We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HOME COMFORTS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ferndale House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ferndale House
Ranked #1 of 3 Lydbrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
BALA, North Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“HOME COMFORTS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Every year we attend the Royal British Legion Remembrance Service at Forest Church on Harrow Hill, usually staying with my parents in Cinderford. However, this year my sister & her partner had that 'honour', so we elected to try a local B&B. After a quick trawl over the internet, nothing found in Cinderford but THANKFULLY we found FERNDALE HOUSE, & only 5 miles from my parents home. The booking was easy, no fuss, very straight forward & we got a great price deal ... family room (2 x adults & 1 x child) for £45 ... but at the time of booking we only needed accommodation for 2 x adults. However, just 10 minutes before leaving North Wales, our great-granddaughter Jessica decided she wanted to see her Granddad 'on parade' at the church (I'm the RBL Standard Bearer) so she accompanied us too (we didn't inform the B&B). So on arrival (approx 1600hrs) on the Saturday afternoon, imagine the 'surprise' of our hosts, Christine & Andy, when 3 x people turned up. But we needn't have worried because, after a really warm, friendly welcome from them both, taking it in her stride, Christine quickly 'made up' the third bed whilst I unpacked the car.
The room (Owl Room) was a delight. Spotlessly clean, well furnished, tastefully decorated ... just like 'home'. Plus the added bonus not enjoyed at home ... it was ensuite. Furthermore, tea/coffee/hot chocolate & tasty cakes to welcome us ... a nice touch. The beds had 'sound, firm' mattresses & (in the words of Jessica) were very cosy. After an extremely restful night, we all enjoyed a lovely 'full English' cooked breakfast accompanied by toast, cereals, fruit juices, tea & coffee.
We cannot 'sing praises' enough of the owners, Christine & Andy, who made us so welcome. And they've only being doing this since July 2012. Congratulations on a job well done & a service which was exceptional in all aspects. We wish you continued success & have already Highly Recommended your B&B to a number of family & friends.

Room Tip: Which ever room you are allocated ... it will be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CATMAN59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferndalehouse, Owner at Ferndale House, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank-you so much for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are very much appreciated and as some-one who was once "in the business" your views are even more welcome. We hope to see you again when you visit the Forest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    19
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
181
25
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very friendly welcome and great location. Me and the wife stayed in the self catering Lodge accommodation which is very cosy and has all amenities needed. Good sized shower room and comfy sofa in the main/living area with TV and wifi. Although we stayed in the self catering accommodation we had breakfast in the main house each morning of our three night stay and had a lovely home cooked meal too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferndalehouse, Owner at Ferndale House, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for such a lovely review, it is very much appreciated. We will look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Booked last minute on the basis of their helpful website. We arrived in the pouring rain to a warm welcome including tasty cakes in our room. Christine and Andy couldn't have been more helpful; despite only having taken over the B&B a few months earlier they knew what was going in the local area, and this helped make our stay even more enjoyable. Great attention to detail, a decent breakfast and a nice warm room to come back to at the end of a chilly day. What else can you ask?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferndalehouse, Owner at Ferndale House, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank-you Helena, and Colin, for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the Forest of Dean. I hope that we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I booked a night at short notice with Christine and Andy really just as a result of liking the look of Ferndale House on the internet. I was staying in the Forest with my 3 year old son Archie for a short break. We enjoyed a really warm welcome and Archie was made to feel really happy (his first night in a bed and breakfast!). The room was very nice and the cumberland sausages for breakfast were a big hit with us both! Archie loved the pond in the garden and tired himself out running around outside. Highly recommended : )

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris6061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferndalehouse, Owner at Ferndale House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank-you for staying with us in the Forest, I'm glad you both enjoyed it, and Archie liked the sausages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We visited Ferndale house on the 25th August 2012 for 2 nights. We were on our way down to cornwall and decided to find somewhere halfway for a mini break. With us having dogs we are usually put in a scruffy/hairy room, but not in this case.
There are two out buildings one an old granary and the other a converted garage (which we booked to stay in on the way back home!) When we arrived Christine greeted us and showed us to "The Granary" we could'nt believe our eyes! It was lovely, clean, spacious, cosy and modern. This is where you are allowed to stay with dogs and i could'nt tell, there was not one dog hair in sight! although the kitchen was large enough to cook a meal, we decided we were on holiday so no cooking for me!
We ordered chicken curry for our evening meal, which was very tasty and homemade. christine and Andy (the hosts) are very approachable and friendly, they made us feel at home.
We even got a bowl of doggy treats for our dogs in our room, and a muffin each in a tin on our bed on arrival, yum!
On the way home we stayed again in the smaller of the two buildings, again this was really very clean and modern. The bed was massive and comfortable. My partener ordered curry (again!) as he loved it the first time. I ordered salmon which was so tasty! The breakfasts are also a must to set you up for the day walking!
The forest is just a walk or short drive away, it is very beautiful and we can not wait to return.
Thankyou very much, for such a lovely start and end to our holiday. :)

Room Tip: if you have dog's you will be staying in the granary or the lodge. They are both lovely :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thornergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferndalehouse, Owner at Ferndale House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank-you for your review, it is very much appreciated.and for staying with us twice during your holiday to and from Cornwall. Hope to see you all again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We arrived to a shaky start being unexpected but having in fact booked. It transpired this was in no way the fault of Christine and Andy, who, having been in charge for only six days, and in spite of being already fully booked, swiftly and seamlessly accommodated us in a room which they felt was below standard and out of use, but was in fact very good. Breakfast was of a very high standard and delicious. I have already recommended them and will stay again when next in the Forest.

Room Tip: The garden lodge is interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferndalehouse, Owner at Ferndale House, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. Your recommendations and comments are very much appreciated. We hope to see you again in the Forest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Seeing as Christine and Andy have only been running Ferndale House since July 2012, you would think they've been doing this for years. The Food was brlliant, we even had the evening meals every night we were there, recommend Andy's curry...mmmmmm. The Muffins on arrival were a nice touch and the rooms are warm and cosy (certainly not cold). The Forest of Dean is fantastic and theres no where better to stay than Ferndale House as it is perfect for the forest activities and the river Wye. You wont be disapointed if you stay at Ferndale House.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferndalehouse, Owner at Ferndale House, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank-you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again at Ferndale House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydbrook
2.1 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Blaisdon House B&B
Blaisdon House B&B
#1 of 1 in Blaisdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
7.8 mi away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndale House

Property: Ferndale House
Address: Upper Lydbrook, Lydbrook GL17 9PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Lydbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lydbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferndale House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Lydbrook in the beautiful Forest of Dean. A detached property with on site parking and a garden with stream running alongside. We have 4 en-suite rooms, 3 in the main house, one of which is on the ground floor, and The Lodge in the garden which can accommodate dogs. We also have a self contained holiday let- The Granary which is suitable for two people and also allows dogs. All rooms have free wi-fi, a hospitality tray, hairdryer, complimentary toiletries and cakes on arrival. There are woodland walks within 5 minutes walk from the property. We are within 15 minutes drive of Symonds Yat and the Sculpture Trail at Beechenhurst Lodge. The town of Ross on Wye is 7 miles away and Monmouth is 9 miles. Other attractions within easy driving distance are Pedalabikeaway, canoeing, golf, fishing, Puzzlewood, Go Ape and Clearwell Caves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and Orbitz so you can book your Ferndale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing