We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, excellent service”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Just back from the Twelve, we spent the weekend there, what a beautiful hotel.. and the food.. where do I start..the West restaurant is amazing..hand on heart..one of the best meals I've ever had.. and the service was excellent..the bakery is great.. brought back loads of goodies..we will be back

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obcabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,544 - 1,550 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2010

This is without doubt one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. We stayed 31/10 2010 for 2 nights bed and breakfast with 1 evening meal. The main attraction for us at the time of booking was the fact the hotel was pet friendly which allowed us to take our 5 month old Old English Sheepdog puppy with us. On arrival there was a handwritten card welcoming us to the hotel with a beautiful bun and 2 chocolate dipped strawberries, a real nice touch. It didnt end there as there was also a puppy pack for Oscar which consisted of a stainless steel water and food bowl, treats a toy and some 'poo' bags.
The Room we stayed in was superb!!! Very spacious open plan with a living area of 2 four seater sofas, flat screen tv/dvd combi, a unit which consisted of a microwave, fridge and a sink. The room was beautiful decorated throughout with stunning fixtures and fittings.
The hotel is well located in the beautiful village of Barna which has all the amenities anyone could ever require and is only a 10 minute drive from Galway city.
My only gripe about my time at The Twelve is that the weather was very wet, but we are already looking forward to our next visit which I can assure you will not be very long

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jachep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

From our feet touched The Twelve Hotels entrance we knew this was to be a stay to remember! Our welcoming by Anna on reception was both friendly & professional with a touch of sparkle with refreshment on arrival! To add to our experience we were upgraded to the X11 suite which is heaven on earth, the decor is outstanding and really made our stay that much more special as we were celebrating!! The lovely Connor showed is to our room, and carried my bags (added bonus, I don't pack light) and the room left us both speechless! The suite had a Jacuzzi, double shower, 2 plasma screens. Gas fire, lounge area & massive bed. Bubbly , truffles, strawberries & a hand written card awaited us in the room on arrival, the personal touches in this hotel are outstanding !!!! Ideal room for a proposal & romance gents if anyone is planning a special question!!! Breakfast was great, delivered to your table with choices of a range of options from fresh pastries, maple syrup pancakes & Eggs Benedict rather than the regular greasy fry up! We ate in both the Bar & The West, both outstanding in taste, presentation & luxury! This hotel is really good value for the experience you receive & the memories you walk away with, we loved every aspect of this hotel! Couldn't fault anything, the staff @ The Twelve are fantastic, smiles everywhere, friendly hellos and no task too big or small. We loved it and are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkladyKerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We went here on our 1st wedding anniversary and Fergus and his staff made this a great stay that we will always remember.
From as soon as we arrived they arranged excellent tourist advice and maps etc we would need, when entering our room we had a handwritten card and some tasty chocolates a lovely bed and a nice LCD. Room was very modern/contemporary and bathroom had good products I was informed.
We also ate dinner in their restaurant and despite arriving much later than our schedhuled time they were very hospitable. The dinner was also amazing and we would recommend the West Restaurant to anyone going to Galway.
Finally once we checked out they allowed us to come back and use their showering facilities after our windsurfing(highly recommend this), this is the type of hotel that still cares about looking after their customer to the best they can and go that extra mile for u. The only one dissapointing aspect was that they had no gym/spa/pool facilities. On this particular trip we didn't need these but some people may wish this. They can arrange for some treatments to be done in your room.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasandKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

The hotel was so much better than we expected, the rooms where quiet and clean with a nice gift on arrival. The food is top class from the evening meal to the breakfast with freshly baked goods, its the first time we have completely finished a 3 course meal and struggled to eat all the full cooked breakfast.

The staff are very friendly and willing to answer any queries you may have, and the bathroom products where of a high quality, and i must say the mood lighting in the bathroom was awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I am just back from a long weeekend at the Twelve and had a great time. The staff could not do enough for us - especially Colm. They even knew us by name. Food was fab. Music and atmosphere in the bar was great. Rooms were lovely. Overall I would thouroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiseIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I visited the Twelve Hotel for a night away with a group. Had an easy to resolve issue with accomodation when I was there and on complaint was treated very poorly by staff from start to finish. I subsequently contacted the hotel manager on my return home who avoided my contact and was then totally obnoxious when I eventually reached him. While the hotel is nice, the stay was a complete let down. There are plenty of nicer hotels in Galway and across Ireland that actually want you to enjoy your stay. Not worth the trip.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Holiday2082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepins12, General Manager at The Twelve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2010

Dear Holiday 2082,
We are most disappointed you still feel this way. It is most unfortunate that the hotel has been put in the middle of this situation which was entirely beyond our control. It is our responsibility to honour a group booking and the organiser's requests and once again, I can only apologise that these did not meet your requirements.

Sincerely,
Fergus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,912 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,451 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,237 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range: $138 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Ireland's Hotel of The Year 2018'. The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing