We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of convenience for travelers”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here three nights while on a group tour through Ireland. The rooms are dimly lit, including "mood" lighting in the bathroom. There is minimal counter space in the bathroom and in the room itself, and the single available outlet was difficult to reach behind the television. We did have quiet, comfortable sleeps but others in our group, whose rooms fronted the road, were bothered by traffic noise. On the positive side, the staff were very helpful and the restaurant was excellent, including an on-site pizza shop. There's a convenience/grocery story close by and the bay is just a block away.

Room Tip: Rooms along the front road have a balcony and a view but also have traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drspoon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepins12, Owner at The Twelve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear drspoon,
Thank you for reviewing our staff team, Pizza Dozzina and our overall restaurant food so positively. We are disappointed however by your other comments. It is obvious that our design does not suit a group such as yours and this is something that will have to be considered for the future. During your groups stay our team was most accommodating with your group in showing how to: use European door handles, how to use key cards, how to set alarm clocks, how to use bath tub mixer taps, how to connect to wi fi and furthermore, we supplied endless plug adapters at no charge.

There are multiply sockets in the rooms - 4 at the area you mentioned, 2 floor sockets and 2 at each bedside. This would normally be considered extravagant . We provide every 'convenience for every type of traveller'..

I am sorry that I have had to take issue with your review here. But fair is fair.
Most faithfully,
Fergus and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was travelling with 3 other friends from London (all mothers wanting a break!). From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful. The decor I would describe as quirky and there were a couple of very minor niggles with the rooms but being someone who travels extensively these were really minor issues, the rooms were clean and the beds were confortable. The overriding memory was the great attitude of the staff from the reception, restaurant and bar. This is a hotel where you can arrive back from a great day/evening and kick off your shoes and curl up in the comfortable sofas in the bar. If I were to visit Galway again I would certainly stay here again and recommend this to friends for a short stay.

Room Tip: It should be noted this is a 20 euro taxi ride away from Galway but a much quieter spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CressLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I've only eaten in the bar here so I cannot comment on the rooms.

The food here is excellent!

I do a lot of worldwide travel & this is one of the best bar food places I've come across. The menu is imaginative, uses a lot of local food which I like & I think is important & most of all the food tastes great.

The attention to detail is brilliant, and the service is first class. All staff are very welcoming & friendly. The bar is very child friendly too.

Try a pizza. They're the best..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I went there in feb with a large group-and the staff made us feel very welcome And nothing was ever too much. The rooms, the food, the bar-everything was so great.it's no wonder anyone that goes there-wants to return!!! Highly recommended it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here based on the reviews. Rooms are fine but various problems. Curtains don't completely close allowing sunlight in morning, overlooking loud parking lot, hot water in shower did not work first morning, no bottled water provided in room and unreliable WiFi. Only positive was the food was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spring201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here as a first anniversary treat. It was fabulous. The decor of the whole hotel is really lovely. We had a great room with a balcony. We ate in the bar on the first night, and in the restaurant the second night. Both were excellent-I could not fault the food and service. I had a lovely massage, while my husband had a seaweed bath. It was such an enjoyable, relaxing weekend. I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Twelve Hotel didn't get our maximum score. Although staff was friendly & attentive we weren't so excited. Nothing was really bad and I openly admit that after many nights in similar hotels you start to compare and remember what others are doing well.

What comes to the style the hotel uses a very special mix of interior. Rooms, corridors and furniture are very dark and it makes you a bit depressed. Darkness is almost everywhere. This hotel would soon need a refreshment.

The hotel is missing a nice and quiet relaxing guest area in and outside. Outside you either sit on benches next to the street or next to the parking lots (it seems to be a habit to let motors running for 15 minutes or more and guests sitting on the chairs have to inhale all the Diesel smell) or inside in the also dark and not very cozy lobby area or in the loud bar.

Modern 4 or 5 star usually take care of the smell in the hotel area, the smell in the corridors was intense - it smelled like in a cow stable ... Maybe it has to do with the horse race which took place during the same week ;-)

What comes to food, Breakfast was good with a wide range of hot food, Müesli, fruits, yoghurt and juices.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcelSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,936 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,526 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
411 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd. | Galway, Ireland, Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range: $138 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Ireland's Hotel of The Year 2018'. The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing