We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L'Escale
Nearby Hotels
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Manoir De Bellerive(Le Buisson-de-Cadouin)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau de Monrecour(Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse)(Great Value!)
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge de la Petite-Reine(Siorac-en-Perigord)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Chambellan(Coux-et-Bigaroque)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vezere Lodge(Le Bugue)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
22
24
12
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
24
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverperfect hostsfantastic viewspizzathe location is perfectlarge supermarketchrisdordognevillagesontvrestauranteurosweddingcanoeingmenutaxi
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 59 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed here for 2 weeks and didn't want to leave. The studio had everything you could want including a large comfortable bed!! Every morning we took our coffe down to the river, 100 yds away, and could have stayed there all day watching the herons. little egrets, king fishers, fishermen and the fish jumping. They say location is everything and apart from the river, L'Escale is perfect for visiting all the tourist spots and for finding those wonderful little places not advertised. Meryl, Chris, LLoyd & Eden were perfect hosts happy to help with tips and suggestions and always had time to talk. The hot rocks in the restaurant were fabulous and you could not beat that view! Thank you for a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carryoncycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Really is right next to the river, we spent 2 hours swimming in it after a long HOT day. Breakfast was good value. Dinner was just OK, if I was you I'd skip it and drive somewhere and get much better value for money. Room was fine, although the shower alternated hot and cold repeatedly. Beds were oddly soft but OK. Not really a B&B, so many rooms it would be better described as a motel/hotel. Would stay there again if we were in the area because its not too expensive and in a good location in amongst many of the best sights around.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin-T64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Stayed here for a week as part of a touring holiday in France. Would have happily stayed for longer. Wonderful hosts, a beautiful river on your doorstep,a central location to explore the area. A large supermarket is a 5 minute walk away.The large room is basically furnished but clean, and cool in hot weather. The terrace outside our room overlooked a pretty garden, and we spent many an evening with a glass of wine watching the sun go down over the river.
We ate several times in the terrace grill and the food was well presented and very tasty. The service is personal and the hosts are very helpful in making suggestions for things to do and places to visit. One of the most relaxing weeks we have ever spent!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed here for a week. Great location for touring around the area - very central. Rooms a good size, simple but clean and well appointed. Hosts fantastic - good with tips about where to go, always there with a smile and a suggestion. Ate at the auberge, and really loved the peaceful terrace overlooking the Dordogne River. Big supermarket within 5 minutes walk, and all other necessary shops. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Wonderful B&B with wonderful English speaking hosts. We stayed in the studio apartment and popped upstairs for the "Hot Stone" speciality, where you cook your steak on a volcanic rock – very tasty. The wine was excellent and desserts were a sinful experience.

Walnut trees, fantastic views, canoeing were enjoyed by all. I really recommend this B&B for good value and fantastic service.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews