We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very tasty, good value lunch”

CasadePasto Cafetaria Tamuje
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Mertola
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“a very tasty, good value lunch”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Tamuje was just what we wanted at lunch time on a bright January day, sightseeing in Mertola. An ordinary looking one story building in the main street. Inside a welcoming smile with everything spotless. Three main courses on the menu, sausage and chips,mackerel or cozido de couve (that means cabbage stew!). My wife had the mackerel and there were two on her plate, which came with a tomato salad, and I had the cozido, which was excellent. Yes - there was cabbage but also lots of assorted meats in it. We washed the meal down with a small jug of house red. Service was not speedy, not surprising when the kitchen is small and everything was being prepared individually.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 73manor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    145
    32
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Black Pork ~ local specialty!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

What a treat! "Black pork" is specially cooked lean pork from black pigs raised on natural food (someone told me they eat mostly acorns ... ???) Absolutely delicious. Small friendly restaurant ~ definitely try to grilled cheese and the exceptional tomato salad (garlic, olive oil, oregano) - it was great even in January! We ate here two days in a row - so good, didn't even want to try anywhere else.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SwimmerLor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent local food in a friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This small restaurant on the main street will give you a real taste of dining in the Portuguese manner. Dishes of the day are to be recommended and don't miss the garlic prawns! Service may not be speedy, but this is because your food is being cooked specially for you, so sit back and relax - a 'jarre' of the house wine is excellent value, in 1 or 1/2 litre jugs. The staff are very friendly (staying open to accommodate late arrivals in town) and their advice on the menu is most helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Carne de Porco a Alentejana and Black pork grilled”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Perfect place to eat the best food in Mertola, is a family business and tasty food providing the real taste and flavour of Alentejo. You will feel like you are in your home...I will recommend to everyone visit Mertola to stop in Tamuge. ...Well done to you all in Tamuge for your friendly welcome, wish you all the best and success.... Maria and Jamie ( we ate carne porco a alentejana and black pork grilled and drunk Licor beirao)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mariadc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I always go to this little restaurant, and although it was full, I was given a little seat next to the window overlooking the river. Bela the chef turns out fantastic authentic portuguese food from the tiniest of kitchens. Edwardo the owners son speaks excellent english and is really helpful nothing is too much for him. It is also very popular with the portuguese which is always a good sign. Food for two, wine excellent price at around 23 euros, never fails me. Keep up the excellent work and of course Food

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gwenllian49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CasadePasto Cafetaria Tamuje also viewed

Mertola, Beja District
Mertola, Beja District
 
Mertola, Beja District
 
Mertola, Beja District
 

Been to CasadePasto Cafetaria Tamuje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing