We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wee gem”
Review of Spice House

Spice House
Ranked #11 of 25 Restaurants in Penicuik
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A wee gem”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a wee gem of an Indian restaurant. The food is beautifully prepared, so fresh from the kitchen - just out of the pan. The naan bread are just wonderful, again fresh out of the oven. Service is excellent, and its BYOB with no corkage charge. For a starter and main with rice and bread it's about £15 per person. It's a place that you'd think only does take away, but I'd advise everyone to try out (at least once) the cosy and comfortable interior.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alastair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The chef really cares about taste”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We love the spice house, and visit almost every week. We regularly talk to the chef/owner, and he talks about how the dishes are made. It's clear that he cares about the high quality of food. Makes a huge difference. We love it here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value for money”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

External appearances would possibly make you walk past but go in and try. It's so worth it. The ingredients of each dish are so fresh and you know it's just not chicken or lamb added to a sauce. The owner is a lovely man. It's BYOB too which makes it a reasonable meal out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnJUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful dishes”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I love the Spice House and visit the restaurant and use the takeaway often. They have a huge variety of indian dishes at very reasonable prices, and also offer a Thai menu which has some lovely dishes as well. Their yogurt sauce is the best I've ever tasted!
The restaurant is BYOB with no corkage and the staff are very friendly and attentive. They are also willing to accommodate requests for changes to dishes, which is great as I am fussy about some things.
I can honestly say I have never had a bad dish here. I would really recommend the Spice House over pretty much all of the other Indians in the area (of which there are many) simply for reasons of taste, variety and value. Love it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clayer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Looked on trip advisor for somewhere to eat whilst away with work and this place popped up so I went and must say from outside it doesn't look that great but once step inside and taste their food it all becomes clear why such good reviews top class and plenty big portion was well stuffed and never even had a starter so ill defo be back here again when in area

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fudnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice House also viewed

Penicuik, Midlothian
Penicuik, Midlothian
 
Penicuik, Midlothian
 

Been to Spice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing