We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diffucult to fault”
Review of Ferndale House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ferndale House
Ranked #1 of 2 Lydbrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Diffucult to fault”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a one night stay at Ferndale House.
We were in family room #1 which was a great sized room and found it to be very quiet with nice views. The room was nicely warm on arrival which is a welcome change to many b&b's.
We were met by the landlady who was very friendly and made us feel very welcome.
The room itself was very clean and the bed was extremely comfy, we had a great nights sleep aided by the babbling brook below our ensuite window.
The muffins were delicious, and so was breakfast the next morning, nothing was too much trouble for the owners and the whole experience was wonderful. If we ever stay in this part of the country again, we will definitely return.
Well done Ferndale House, keep up the good work

Chris & Sam

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    20
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
64
197
29
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at Ferndale House for one night with our two dogs. On arrival Andy came out to meet us and show us to The Lodge. We were very impressed with the accommodation which was spacious, very well presented and warm and cosy. Our dogs were very impressed with the biscuits left for them! Andy and Christine had also left some lovely muffins for us which went down very well with a cup of tea. After a fantastic nights sleep in one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, Andy was up early to cook us breakfast. We had to be in Monmouth for eight so even though it was Sunday, breakfast was provided early at 07:00. As with everything else to do with our stay the breakfast was faultless. I would not hesitate to recommend Ferndale although don't want to make it too well known as we don't want it to be fully booked next time we stay.

Room Tip: The lodge is great for dogs as they won't be disturbed by any other guests moving around in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Ferndale House was excellent, and sadly only could stay one night. Christine and Andy have got things just right, even though they have only been in the business for 12 months. A warm greeting, shown to my en-suite room, attentive service but not intrusive. Spotlessly clean, thick bedroom walls, lovely view. Will definitley stay again when next in the area, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrIvanKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst in the area for a music event in Lydney, which is an easy 10-15 minute drive through the lovely Forest of Dean, mor for us as during the drive back at midnight we travelled at around 5mph looking for wild boar and deer - none of the former but some of the latter!

We stayed in The Lodge which is essentially a separate building from the main house, containing a decent sized room with a bed, a sofa, a lovely bathroom and a small but perfectly functional kitchenette. The bed was hugely comfortable!

We received a friendly welcome from Christine who showed us to the accommodation, the welcome muffins were particularly enjoyable....

Breakfast was also very good quality.

Overall a genuinely enjoyable experience at this B&B, it is likely we will be back in the area again at some point, and if so Ferndale House will be at the top of our list for somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were very fortunate that a "no show client" meant we had a room for the night. If only we could have stayed longer. We can only echo the many positive comments made by previous visitors. Christine & Andy know how to look after you and provide the kind of B&B experience you hope to get, but rarely do! Certainly looking forward to a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferndalehouse, Owner at Ferndale House, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank-you for your very kind words, they are very much appreciated, and it just goes to show that what could have been an empty room and a loss turned out to be a blessing, lovely new guests and I even got some tips on looking after my fishpond. Thank-you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Travelling 2 adults and 2 children, we stayed in two big double rooms located on the first floor, the best accomodation we had in all our trip in South England, spacious, clean and confortable.
Agueda, Juan Carlos, Juan y Tolo enjoyed with hospitality and good feeling of both Andy and Christine.
Ask Christine some advice about what to do in Forest of Dean and where to have a nice dinner outside, we couldn't taste her own, but next time ;-)
Thanks again and I'd reccommend this B&B without a doubt.
Greetings from Mallorca

Room Tip: Double room upstairs on the left has a nice view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferndalehouse, Owner at Ferndale House, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello Tolo and family, greetings from the Forest. Thank-you so much for your very kind comments. Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your holiday in the UK. I hope that you managed to get to the Cotswolds on my directions! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Myself, partner and Diego our Staffy stayed at the Granary for four days. The location is superb and the cottage is excellently presented. We wanted for nothing, it has everything you'd need for a short stay.

The Forest of Dean is amazing, a long different walk every day, you could live a lifetime there and have a different walk every day!!

Christine is very very friendly and goes out of her way to help you. She even gave Diego a spare sausage for his breakfast.

We had a lovely time there and even so there is so much to do during the day, we still looked forward to coming back to the cottage with its lovely furnishings and cosy atmosphere.

All in all an excellent, although too short four days, can't wait to return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark4476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferndalehouse, Owner at Ferndale House, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank-you both for taking the time to write such a positive review, of the Granary and the Forest of Dean. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and Diego enjoyed his walks (and sausage).
Hope to see you again if you visit the Forest in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydbrook
2.1 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
719 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
557 reviews
7.8 mi away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Blaisdon House B&B
Blaisdon House B&B
#1 of 1 in Blaisdon
91 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms
3.6 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 10 in Coleford
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndale House

Property: Ferndale House
Address: Upper Lydbrook, Lydbrook GL17 9PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Lydbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lydbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferndale House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Lydbrook in the beautiful Forest of Dean. A detached property with on site parking and a garden with stream running alongside. We have 4 en-suite rooms, 3 in the main house, one of which is on the ground floor, and The Lodge in the garden which can accommodate dogs. We also have a self contained holiday let- The Granary which is suitable for two people and also allows dogs. All rooms have free wi-fi, a hospitality tray, hairdryer, complimentary toiletries and cakes on arrival. There are woodland walks within 5 minutes walk from the property. We are within 15 minutes drive of Symonds Yat and the Sculpture Trail at Beechenhurst Lodge. The town of Ross on Wye is 7 miles away and Monmouth is 9 miles. Other attractions within easy driving distance are Pedalabikeaway, canoeing, golf, fishing, Puzzlewood, Go Ape and Clearwell Caves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ferndale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing