We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We werent expecting much- but were very impressed-fab meal!”
Review of The Courtfield Arms - CLOSED

The Courtfield Arms
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Frampton on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“We werent expecting much- but were very impressed-fab meal!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Courtfield Arms was a 20 min walk away from the yha where we were staying halfway down the Wye on our Canoe trip. There were 11 of us and 10 of us had exceptional meals- rump steaks, onion rings, mushrooms and fabulous hand cut chips,beautifully battered fish and chips, and veggie pasta dishes-only one of us was disappointed by the size of their steak burger. would definitely recommend if staying at the yha or near Lydbrook.

The wine was £14.95 a bottle and was lovely too- thanks!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    8
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“disappointing.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stopped here on our way through from visiting friends, it was 2.45pm and we knew we were pushing it for lunch, I asked staff outside if they were still serving food as the sign said 3pm on a Saturday, the reply was they served all day now on a Saturday.
We found an outside table and browsed the menu, it was 2.55 when my husband ordered drinks and then our meal, to which the reply was they stopped serving at 3pm, but a barbie was being served shortly. The outside area was very popular due to the proximity to the river and plenty of canoeists were using the stop. As the barbie got under way most of the young staff hung around it, using it for there ciggie break, there were no signs as to what food or the prices on offer. The staff needed direction and a supervisor to keep things from becoming like a home barbie with a few tinnies.
The toilets also needed a good clean.
Could be a wonderful pub, we never got to taste the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glut1mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“dissapointing”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We thought we would visit The Courtfield arms as we was passing through, really wish we hadnt now, when we were being served by the very helpful bar staff all we could hear was the landlady swearing and shouting at the staff!
we had a child with us who we had to take outside as we didnt want them to listen to the foul language that was coming from the chef/landlady
The bar staff was appologising for her.

we will definatly not be coming back!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sally c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest of Dean UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing.”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

As this is one of our locals we decided to give it a go as we knew there to be a new landlady. Quickly wished we hadn't bothered.
It's a nice building in a beautiful spot with views over the river and the barman was friendly and efficient but that's where the positives end. The landlady was impolite and short to the point where it felt that customers were getting in the way. I had my doubts about even bothering to order food but unfortunately we carried on and ended up wasting our money. Steak burger tasted unseasoned and chips were undercooked and pale. My wife also disliked her meal. We payed and left without even considering another drink or dessert.
It's a shame because we used to come here often. I'm sure they'll take money from tourists over the summer but I can't see them getting any custom from locals after a little while. If looking for decent pub grub in the area my advice would be The Cross Keys at Goodrich.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glosbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not as good as we had hoped. Seemed expensive.”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We decided to take the family for a drink and packets of crisps at the end of the week. We were looking for a pub that opened early on a Friday - couldn't find one so waited outside The Courtfield unitl 6pm. Not a problem as there is a playground for kids and it was a nice evening. We found the drinks pricey and think the crisps (although tastey) expensive too. Food wasn't wonderful and expensive however the chips were lovely!! Next time we'll just have bowls of chips!! but to be honest wont be going back in a hurry.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Courtfield Arms also viewed

 
Lydbrook, Forest of Dean
Lydbrook, Forest of Dean
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing