We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service but funky bathrooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great service but funky bathrooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was impressed with the friendliness and efficiency of the check in process. I loved the hardwood floors in the spaciousness of the room. However, I was greatly disappointed with the bathroom which was small and dark with a poorly designed sink that leaked and offered little counter space. There were several lightbulbs burned out in the bathroom and a hole that had been patched but not yet painted over. The disappointing bathroom left me hesitant to stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avid_Travelerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    349
    102
    37
    14
See reviews for
315
911
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I can't speak more highly of the spacious, superbly decorated rooms here. Free wifi, great staff, nice breakfast. Location is a bit remote and unfortunately not right on the sea front, but a great place to stay. Didn't use the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Having spent some time in the West of Ireland previously I knew what a great location it can be. The Twelve Hotel is a short drive from Galway city and Barna is the gateway to Connemara. The service at the hotel is authentic and relaxed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vauxhallfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We arrived at The Twelve eagerly anticipating a warm welcome and a bit of luxury. We were not disappointed!! A lovely receptionist (Anna, I think) greeted us and checked us in. We were delighted to get an upgrade to a suite as well!! Anna explained that 2 of our meals were included and that we could dine in the Pins or West, which we were impressed with - we've stayed in a hotel before were our dinner was included but we didn't know until we went to order we had a limited menu to chose from - so well done The Twelve on your meals included policy.

Our room was huge - living area with a bar (not stocked, we presume it would be stocked at guests request) sofa and bar stools and 2 TVs, plus mini bar, enormous bed, nice bathroom with towels and face cloths and nice bath/body products.

Only 2 recommendations on the room - the dark furniture and decor makes it a bit dark when doing the hair/makeup! We also found the heating hard to get right, so we were a bit cold in the middle of the night - there are extra blankets though.

The breakfast was super, very generous portions - plenty of choice of cereal, massive croissants, fruits, juices and yogurts. Cooked breakfast to order which is lovely and plenty of choice of Irish traditionals to pancake stacks and smoked salmon. The staff were lovely and really attentive. We had 3 really leisurely breakfasts, munching away on croissants and reading complimentary papers.

We had a few drinks in the bar each night too, lovely bar area with a huge selection of drinks and cocktails and again, really attentive staff. The Pins Bar/Bistro was very busy every night we were there which is a good sign!

We dined twice at West which was excellent (separate review) and the third meal we had in the Pins Bistro opting for Pizza Dozzina which was amazing. Quite possibly the best pizza my partner and I have tasted. We ordered a side of chips too, it was a shame they looked like "freezer food" in comparison with the fabulous pizza!!

Overall we had a wonderful break - we visited the Cliffs of Moher via Corkscrew Hill, took the bus into Galway City - very convenient but limited service, and had a drive through Connemara.

We found The Twelve easy to find and were really pleased with the quiet location in Barna and the excellent customer service.

We would come and stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayfan9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

From the moment we arrived, Samantha on the reception made us feel like we had arrived somewhere special, with the refreshing iced tea to the personal card in the room, the simple little touches assured us we had made an excellent decision. The room was as is the rest of the hospital,luxurious and spotlessly clean. We had a meal in the Pins bar the night of our arrival and it was as excellent.
But i have to save the the best for last and that is the staff,it would be unfair to single out any one member of staff as every member we had contact with were so friendly,helpful and courtious,they really helped make our weekend and ensured we will be back, again and again....

Thank you for making our stay so memorable

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was here for dinner a couple of weeks ago with my family and I have to say it was lovely. I had the steak with the crispy onion and fries and peppercorn sauce, which was amazing. The steak was cooked to perfection, they had a wide range of selection so even though there was 6 of us no one had the same thing. Everyone was pleased and the staff were very good too, they weren't lingering around and were happy to help if needed. Overall very pleased

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This St. Patricks weekend was our third time back to the Twelve Hotel, in Barna. It has become myself and my fiancé favourite Irish getaway. It has everything location, food, atmosphere, service & character.
We especially love the food. It's always so nice. And if you really want to treat yourselves, the West restaurant is a touch of class.
All the staff are so nice and welcoming and just want to help however they can.
Barna itself is so nice, a stroll down on the beach is a must especially if you're looking for a nice relaxing break.
Although the bar can get very lively and you can definitely have the craic with the locals and other guests.
I would definitely highly recommend the Twelve for a weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebelbecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.7 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,603 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Property: The Twelve Hotel
Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing