We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about it!”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved everything about it!”
Reviewed December 4, 2010

We recently stayed at the twelve for 2 nights and we loved it. Staff are well trained, very friendly, professional without being intrusive. We had a gorgeous room with voya products in the bathroom and proper coffee in the sitting room area!.

We ate in the main restaurant West on both nights and the food & service was excellent especially Mathieu who accommodated us with a booth on the second night. There is a great vibe about this hotel, only about 10 mins drive from Galway and has a lovely bakery attached to the hotel where you can buy products to take home if you wish.

Would highly receommend and would definately go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovedup-kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,175
    368
    105
    38
    14
See reviews for
347
959
22
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Very nice rooms, helpful and pleasant staff in reception and in restaurant. Great location to access coastal walks. Would recommend and would happily stay here again

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west of ireland
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We stayed at the Twelve Hotel recently and I have to say this was one of the best if not the best hotel experiences ever. From the moment we arrived you could get the genuine friendly vibes from the staff, a simple smile or exchange of hello's means so much.
We were there for a special occasion and this had not gone unnoticed at the time of booking, we were upgraded to a luxury suite which is the last word in luxury and sofistication, beautiful furnishings, plasma tv's a wet bar with fully stocked fridge, real coffee and coffee maker, a beautiful welcome card and a plate of yummy chocs, dipped strawberries and shortcake. The bed was soooo comfy. We ordered room service which arrived promptly and the presentation was WOW! Lovely sandwiches for grown ups and chips etc... We had a great nights sleep and woke up to snow the next morning which was lovely, We had breakfast downstairs which was delicious, we had a choice of juices, cereals, pastries, scones etc... but breakfast was cooked fresh to order, i had eggs benedict and i have to say they were the best poached eggs i have ever been served, they were perfect. My other half opted for the farmers omlette which smelt divine and was very substantial. We then spent the day walking in salthill and shopping in Galway. We also visited the christmas market which is very nice and makes a change. Its well worth a visit.
We returned in the evening and had some drinks in the bar beside a blazing fire. The bar was busy with locals and residents popping in and out.
The highlight of the evening was our dinner in the West it was excellent. An extensive menu of fresh and locally sourced ingredients we were spoilt for choice. Their wine list is very good too. We were given a glass of champagne on arrival at the restaurant which went down a treat. This was the best meal I have had in a hotel restaurant. It was simply superb, from the presentation to the taste to the service. Well done to all involved.
Our stay was perfect, the staff are well trained and very professional but not in an arrogant or unfriendly manner.
We had a lovely stay and we look forward to returning soon.

N.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrygirl147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Every member of the staff at the Twelve Hotel did everything possible to make our 5 night stay the most amazing vacation.
We are all experienced travelers, and can say that we have never stayed anywhere that every member of staff- from front desk, to restaurant and night manager - did everything they possible could to make us not only comfortable, but to exceed any of our expectations for customer service.
It was apparent that all staff are extremely well trained in "going the extra mile" . We had travelled from the United states- they even managed to prepare a Thanksgiving dinner on Thanksgiving Day, and to stream an college American football game for us right into the small hours.

WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianTrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I loved this hotel - fell in love online and booked to stay in one of their Suites. I have to say first off I was not impressed by viewing a room online stated X and then getting to the hotel and going to a room which was depicted online as X but was not that room. Very misleading and dissapointing. The Suite we stayed in was pretty perfect - loved the nice touch of personal note and treats on arrival at the hotel. Loved all the mod cons in the room - iPod Sound System in particular and also the Plasma Screens had DVD Players too :) The location was a little off putting but it was the hotel that sold it for me - it was an ideal stay for myself and my partner for what we were looking for. Thanks to all the wonderful staff and well done on creating a great hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBotDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Just back from the Twelve, we spent the weekend there, what a beautiful hotel.. and the food.. where do I start..the West restaurant is amazing..hand on heart..one of the best meals I've ever had.. and the service was excellent..the bakery is great.. brought back loads of goodies..we will be back

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obcabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randalstown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

This is without doubt one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. We stayed 31/10 2010 for 2 nights bed and breakfast with 1 evening meal. The main attraction for us at the time of booking was the fact the hotel was pet friendly which allowed us to take our 5 month old Old English Sheepdog puppy with us. On arrival there was a handwritten card welcoming us to the hotel with a beautiful bun and 2 chocolate dipped strawberries, a real nice touch. It didnt end there as there was also a puppy pack for Oscar which consisted of a stainless steel water and food bowl, treats a toy and some 'poo' bags.
The Room we stayed in was superb!!! Very spacious open plan with a living area of 2 four seater sofas, flat screen tv/dvd combi, a unit which consisted of a microwave, fridge and a sink. The room was beautiful decorated throughout with stunning fixtures and fittings.
The hotel is well located in the beautiful village of Barna which has all the amenities anyone could ever require and is only a 10 minute drive from Galway city.
My only gripe about my time at The Twelve is that the weather was very wet, but we are already looking forward to our next visit which I can assure you will not be very long

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jachep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,121 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
344 reviews
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,919 reviews
2.7 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,506 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Property: The Twelve Hotel
Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing