We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hotel for relaxing break”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect hotel for relaxing break”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

excellent hotel, excellent service, luxury. stayed in the funneymoon suite, fabulous big open room, all mod cons, bottle of bubbly on ice on arrival. excellent staff throughout. bar had a great atmosphere, great place for a relaxing break and chill out

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    358
    103
    38
    14
See reviews for
330
928
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel was so nice, when we arrived we were greeted by chocolate covered strawberries and a little welcome note, the room was spotless!! really modern and comfortable. The mood lightening in bathroom was nice little feature. The food was lovely, especially the Italian which was right beside the restaurant in hotel, for breakfast you sit down and choose what you want and then it is made for you which was great. There were also few places to eat right beside hotel, some seafood restaurants and a nice chippy right beside hotel. There was a supermarket across the road and a little beach and harbor was a just a five minute walk from hotel. This location is good as it relaxing but Galway city centre and salthill is a short driving distance away if you wanted more bars, restaurants etc. The only bad thing I can say is that as it is at a cross roads, there was some noise from traffic in the morning. Overall this hotel was excellent, the service was good and friendly. Will return to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natbrown6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at The Twelve over the weekend with my Husband for our anniversary. Right from my initial enquiry to the time we checked out it was a wonderful experience. Every staff member that we encountered was very professional, competent and friendly. The service is understated - the staff are there when you need them, otherwise they dont fuss about you which was great. We ate in the fine dining restaurant on the Saturday night, the food was delicious and again the staff were very competent. It was a very easy going weekend which was just what we wanted.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AiryFairyLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I had known of The Twelve for the last year or two and wanted an opportunity to stay here. Myself and my girlfriend got a nice room and check in was easy and quick. The food here was the highlight for us especially the cooked to order breakfast. Music in the bar on Friday was not all that great, could not really hear them and they took breaks every song or two. The food in West was excellent if on the pricey side. It's easy to see the hotel needs a bit of maintenance attention there were areas that seen better days.
Appreciate the free coffee on check out as well.
Would I return? Yes but sooner if there was a steam room or jacuzzi to enjoy.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aidan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ross, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for a break before Christmas. We arrived on a Sunday and stayed for two nights. We stayed in a luxury suite and we were very happy with the room. However the bathroom was a bit small for a suite and the sofa a bit worn but overall the room was reasonably luxurious with thick curtains and cosy lighting and plenty of extras for our use in the bar such as a coffee filter machine, kettle, wine and champagne glasses as well as tumblers.
The restaurant upstairs is not open at this time in the week and as there's not much going on in the village we decided to eat in the bar on the first evening of our stay. We reviewed the bar menu in our room and it looked ok. However this was not the menu on offer. The bar menu was really unimpressive so we said we would order from the pizza menu which looked interesting.
However when our food arrived we both got pizza which were not what we ordered. Mine was supposed to have goats cheese and pesto and arrived with meat and mushroom which made me fill ill. Aside from the mistake they were greasy and soggy and I forced down one slice. I did inform the waiter that they were not what we had ordered and he only charged me for one. He said that they were working from a different menu in the pizzeria than in the bar which of course made no sense as this meant it was a lucky dip, what would be the point of reading the menu!!
We returned to our room feeling ill from the aroma of soggy mushrooms, however we soon relaxed and decided to enjoy the room and a few glasses of wine.
Breakfast the next morning was cooked to order, I was starving after not eating the night before but unfortunately the best thing about the breakfast was the fact that it came with two eggs and toast. The bacon was was thick, poor quality and tasted of very little. One of the sausages on my plate was sour and I did not care for the puddings which were used as they just weren't to my taste (too smooth).
Breakfast the following morning was eggs benedict and was good.
The lobby area was very small and there wasn't really anywhere in the hotel to sit and relax I felt.

All in all I was happy with the room but not with the experience provided in the hotel. I won't be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoderanRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel and it's staff have thought of everything from the complimentary homemade strawberry iced tea in reception as you check-in to the complimentary "The Twelve" shortbread cake and welcome card in your room on arrival! The staff are super friendly and welcoming. The rooms are clean, spacious and modern and room facilities are great. There is a buffet breakfast of pastries (baked fresh in The Twelve bakery), cereals, yoghurts and juices which you can help yourself too and hot breakfast are cooked fresh to order.
The bistro has a wooden burning pizza oven and severs delicious pizza's as well as a wide selection of other delicious dishes. The hotel has one of the best stocked bars I've been in a long time which a wide selection or european beers and spirits as well as supporting irish mirco breweries!We had dinner on one night in the West restraurant and the food was outstanding with an excellent wine menu to accompany. Definitely worth a visit.
While the Twelve is located in Barna outside of Galway city we used it as our base for siteseeing in Galway and the Aran islands, We did have a car as we drove from Dublin but did get a taxi to and from Galway on one evening which was not expensive. The hotel is well located to be a base for Galway but also from speaking to the bar manager there is also a lot of great restaurants and places to visit in Barna itself including one of the best seafood restaurants in Ireland.
On check out we were given vouchers for complimentary tea or coffee from the Twelve Bakery which is a clever plan to get visitors in and tempt them to buy some of their delecious offerings (which we did and enjoyed on the way back to Dublin!).
All in all The Twelve is a fantastic hotel with great staff, food and rooms. I always think it's a great sign when you see the locals using bars and bistros of hotels, generally a good indicator of good food and service! Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiochelleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
287 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel was really nice, and the bar has a great atmosphere. The staff are very friendly, and the food is of excellent quality and is reasonably priced. The seafood is really fresh and delicious, and the soups are fantastic.They have a full bar menu and a TV in the bar for watching the match. The hotel is very clean and well kept, the decorations are lovely and it has a homely feel. It is also only 10 minutes from the city centre, thus making it very convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the south or east have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lava Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,922 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Property: The Twelve Hotel
Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing