We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!!!!”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back!!!!”
Reviewed November 1, 2010

From our feet touched The Twelve Hotels entrance we knew this was to be a stay to remember! Our welcoming by Anna on reception was both friendly & professional with a touch of sparkle with refreshment on arrival! To add to our experience we were upgraded to the X11 suite which is heaven on earth, the decor is outstanding and really made our stay that much more special as we were celebrating!! The lovely Connor showed is to our room, and carried my bags (added bonus, I don't pack light) and the room left us both speechless! The suite had a Jacuzzi, double shower, 2 plasma screens. Gas fire, lounge area & massive bed. Bubbly , truffles, strawberries & a hand written card awaited us in the room on arrival, the personal touches in this hotel are outstanding !!!! Ideal room for a proposal & romance gents if anyone is planning a special question!!! Breakfast was great, delivered to your table with choices of a range of options from fresh pastries, maple syrup pancakes & Eggs Benedict rather than the regular greasy fry up! We ate in both the Bar & The West, both outstanding in taste, presentation & luxury! This hotel is really good value for the experience you receive & the memories you walk away with, we loved every aspect of this hotel! Couldn't fault anything, the staff @ The Twelve are fantastic, smiles everywhere, friendly hellos and no task too big or small. We loved it and are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkladyKerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,149
    363
    103
    38
    14
See reviews for
335
940
22
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We went here on our 1st wedding anniversary and Fergus and his staff made this a great stay that we will always remember.
From as soon as we arrived they arranged excellent tourist advice and maps etc we would need, when entering our room we had a handwritten card and some tasty chocolates a lovely bed and a nice LCD. Room was very modern/contemporary and bathroom had good products I was informed.
We also ate dinner in their restaurant and despite arriving much later than our schedhuled time they were very hospitable. The dinner was also amazing and we would recommend the West Restaurant to anyone going to Galway.
Finally once we checked out they allowed us to come back and use their showering facilities after our windsurfing(highly recommend this), this is the type of hotel that still cares about looking after their customer to the best they can and go that extra mile for u. The only one dissapointing aspect was that they had no gym/spa/pool facilities. On this particular trip we didn't need these but some people may wish this. They can arrange for some treatments to be done in your room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasandKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

The hotel was so much better than we expected, the rooms where quiet and clean with a nice gift on arrival. The food is top class from the evening meal to the breakfast with freshly baked goods, its the first time we have completely finished a 3 course meal and struggled to eat all the full cooked breakfast.

The staff are very friendly and willing to answer any queries you may have, and the bathroom products where of a high quality, and i must say the mood lighting in the bathroom was awesome.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I am just back from a long weeekend at the Twelve and had a great time. The staff could not do enough for us - especially Colm. They even knew us by name. Food was fab. Music and atmosphere in the bar was great. Rooms were lovely. Overall I would thouroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiseIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I visited the Twelve Hotel for a night away with a group. Had an easy to resolve issue with accomodation when I was there and on complaint was treated very poorly by staff from start to finish. I subsequently contacted the hotel manager on my return home who avoided my contact and was then totally obnoxious when I eventually reached him. While the hotel is nice, the stay was a complete let down. There are plenty of nicer hotels in Galway and across Ireland that actually want you to enjoy your stay. Not worth the trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Holiday2082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepins12, General Manager at The Twelve Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Dear Holiday 2082,
We are most disappointed you still feel this way. It is most unfortunate that the hotel has been put in the middle of this situation which was entirely beyond our control. It is our responsibility to honour a group booking and the organiser's requests and once again, I can only apologise that these did not meet your requirements.

Sincerely,
Fergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Have just returned from a short stay in this hotel & it was fantastic. We were warmly greeted in reception & were given a free upgrade. On arrival to our room a hand-written welcome card & chocolate truffles awaited us. The room consisted of a large living & bedroom, both of which came with LCD tv's. We also had a breakfast bar & bathroom with shower only. The room itself was dark but this is due to the design. I found the bed quite comfortable. The hotel's main selling point are its staff. Each & every one were geniunely warm & friendly. We ate in the bar & my wife is still raving about her meal. We didnt venture into the bakery but it smelled fantastic. The hotel was easy to find & is about a 15min drive into the centre of Galway via Salthill. I cannot fault this hotel & am looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2010 and I can honestly say I have never been more disappointed with a hotel in my life. The first and most crucial point to make is that this hotel is right on the main Galway - Connemara road. It is not set back from the road in any way so if you have a room at the front of the hotel, you will hear every car, lorry and bus that passes on this very busy road. This hotel is not an idyllic, romantic Connemara hideaway by any stretch of the imagination.

We had booked a Marvellous Suite - marvellous only in name. A small room, a bit battered, with an adjoining sitting room, even more battered. I cannot fault the service in the hotel, as when we went down and enquired about the cancellation policy (we had phoned some other hotels in Galway to check availability as we were really unhappy with the hotel) the receptionist was brilliant and showed us an alternative room, and assured us that if we wanted to leave, there would be no charge. We decided to stay in a Luxury Suite that was at the side of the hotel, but in hind sight, we would have been better off moving hotel completely.

There is no spa in this hotel - you can choose to have a treatment in your room - not exactly the same thing.

If you are looking for a quiet, romantic hotel, this is not the place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zxcvbnmnbvcxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwelveHotelGalway, General Manager at The Twelve Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Dear Dublin Couple,
As is evident, we do not normally respond to Trip Advisor reviews as we believe savy travellers will make up their own minds. However, in this instance where it is implied you were mislead, it is important to address your comments. The Twelve is in the heart of Barna Village, which itself is 'The Gateway to Connemara' and just 10 minutes from Galway city. No-where does The Twelve claim to be a ''hideaway'' but quiet the opposite, The Twelve trives on being a buzzy, happening place in an urban ruralness.

The Twelve features two multi award winning restaurants and certainly does not have a ''spa''. We are not that type of hotel, but we do in-room Voya treatments and have a beautiful treatment room for these much sought after treatments.

Naturally, I am disappointed you did not find what you were looking for. Our goal is to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Fergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,000 reviews
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,718 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,834 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
301 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Property: The Twelve Hotel
Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing