We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very popular with Hadrian's Wall walkers.”

The Twice Brewed Inn
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Twice Brewed is set amongst some of the most breathtaking scenery in England and stands in the shadows of Steel Rigg, without doubt one of the most dramatic parts of Hadrian’s Wall. The Inn is situated on the B6318 (The Military Road) midway between Newcastle Upon Tyne in the East and Carlisle in the West and is close to all the main Roman sites – Vindolanda, Housesteads and The Roman Army Museum. The Inn is on the popular Pennine Way route and welcomes walkers with a drying room and other facilities. We are also on the Hadrians Cycleway (Route 72) and near the Sandstone Way cycle route. We are 4 miles away from Haltwhistle train station and 15 miles away from Hexham train station
Reviewed May 19, 2019

Micro brewery on site. I was advised to try the "Ale Caesar" which is described as an American amber ale at 4.3% volume which is brewed on the premises. Very nice after a hot day on the trail. My next venture was a pint of "Steel Rigged" porter beer also brewed there. It is obviously a dark ale at 4.9% volume. Nothing wrong with this beer but it is not to my taste.

We also dined there mid week in May. I went for the pan fried sea trout with saute potatoes, beetroot, mint salsa and boiled vegetables. Good choice for £13.95. My only dissatisfaction was that the boiled vegetables turned up half way through my meal.

Very popular pub on the main road ( B road), Well organized with a brewery at the rear. Almost a monopoly but a lot of effort has been put into the business and it shows. Very popular with walkers Dog friendly with toilets on the ground floor.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Desmond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadrianhotelwall, Guest Relations Manager at The Twice Brewed Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Desmond C,

Thank you so much for leaving us such a fantastic review, and for all your information to fellow travellers.

If you are in the area again we do hope to see you!

Best wishes,

TB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 651 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2019 via mobile

We visited here as one of our stopping points on our on the Hadrian's Wall path. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Food and beer were both excellent.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadrianhotelwall, Guest Relations Manager at The Twice Brewed Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Kevin H,

Thank you so much for the lovely review, we do hope to welcome you again in future.

Best wishes,

TB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

We were staying in The Sill next door and decided to have dinner at The Twice Brewed Inn.

We enjoyed a pint of Sycamore Gap sat in the bar and when we were ready our order was taken by a friendly and attentive waitress.

We enjoyed homemade steak and ale pie with mashed potato, gravy and vegetables and a chicken and bacon salad with a blue cheese dressing.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2381ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadrianhotelwall, Guest Relations Manager at The Twice Brewed Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Dear 2381ng,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed it - Sycamore Gap and a steak pie, I have got to say, is one of my favourite combinations, especially if the sun is shining! We hope to welcome you again soon,

Best wishes,

TB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

Great staff, lovely atmosphere, great food and of course there is a fantastic range of their own beers, and their own gin! Lively pub full of people popping along from the youth hostel but the rooms above were quiet so you will get a good nights rest. Definitely will be back.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank O1691VLjanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadrianhotelwall, Public Relations Manager at The Twice Brewed Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Dear O1691VLjanb,

Thank you so much for leaving us such a fantastic review! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon! We shall pass your comments on to the Team and the Brew House.

Best wishes,

TB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

After visiting the wall & Vindolanda we decided on early dinner before driving back to our accommodation. We'd read about the pub & given its close location thought a good choice. The fact you pay to use carpark to go to the pub should have been enough to send us down the road to somewhere else. Bar service was slow disinterested & rude..maybe being Easter weekend they'd had their fill of tourists..but it was topped off by terrible food. Greasy inedible & even my children decided they were the worst burgers ever.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank BecG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadrianhotelwall, Guest Relations Manager at The Twice Brewed Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Dear BecG71,

Thank you for leaving us a review and we are sorry to hear your visit didn't live up to expectations. I can assure you this is not our usual style and you will see from other reviews this is not that case; I would be interested to know what your server said about your food? We do try to do all we can to sort out any issued such as this when people are still with us as sadly all we can do now, is offer a retrospective apology which we understand isn't good enough.

This is not the norm however, and I do hope you may give us another chance.

Best wishes,

TB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Twice Brewed Inn also viewed

Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
 
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
 

Been to The Twice Brewed Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing