We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Arrived for business & foyer area decor is great especially liked the horse statute and the lighting. On arrival to the room had a hand written note welcoming me, a chocolate covered strawberry and biscuit. Great touch. My room was large with desk, chairs large mirror. Clean and decor again was good. The bathroom had changing coloured lights. Bed and pillows comfortable. We ate in the bar and my colleague dinner of fish was apparently very good. I am a vegetarian on a diet there was only one veg option and of course lots of pizzas which looked lovely but not suitable for my weight loss diet. Would like to see more vegetarian options. Service in bar area was slow, but staff friendly so didn't bother us to much. Breakfast was great. Would use again. Only downside was the wifi in the room and in part of the bar very weak which was annoying as needed it for work. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soliver1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

986 - 992 of 1,769 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

My partner and I spent the weekend in The Twelve and I couldn't fault a single thing. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with warmth and friendliness (and a very welcome hot punch). To our surprise we were upgraded to the Suite XII. Wow! What a suite. Massive and so comfortable. I've never slept in such a comfortable bed, with the most amazing pillows.

The restaurant downstairs was very well staffed, and the lighting and decor added to the relaxed atmosphere. Our waiter was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast in the morning (in the same area) was also impressive. Good choice and very tasty.

The location, to us, is perfect. Our intention was to see the coast and you don't have to travel far to get there. It's also not far to drive in to Galway city. The best of both worlds.

All in all we were really impressed with the hotel and the staff. Many thanks too for the personal cards I had asked for (it was a special weekend for us) and the fabulous surprise of the bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room. It's these touches that make you feel important and cared for.

I would highly recommend this hotel. Worth every cent.




  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_Cait_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were a party of 17 and just spend a weekend at the Twelve. We were treated so well, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The food was really good and the breakfast was huge and varied. Beautiful scenery and pubs around. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplesnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just back from a blissful one night stay in the Twelve. The hotel is 10 mins outside the city, perfect of you are happy to drive in and out. We were greeted with a lovely glass of hot punch on arrival - off to a good start! We stayed in one of the luxury suites and loved it. The room had its own bar - it really is more novely than utility but we enjoyed the unique feel it brought to the room. As it was a birthday stay the hotel suprised us with some customised treats from the bakery and a lovely handwritten card - these simple touches make all the difference. The shower was heaven, even my OH said he did not want to get out and the mood lighting in the bathroom ads a spa like feel to your shower! Breakfast was lovely and again attention to detail here with the manager greeting all tables - nice touch. Finally on check out we were given a token for a free tea/coffee in the bakery next door. We popped in there but were so full after breakfast that we couldnt even fit a coffee. They kindly gave us bottled water for the journey home instead. Well done The Twleve on maintaining a unique feel and high standards where others seem to be falling down recently.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tippitchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Spent a lovely family occasion in The Twelve. Father took a bad turn and had to be removed by ambulance - staff very kind, understanding and helpful. The staff on late duty even prepared fresh sandwiches for my parents when they returned to the hotel at 3am.
Dinner in The West restaurant was very good and we opted for wine pairing to match each dish ordered. A great idea. Breakfast was good too, though the staff were a little slow to clear used delph etc.from our table of 9! Big selection and helpings.
Room was delightful with very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel. We had stayed here a few years ago and loved it so were delighted to return. Last visit we stayed was in summer time. That time we had a standard room and went for dinner in nearby O'Gradys which is also well worth a visit. The rooms are spacious with lovely bathrooms and the bath products are particularly nice.
This time we went for New years eve, opted for the funnymoon suite and had dinner in the hotel restaurant West.
The staff are great and little touches make the place very welcoming. We were greated with a glass of mulled wine and the treats in the room are lovely. When we asked they also gave us a late check out at no extra cost.
The room was spotless, nicely decorated and had plenty of space. I loved the sitting area and bar closet thing.
The bad points about the room are the strange frosted glass panels in the door that let the light from the hallway in all night and the fact that the busy road outside means it would be too noisy to have the window open.
Compared to our last visit the hotel could do a touch of paint here & there and there is the odd sign of wear and tear. The carpet on the stairs could really do with being replaced but it's not bad enough to turn me off staying again.
The atmosphere around the hotel was friendly and cosy....a lovely escape from the bad weather. The meal in West was delicious and service was great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting connemara or galway city if you don't mind driving/taxis. I would love to stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank EE2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

The twelve hotel in Barna is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Big rooms. Great service and fantastic food. Freshly made breakfast with great choice. Only got to stay one night but will be going back again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eilabros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,882 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,308 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,220 reviews
2.7 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range: $121 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing