We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, beautiful view, wonderful service!”

Restaurant Terra Utopica
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Mertola
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Madrid
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, beautiful view, wonderful service!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our family of four with two children dined at this restaurant on a hot mid-August night. The view from the restaurant terrace from hill was beautiful. Service was very good, the waitress was very courteous, helpful and was moving quickly up and down the stairs to serve all the guests. And the food was great. Kids split a tender steak with rice, my wife had the jambalaya and I had the shrimp curry pasta. Both of these unique dishes were delicious and it was really nice to get a taste of more original dishes which was completely unexpected being in a small town in the middle of Portugal.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chungo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    61
    15
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss Terra Utopica while you are in Mertola!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Dine out on the wonderful roof-top terrace with amazing views over the river or in the 'Aladdin's cave' of the main restaurant, where the art and antiques create a unique ambience. The food is outstanding, both local Portuguese specialities and a contrasting range of Mediterranean and international dishes. Everything is superbly cooked and beautifully served! A good wine list complements the cuisine. Most of all the service is friendly and personal; the staff clearly delight in creating this unique experience for you to enjoy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food in Portugal”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Arrived just as they opened which is around 7.30pm. Was welcomed by lovely young lady and sat downstairs which was cooler as it was 38c outside. Fab menu, amazing food and great service. Absolutely recommend! Great value for money too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food, eclectic decor, good service, great view”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

One of the best meals we had in Portugal. Delicious food that we still talk about, a wide range of choices and a variety from the typical Portuguese fare. Great decor inside, wonderful view outside, and good service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tchira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A superb venue for lunch”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We happened upon this restaurant almost as we were leaving the old town. There are other newer restaurants outside the old city walls but this one is rather special. The views from the rooftop terrace survey the whole of the river. We were the only people eating on this terrace and it felt like our own little dining room. The food was very tasteful and home cooked with the parents of the house doing the cooking. We had a bruschetta starter which was incredibly fresh and setup the rest of the meal. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Mertola.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Terra Utopica also viewed

 
Mertola, Beja District
Mertola, Beja District
 
Mertola, Beja District
 

Been to Restaurant Terra Utopica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing