We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cafe :)”
Review of The Garden Cafe

The Garden Cafe
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Lydbrook
Price range: $41 - $41
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Cafe :)”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Some people are never pleased....don't listen to the negatives. This is a lovely Cafe which is just that....a Cafe. Drinks, cakes and a tasty light lunch are what to expect. The prices aren't the cheapest in the Forest of Dean, but by no means are they the most expensive. Personally, I don't rate around a 5ver each for tea/coffee and a home made cake that bad. My daily Cafe Nero costs more than that!!

We had a nice chat with the waitress that was there, who was happy to talk about the locally sourced coffee and the strawberries from her garden that made up the filling of my red velvet cake. My wife also had a chocolate and beetroot brownie...both of ours were delicious and a far cry from the boring muffins and sponges we've tried elsewhere.

It's not a conventional experience at this cafe, but in our opinion that makes it all the more interesting...it's casual yet polite service, which in a cafe suits us fine...we've visited a couple of times now, and at the end of the day, if you want a fried, cheap, pub lunch on a wooden table, head to one of the pubs near the river. If you fancy sitting in a beautiful, private garden with a cup of organic coffee and a home-made cake, this place gets our vote every time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cookie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“QUIRKEY AND PLEASANT”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Visited for a social get together of a local business network group, had a lovely buffet, all food homeade and delicious. Very good cold buffet and lovely cakes and puds.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsbake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“rip off the tourist joint”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were a party of three canoeing down the wye and stopped here for a break.
its a funny place, rather ramshackle and the lady serving herself was rather unique looking...not in an unpleasant way but characterful.
we had a pot of tea and glass of aldi lemonade out of a value plastic bottle, also 2 slices of velvet cake and 1 slice of victoria sponge.....not massive portion just normal slice.
Tea was refreshing and lemonade was lemonade. the cakes were ok too...not exceptional but no complaints.
Then along came the bill....so 3 drinks and 3 slice of cake £14.50.......yes £14.50.
Its so depressing to have to start asking for prices prior to ordering in such an establishment but we felt ripped off and would not go again.in addition she gave me 40 in coppers as she had no silver.no apology just sarcasm.
We were asked how was the cafe by the rest of our canoe group who had gone to the pub next door we gave an honest answer.....these people are not helping themselves because I have also told the canoe company who come down this river regularly to warn their customers to avoid this place because of this attitude that they against people just passing through.
Depessing experience for something that should have been easily positive and we could have increased their business,
AVOID.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank major s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interestingly original experience - lovely evening”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Recommended by our B&B hosts (the Sawyers) we literally stumbled into the Garden Cafe on a dark wet evening.
Intimate little venue, that promised live music and supper - veg or non veg (so if you're a really finickity eater maybe check first) but good nosh, low key entertainment and dry, yet very twinkly landlord. Amazingly cheap, seriously worth it.
Definitely recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsbobFarnham_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitcheldean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely hosts.”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Having been to several gigs where food was served at the Garden Café, we've never been disappointed. Of course it isn't open all the time, it doesn't claim to be, but phone calls/e-mail enquiries are dealt with promptly and courteously.
The food has always been delicious, and our vegetarian friends described their Imam Bayildi as the best they'd ever had. With reasonably priced wine, and the lovely building, we're always happy to go back.
To say that they only serve leftovers is, frankly, ridiculous. However, I'd rather eat leftovers there than freshly cooked food at some of the places we've tried over the years!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Cafe also viewed

 
Lydbrook, Forest of Dean
Kerne Bridge, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing