We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent especially the staff”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 17, 2010

This is a fab hotel.The staff are very helpful .We arrived on friday 15th to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday with his family in Galway and the lovely lady at reepttion upgraded us because of this.The hotel is lovely,the rooms are lovely and modern .We ate at the bistor that evenign which ws great.The staff were so helpful especially the gentleman who came to our room on friday with chocolates.The overnight manager on saturday night/sunday morning was especially commendable-he sorted out early breakfasts very early for us and despite being up all night ,was helpful and professional.We will stay again and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisycat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,725)
There are newer reviews for The Twelve Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,557 - 1,563 of 1,725 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2010

Stayed here for an xmas party. We had a fab time. Every single one of the rooms were clean, comfy. modern rooms. I would recommend staying here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

very modern, beautiful and clean, food delicious and friendly staff

I would recommend this hotel for stay for everybody

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarzenaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Stayed for one night at this quaint hotel just outside Galway. Staff were very welcoming and the hotel met our expectations. Didn't eat breakfast there but did enjoy a lovely meal in the restaurant downstairs. After the horiffic traffic getting into Galway, this hotel was a welcome oasis.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
Thank 1moretimetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

If you are considering a tri[p to Galway I can only recommend one place to stay as it is simply the most incredible hotel I have ever stayed in. It has a unique feel and the staff are superb and all vey professional. The rooms are of the highest standard and you will want your stay to go on and on. The food and wine are mind blowing and it is set in the most pictureseque village in Galway on the steps of the wilds of Connemara. all I can say is go there relax and experience Ireland at its best.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patters67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Great hotel, I loved its funkiness. Will def go back again, which is unusual for me as I normally prefer to try new places each time. The room was great, the bed was huge and comfy. The lights in the bathroom were a cool feature. We arrived late and the kitchen thankfully made us last minute pizzas - some of the tastiest I've ever had!! Would go back for those alone :-) The welcome card and goodies were well received too. Loved the small touches - like champagne glasses already in the room. Or the bottle opener..the handy little mirror...the robes etc.
Overall had a really great stay - check it out, you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We stayed at The Twelve in order to get together with our foodie friends in Galway. They had been raving so much about the restaurant -West - that we had to come down and see for ourselves. Thet were right. We had tried to book their Chef's table but we needed a larger party, so we choose from the a la carte menu. The food was amazing and great value.
But to the hotel itself - This is a beautiful place, very well dessigned and a little quirky IN A LOVLY WAY. From the moment we arrived we knew it was going to be special. The room had a massive cocktail bar, two tvs and beautiful wooden floors. At first, I wanted more heat in my room and it seemed to get colder. This was quickly corrected by the staff. (I had switched on air conditioning) -The controls could be more user friendly. This was however, my only little complaint over the two and a half days we stayed. In the afternoon, I had a fab seaweed bath which included scented candels and very apt mood lights in the bathroom. - A lovely idea and an inexpensive way to treat myself. Hubby enjoyed the atmosphere of the bar which was packed with locals watching Munster win again.

The food throughout was superb in the bar as was the breakfasts. Even when leaving we were touched by how lovely the staff were. Overall, a true gem with wonderful staff attention in a very relaxed way. We both loved this hotel and we will return at every opportunity.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,186 reviews
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,815 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,976 reviews
2.7 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,560 reviews
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range: $137 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing