house Hotel, extremely friendly staff, excellent food, big very clean spacious rooms. Wonderful location, a great cosy family feel to this place. We are already planning our next trip back!
We travelled by train, got a lift from the station but when returning took the bus from outside the hotel and travelled into Edinburgh taking in some lovely scenery, so dont worry if you have no car as the bus is great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We've just had a most enjoyable weekend staying at the Craigiebield House Hotel and where we also had a school reunion after 40+ years! The owner Gordon went out of his way to be cheery and helpful and indeed all the staff that we met were the same. Nice buzzy atmosphere in the bar with live music at the weekends, comfortable, clean rooms with lovely views and great food. What a great place to enjoy some time in Penicuik, the Borders or Edinburgh which is a short drive away.

Room Tip: Maybe best to avoid the rooms above the function room at the weekends - plenty of other nice bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wurzeljocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Well! Having read the previous review and being the 18 year olds grandad I think it's only right to add a bit of balance to the review of the evening. I cannot comment on the drinks situation but on the whole evening and the meal itself. Great food all round and as I have NEVER ever tasted macaroni untiil that evening I can honestly say everything was delicious.

Well we have two other grand kids with 18th due in a year and I would be more than happy to return to the Craigiebield.

In the meantime I am sure I can coax my adopted son in law to forgive and forget.

It's still a bloody good hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandySievwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh Essex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed a two-night visit to The Craigiebield House Hotel in Penicuik two weeks ago. Penicuik is a central location -very close to Edinburgh and the famous Rosslyn Chapel as well as being well placed for visits to the lovely Border towns.
Our en-suite room was very spacious and spotlessly clean with a beautiful view of The Pentland Hills. The owners and staff were all very friendly and helpful, making us feel very welcome.
The food was excellent (all freshly cooked to order) as was the service.
We really enjoyed our stay which we considered to be very good value for money. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a lovely view of The Pentland Hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monty029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Very pleasant business stay in March. Returning in July with the family. As a father of a teenage daughter, I applaud the hotel staff for refusing to serve alcohol to underage teenagers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penicuik
6.2 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
3.2 mi away
Chapel Cross Guest House
6.1 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Leadburn Inn
The Leadburn Inn
#1 of 2 in Penicuik
21 reviews
5.1 mi away
Allan Ramsay Hotel
Allan Ramsay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carlops
73 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Original Rosslyn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigiebield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigiebield House Hotel

Property: Craigiebield House Hotel
Address: 50 Bog Road, Penicuik EH26 9BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Penicuik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Penicuik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Craigiebield House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craigiebield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigiebield Hotel Penicuik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing