We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at The Twelve”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here as a family earlier this month and had 4 rooms booked here. We had really nice and spacious rooms- we even had a bar and a sitting area in our room! Rooms were clean, but the lighting could have been a little brighter. The bar and restaurant downstairs were great! Breakfast was included in the rate, so we enjoyed that every morning. The bar was open late and had a lot to offer. It's about a 10-15 minute drive to Galway, so don't book this hotel if you are expecting walking distance to town. We found several great restaurants right across the street. Great boutique hotel and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,108 - 1,114 of 1,805 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

honestly, I could find nothing to fault...well, other than the lighting, which could have been a little brighter. the room was great, the food was terrific, and the service was kind and attentive. the reception with a refreshing cup of iced tea set the tone for a wonderful stay. traditional music on Friday night, too. great hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Twelve Hotel. Our room was big and airy with a juliet balcony. Mood lighting was very dim and we battled to find our room in the dark passages - the room too, was under-lit for reading but otherwise could not fault it. We had a first floor room on the car park and above the kitchen- we were woken early with food delivery trucks outside so recommend you avoid these rooms if possible. Food was excellent and service friendly. We would definitely stay here again- its an easy drive back to Galway but away from the crowds.

Room Tip: Don't take a room above kitchen if you want to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zanne_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

we have just returned from staying here for 3 nights. There was no wow factor upon first arriving. Our first impression was not great, although dot not be put off by the outside seating area...but it does not a typical layout, hence perhaps the "boutique". When we arrived at reception, we greeted warmly and offered a lovely iced tea (nice touch) but that was it. we were quickly checked in and told our room was on second floor. There was no conversation about the facilities of the hotel, what was where ie the general layout, what was in the area, nothing. we had to ask where the restaurant was and we were pointed in the general direction if the bar. we went to our room, which on first seeing it was nice, nothing special and I have to say having stayed in upgraded rooms and superior rooms and suites in other hotels it did not overly impress. we left our bags and went down to find the bar area, as there was nothing else really there.. Petite spa? didn't find it...West restaurant? closed sun-tues...which was really disappointing seeing as there are only 3 other restaurants to eat in in the area. as we walked through the bar, I have to say the most pleasant barman, infact the most pleasant member of staff we met during our stay obviously saw we were lost/new and took the time to talk to us about what was on offer both in the bar/dining within the hotel as well as giving us some tips about the local area. Thank you, think his name was zloft or something.
Now the food in the hotel was excellent. There was the best range offered for breakfast we have ever had I believe. We ate on evening in the bar and were not disappointed. The wine selection and beer selection was outstanding, and we did sample quite a range during our stay. What let this hotel down, in our experience was the room, and rooms service.
The room..."luxury suite"...yes a large bedroom area and a seating area with a novel bar, but the bar didn't have any ice making facilities, which I thought strange and only had ice available from the main bar. The bed was fantastic, large and comfortable. The tv was ok. although the website listed a dvd collection available, I neither saw one or offered one
.The bathroom was the most disappointing. this was not luxury standard at all. it was small to be classed as a suite bathroom and there was nothing spectacular about it. The shower/bath was a challenge to shower in, very tight indeed, and there was no way either my wife or I were going to attempt to have a bath as it was going to be a tight squeeze also. Bath robes were probably the most pathetic "robes" we have had in any hotel never mind having paid for a luxury suite. They were of a poor quality, mine was well past its use by date and they were so ill fitting that we could not have answered the door to anyone while wearing them. They would have fitted our 12 year old son better.
What made our stay more disappointing was the lack of room service. On our second day the room was not serviced until near 5pm. on our third day it was not serviced at all, and I had to go asking for towels and toilet roll at around 6pm....in a four star hotel! I was offered to have the room cleaned but by this stage my wife and I had already made the bed etc...someone did then leave up toilet roll but only two bath towels and didn't even remove the used ones.
overall I would have to say that this was an ok hotel experience. it didn't wow us as much I was thought we would be from viewing the website, It most definitely did not live up to our expectations as a top 4 star luxury boutique hotel. Food and drink selection, yes was brilliant. Bar area very nice indeed. Breakfast, yes was superb. Other facilities, there were none. no general comfortable sitting area apart from the corner area of the bar. But we felt very let down by the room indeed. Pity.. could have done better...wish it had...

Room Tip: ask for one which does not over look the road, and ask for one with a bath and shower separate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephentwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Barna was village that is now effectively a suburb of Galway city but still has a charming small harbour. The city centre is about 15 minutes drive and Barna is a good base for exploring Connemara. The Twelve was originally called the Twelve Pins (after Connemara's little mountain range) and was renamed when remodeled as a boutique hotel. My wife and I stayed there for a weekend and just didn't want to leave! When checking-in (at a proper desk not a counter) we were given complimentary glasses of iced tea then proceeded via the quirky padded leather lift and deep-pile carpeted, dimly lit corridors to our stylishly designed room. Everything just managed to induce a feeling of relaxation, like a welcoming hand-written message and complimentary cakes from the in-house bakery. There were all the usual facilities one would expect from a hotel of this class including bathrobes and slippers, a safe, air conditioning and an ironing board, and some more unexpected like a filter machine with real coffee and mood lighting in the en suite. The en suite itself was a good size with an excellent shower. The king-size bed was luxuriously comfortable. It seems almost churlish to mention that the room decor did look a bit tired. The sliding wardrobe door stuck and the television channel selection was erratic. We sampled the first-rate West Restaurant (Wed-Sat only) and liked the look of the "casual dining" menu in the busy Pins Bar which includes pizzas from the in-house pizzeria but succumbed to the lure of two other restaurants of repute within short walking-distance. Breakfast was served in the bar with the cooked dishes being served to the table. These included some less common choices such as eggs benedict, Welsh rarebit and corn beef hash, all delicious. Very authentic tasting croissants. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. There is ample parking space. And a last thoughtful touch, on checking out we were given free vouchers for a take-away coffee from the bakery for our journey. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our room was absolutely huge. Ultra-modern TV, iPod station, DVD player. The bathroom was large with a two person shower and double sinks. The downside - heavy mildew odor in the padded elevator and hallway. We arrived 5 minutes til 8:00 for breakfast and were sent away as the breakfast room was not ready.

Room Tip: The funnymoon room was fun as they label their guest rooms with a quirky-fun name.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank island-sun-lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a second time over the weekend. Our first stay was amazing and we were upgraded to a luxury suite. Our first stay I would've rated all 5s and that's why we decided to come again.
Our room this time was on the first floor facing the road and with a nice balcony. Our first impressions of the room were good however at a closer look it looked a bit worn. Wallpaper had been scuffed in different places, the bathroom wasn't very clean with dust on the lamps and the bottom of the toilet was black. The room didn't seem to have as good a finish as the luxury suite we stayed in.
A couple of other reviews have mentioned not to get a room facing the road and this I would have to agree with. My partner and I had a terrible nights sleep from the noise of the road. It sounded as if there was a draft coming in from somewhere but I couldn't locate it.
There were positives from our stay, the food was amazing and I can't fault the service the staff gave us. They were very friendly. The food was really good value and worth every penny. I'd come here again just for the food!
We will come back here again but we will ask for a room away from the road or even upgrade to a luxury suite.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,934 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,519 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,253 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd. | Galway, Ireland, Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range: $138 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Ireland's Hotel of The Year 2018'. The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing