We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss Terra Utopica while you are in Mertola!”

Restaurant Terra Utopica
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Mertola
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss Terra Utopica while you are in Mertola!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Dine out on the wonderful roof-top terrace with amazing views over the river or in the 'Aladdin's cave' of the main restaurant, where the art and antiques create a unique ambience. The food is outstanding, both local Portuguese specialities and a contrasting range of Mediterranean and international dishes. Everything is superbly cooked and beautifully served! A good wine list complements the cuisine. Most of all the service is friendly and personal; the staff clearly delight in creating this unique experience for you to enjoy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    59
    14
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food in Portugal”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Arrived just as they opened which is around 7.30pm. Was welcomed by lovely young lady and sat downstairs which was cooler as it was 38c outside. Fab menu, amazing food and great service. Absolutely recommend! Great value for money too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food, eclectic decor, good service, great view”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

One of the best meals we had in Portugal. Delicious food that we still talk about, a wide range of choices and a variety from the typical Portuguese fare. Great decor inside, wonderful view outside, and good service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tchira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A superb venue for lunch”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We happened upon this restaurant almost as we were leaving the old town. There are other newer restaurants outside the old city walls but this one is rather special. The views from the rooftop terrace survey the whole of the river. We were the only people eating on this terrace and it felt like our own little dining room. The food was very tasteful and home cooked with the parents of the house doing the cooking. We had a bruschetta starter which was incredibly fresh and setup the rest of the meal. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Mertola.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monchique, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We were so happy to find this wonderful restaurant ...”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

... it was Winter - November 25th 2012 and a warm fire burned in the corner while we were served delicious food by a very friendly young girl.( even my 'vegetarian' needs were catered for)
A very pleasant evening and a reason to return to Mertola!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Terra Utopica also viewed

 
Mertola, Beja District
Mertola, Beja District
 
Mertola, Beja District
 

Been to Restaurant Terra Utopica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing