We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish accomodation”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Stayed for one night at this quaint hotel just outside Galway. Staff were very welcoming and the hotel met our expectations. Didn't eat breakfast there but did enjoy a lovely meal in the restaurant downstairs. After the horiffic traffic getting into Galway, this hotel was a welcome oasis.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
Thank 1moretimetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,603 - 1,609 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2010

If you are considering a tri[p to Galway I can only recommend one place to stay as it is simply the most incredible hotel I have ever stayed in. It has a unique feel and the staff are superb and all vey professional. The rooms are of the highest standard and you will want your stay to go on and on. The food and wine are mind blowing and it is set in the most pictureseque village in Galway on the steps of the wilds of Connemara. all I can say is go there relax and experience Ireland at its best.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patters67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Great hotel, I loved its funkiness. Will def go back again, which is unusual for me as I normally prefer to try new places each time. The room was great, the bed was huge and comfy. The lights in the bathroom were a cool feature. We arrived late and the kitchen thankfully made us last minute pizzas - some of the tastiest I've ever had!! Would go back for those alone :-) The welcome card and goodies were well received too. Loved the small touches - like champagne glasses already in the room. Or the bottle opener..the handy little mirror...the robes etc.
Overall had a really great stay - check it out, you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We stayed at The Twelve in order to get together with our foodie friends in Galway. They had been raving so much about the restaurant -West - that we had to come down and see for ourselves. Thet were right. We had tried to book their Chef's table but we needed a larger party, so we choose from the a la carte menu. The food was amazing and great value.
But to the hotel itself - This is a beautiful place, very well dessigned and a little quirky IN A LOVLY WAY. From the moment we arrived we knew it was going to be special. The room had a massive cocktail bar, two tvs and beautiful wooden floors. At first, I wanted more heat in my room and it seemed to get colder. This was quickly corrected by the staff. (I had switched on air conditioning) -The controls could be more user friendly. This was however, my only little complaint over the two and a half days we stayed. In the afternoon, I had a fab seaweed bath which included scented candels and very apt mood lights in the bathroom. - A lovely idea and an inexpensive way to treat myself. Hubby enjoyed the atmosphere of the bar which was packed with locals watching Munster win again.

The food throughout was superb in the bar as was the breakfasts. Even when leaving we were touched by how lovely the staff were. Overall, a true gem with wonderful staff attention in a very relaxed way. We both loved this hotel and we will return at every opportunity.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

My wife and I spent a few nights here... taking advantage of the Summer of 69 special and got upgraded to a suite. Top notch layout, quiet rooms, great shower, nice TVs w/ DVD. Food at the Pins (bar) was great, but didn't get to eat at West since it was closed the nights we were there. However we can only imagine how good it would be based on the bar's food. Staff was nice and helpful, when needed.
Only improvement I would look for is Wi-Fi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RK_Allenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

This hotel has everything the leisure traveller is looking for, style, comfort, good food but above all the staff and management are superb. Connor the manager on duty is one of the best i have every come across, no task was too small for this man. He seemed to work morning, noon and night and in every department, he served me pints in the bar dinner in the restaurant , he changed a bulb in my room and checked me out on sunday morning and constantly in good form . Good staff like this are hard to find i have my own business and would love somebody like this on my team. on another note colm in the pinns bar was also excellent . The west restaurant was outstanding as was o gradys across the road . Will definately be back to the twelve

Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
Thank Gibsonst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

We decided to stay one night on route to Ballinahinch Castle and our stay was so perfect! We arrived to find that we had been upgraded to a beautiful suite with a huge sitting room and cocktail bar, so cool! All we kept saying to each other was what a shame we were only staying the one night....
We had the wonderful tapas in the bar which we had read about previously in the media and the service was friendly and very helpful.
We had a walk around Barna afterwards and had a lovely drink at the bar across the road. Very nice ladies clothes/shoe store up the road a little so check that out too (like I did!!)
We had arranged to eat at O Gradys on the Pier for dinner and that was as expected, super.
The bar at the Twelve was really buzzing when we got back and we eventually pulled ourselves away around midnight.
We had no problem with the noise in our room (as previously mentioned by another reviewer) and our room was facing the main road. We slept really well.
Breakfast was calm and well staffed. Wonderful food again.
The Twelve is simply superb and if I was to visit Galway again I would drive straight through and stay in Barna. There is not a hotel like it in the area and we will definitely be returning. Barna is charming and has everything you need.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paws2paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,877 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,306 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
2.7 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,681 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range: $121 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing