We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for me” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not for me”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

We had high hopes for this hotel after it had been recommended to me by a friend.
Check in was ok and when we entered our room my daughter was delighted with what she found! We stayed in a Marvellous Suite, as we travelled with 2 children, one a baby. On first glance the room was nice, to me it looked like a standard room with abit of fancy wall paper on the walls. On closer inspection, and throughout our 2 night stay we noticed more things that didn't work/fit into place. First thing is, as stated in other Tripadvisor reviews, the rooms are very dark. There is one spot light in the room beside the door, and the rest of the lightening comes from lamps (one of which wasn't working). The lighting was even worse in the second room, again one spot light and 2 lamps.
The bathroom was nice, but the tap made a really loud sound when turned on and if you didn't put the pressure up enough, the water nearly didn't make it into the sink the way it was positioned. We were afraid to turn the tap on when the baby was asleep it was that loud! On the first day we ate in the bar for lunch - the service was very good, and the food was nice. That night we ate in the bar also, but this time the service was so slow. We ordered our food and drinks together, but approx 20 minutes later we still had not received our drinks. On asking we were told by a waitor that bar staff were very slow and he would look into our drinks. Finally our food came, closely followed by the drinks. The food was nice though!
The safe in our room wouldn't open, which we rang reception about and they said they would be up to look at it. We left after waiting 15 minutes as we were heading into Salt hill, but when we came back, someone had been in the room and left a plate of chocolates to welcome us (thank you, nice touch) but never opened the safe door for us. (also the instructions to use the safe are mostly peeled off it so you can't read it all, not that we got to use it).
Please note, they do not provide blankets for cots as they expect you to bring your own. Our child is 18 months which i informed the hotel when booking (so we weren't travelling with baby blankets etc). I had to ring reception to get additional covers, in which they provided a sheet. We were not informed when making our reservation that we needed to bring our own blankets.
The air conditioning did not work, the room was cold so when we increased the temperature nothing happened. After about 4 hours we just turned if off. We only did this on the last night so we did not inform reception, but to be honest we are not the type to be ringing complaining, we just expect these things to work. The last thing that really annoyed me about the room was in the connecting room where the children were was a big table, which was pushed up against a door, which led back out into the corridor. As the table was pushed right up against it, the door could not be used, therefore I presumed it to be locked. On the second day, on entering our room, I happened to push the handle of the door which led from the corridor into the childrens room and it opened! The door had not been locked even though it was an unused door that might even go unnoticed if you weren't paying too much attention to it - I felt sick thinking we were asleep in there all night, especially my children and anyone could have entered the room. Maybe its my fault for not checking at the beginning but this door is well blocked by a table and obviously not for use, I just presumed the door was not in use.

Anyways, good points of the hotel is the food, nice and reasonablely priced even if service was slow for evening dinner.
To me, the food is the only high point, the rooms are a let down in my opinion, lacking in attention to detail when lamps dont work, along with aircon and safe. Covers on beds very thin also, nothing like the luxury it makes you believe you will be receiving when you check out the website.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandTwiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    349
    102
    37
    14
See reviews for
315
911
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
galway Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

We had a customer evening at the Twelve and the night went really well. All the staff were very welcoming and everything was organised with the utmost professionalism. The food was excellent from the canapés to the chocolate fountain. G great venue that I wouldn't hesitate to reccomend

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

ALL of the staff at the Twelve Hotel, The West Restaurant, and The Pins Pub were superb!!! Appearance is deceiving upon entering the simple reception area. But wander beyond the desks to beautiful decor in every inch of the hotel. We were upgraded to a luxury suite that was gorgeous! A handwritten note welcoming us rested on the counter with delectable delights of chocolate dipped strawberries and cookies; terrycloth robes and slippers awaited us in the closet and the bathroom had gorgeous color-changing lights reflecting off of the many mirrored and polished surfaces. On our Wedding Day we decorated a lovely small conference room and the hotel staff adorned it with beautiful chandelier lamps, table coverings and lighted candles along the hallway floor as we entered the room. Our guests were kept comfortable in a reserved lounge area next to a lit fireplace while our photographer took us outside for photos. Our reception dinner in the West Restaurant was positively TOP NOTCH in every way imaginable!!! The servers never missed a beat; the food presentation was majestic and our palettes were not disappointed, every morsel was absolutely delectable!!! KUDO'S to every member of the staff! And thank you all for making our dream wedding come true and for assisting ourselves and all of our guests with travel plans despite the late night hour.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryandMichael2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

My friend had a wedding there recently so I stayed the night. The room was just gorgeous, they even had a little note and chocolates waiting which i thought it was a really nice touch. The food at the wedding was great also and the staff were really friendly. Its great if you were staying there for a reason but if I was in Galway again for a weekend I would think it was a bit far out of the city.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjwCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

Hi,
We have just stayed there and here are my views:

Room badly laid out for normal use. strange really that there were so many things they didnt get right when they obviously tried so hard

Lighting is so dark you can't see yourself in the mirrors.

Bathroom (shower - no bath) very very small. Door opens into it taking up most of room. Shower is nice and big. sink badly laid out - tap at end of large basin so water goes everywhere. Tacky coloured flashing lights over the toilet are the 'mood' lights.

Safe is on highest shelf so if you are not tall you wont be able to reach it. 4 hangers for a couple staying 3 nights

Plugs - none near mirror making it hard when drying hair. Large lamp in corner had a round prong plug when the socket is for square prong so couldnt use it

Bar takes up half the room in a room they say is for couples - total waste of space

Quilt couldnt be thinner and pillows the same leaving you cold. only 3 pillows in room so spouse had to use the cushions to give some height

Long table in room doesnt fit into alcove provided so your stuff falls down back of it

Restaurants - west was lovely. Pins nice at times but i did get some blue plaster in my seafood chowder so keep your eyes open! we tried o'gradys on the pier in barna and cant recommend it highly enough. nicest meal we had

Service - very good. staff very friendly

Parking is free which was good

One other thing - everything is '12' - the number to ring reception, the numbers the comments card go up to etc etc. overkill big time!

Overall - despite the above things we did enjoy our stay in barna

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowflake74Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

Myself & my husband stayed 1 Sat night in Feb for his birthday and it was just perfect. We were searching hotels in Galway last minute and couldn't find one that ticked all our boxes...until I found a great deal on the Twelve website. Looked fab online & had heard good reviews about it so we gave it a go. Definitely recommend it to anyone. Only a short 10min drive from Galway City centre. On arrival, the funky lift was a nice surprise. Checkin staff were very friendly & efficient. We left our bags as out room wasn't ready yet and we came back later on after a trip to the shops! When we got back to our room (We got a Magnificent Suite), there were lovely little chocolate dipped strawberries & hand made shortbread and truffles on a plate beside a hand written card...lovely touch! Bed was huge and sooooo comfortable! Bathroom was very sleek with mood lighting & luxury Voya toiletries. There was a stocked mini bar with nice beers reasonably priced,and there was a decent hairdryer (not one that is attached inside a drawer...a real hairdryer!). The room was perfect. We had dinner that night in the West Restaurant and it was the nicest restaurant experience we have had in a LONG time. We ordered a glass of champagne each (in a very funky glass) while we waited for our table. We got a lovely table on a semi-circular couch where we could sit beside eachother...which was very comfortable and quite romantic. Food was of a 5 star standard... very imaginative menu and delicious! Staff were very professional, not pretencious. Great wine list with fab glasses. Overall we loved the Twelve. It is clear that the Management really know what they are doing here and know what people expect these days from a 4 star hotel. I cannot fault the hotel (and I work in hospitality so I am quite fussy!) I have told all my friends & I can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights mid week. We got the strawberries dipped in chocolate as a little welcome treat...nice little touch!! :) Nice and relaxing. Very Friendly helpful staff.
Room was large in size, bright with natural daylight, fully air conditioned, Food in both bar and restaurant is amazing. Get to the bakery early if u enjoy freshly baked bread etc...yummy muffins!! Free wi-fi is very good! The television in our room wasn't working very well though, but overall we really enjoyed our stay in The Twelve and i would consider staying again some time in the future!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madirishmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.7 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,603 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Property: The Twelve Hotel
Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing