We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and fabulous food”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Both myself and my husband have stayed in this hotel a number of times, we love it. From the rooms to the food to the friendly service it is top-noch. It's a lovely clean hotel also. Any chance we get we stay the night here and if we can't stay we aim to take a day trip to the hotel for lunch in the bar, the menu is great and the food as georgous. The staff are always really friendly and can't do enough, they are consistent with their service, ten out of ten to them. The last day we called for lunch I had the muscles in a wine sauce and the burger, it was lovely, to finish I had the hot chocolate, i would go back for that hot chocolate alone, it was very tasty (cream on top and all...) Both myself, my husband and many family members rate this hotel as one of our definate favourites, I highly recommend you call sometime and enjoy this lovely hotel in the west of Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rach i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,725)
There are newer reviews for The Twelve Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,190 - 1,196 of 1,725 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the twelve 2 weeks ago and were delighted with our stay. I have nothing more to add as previous contributors have already said it. the staff were very welcoming and friendly and were a great source of local info ie. where to go, things to do, where to shop, where to go in Galway for a bit of ceol agus craic. the room was lovely and the food delicious what more could you want. we will be staying with the twelve again as it is in a great location just outside of galway and on the borders of connemara you could not get better(except in Donegal maybe!!) so many thanks to all the staff at the Twelve will be seeing you again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markgoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in The Twelve for three nights last weekend in October. Only one complaint which you will see below, which is why I gave it 4 rather than 5 star rating. otherwise fantastic.
On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by Reception staff, even offered a seat and glass of Juice while checking in.(nice touch). We stayed in the xii Suite. The suite was really nice, looked better even than the Hotel Photos. Was lovely to have fire in the room as it was freezing. There was also a bottle of wine and some pastries from their bakery, another nice touch. We ate two nights in the Restaurant. The food was out of this world, the waiting staff so helpful. You could also have the maitre'd pick wine for you per course. Breakfast outstanding. Cereal, fruit and bread laid out buffet style, for the main there was a well varied menu, which was served up to you.
We did a bit of travelling around the area, but to be honest we spent most of the time chilling in the Hotel as we had a really nice spacious suite. The one complaint which unfortunately slightly spoiled the stay was the noise of heating ducts that ran along back wall of Suite. It didn't bother initially but got a bit irritating after a day or so. The noise did stop at night from about 10pm until 7am so didn't disturb sleep, unless you wanted bit of sleep on. Management are aware of this problem and perhaps should have mentioned it initially. However, for a lot of people the 'fan type' noise might not disturb at all, particularly if you have
the tv, music or jacuzzi on. We will definitely re vist this hotel, but will choose a different room.

Room Tip: Suite xii really fabulous for a treat, but as my review above, the noise of the heating ducts could...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orladDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

just back from a weekend stay at the Twelve and had such high expectations of the place having read the reviews on here! On arrival we were greated by a lovely receptionist but the reception area looks like it was just put there temporarily, no nice cosy seating areas, only over beside a fire exit and stairway. stayed in a luxury suite as a treat for our anniversary and had a nice welcome note and shortbread and chocolate dipped strawberries waiting for us. the room was nice and spacious but was on a very busy road and the noise level was beyond belief...no such thing as a lie on in the morning! had a headache from a worker using a leaf blower outside our window and he was at it for hours..he would have had it done in half the time with a brush!! the lighting in the room is so dull but i think this is to cover up the fact that housekeeping cut corners when it comes to cleaning! there was dark furniture in the bedroom area and this was covered in dust as was the headboard, windowsills, tv and skirting boards..not 4 star standard!! bathroom was tiny. had dinner in the bar on the first evening and while it was lovely, the waitress had a very bad attitude!! as the package included dinner in the west restaurant, we ate there on the second night of our stay. If you liked fish then you were in for a treat, i on the other hand hate fish and there were 3 fish starters! i couldnt eat any starter so the waitress brought me out a tiny bit of salad with a streaky rasher on top that must have been cooked for hours! we booked our meal for 7pm and we didnt get main course until after 8pm, service was appauling unless you were buying bottles of wine and cocktails...the managers were hovering around these tables like flies and couldnt do enough for them, meanwhile others like ourselves were left sitting waiting for our food even though it wasnt busy, only 7 tables were occupied at the time. not once did anyone approach us to see if our meal was ok and it was the same at breakfast, the big spenders from the evening before were fussed over again in the morning. it didnt go unnoticed!!! shame on you all, that is not the way to do business, everyone should be treated equally!! will not be staying at the twelve again and i suggest that if you require cleanliness, friendliness and value for money you should think twice about staying there too!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room that doesnt face the road!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank car l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepins12, Owner at The Twelve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Car 1,
I must say, we are all a little gob smacked. We understood from your letter prior to arrival that your wife was ill and based on that we upgraded you complimentary to one of our luxury suites. There is no mention of that and what you have written here is really quite strange, untrue and somewhat paranoid.

I would like to understand what is at the root of this as there were no comments made upon your departure other than ''thank you for a wonderful stay''. Please pm me so that I can discuss this with you.
Sincerely,
Fergus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I booked a one night stay for my husband's birthday. We stayed in a standard room which was well appointed, modern but luxurious and clean. Facilities in the room were really good with everything from tea and fresh coffee making facilities to i pod docking station.
There was also a full mini bar and robes and slippers as standard.

We ate in the Pins Bistro and the food and atmosphere was very good! It was a midweek stay but the bar was busy enough with both visitors & locals.

All in the hotel covers all the bases with some nice little touches like a hot fruit punch when checking in, to a complimentary coffee to take away for the road when you check out.

We will definitely return to check out their West restaurant and I would recommend the hotel to a friend!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenfluffyrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Its numerous rewards belie the current experience at the hotel. It's all ok, but the property nowhere near meets the expectations it set for itself.

Housekeeping standards could have been higher as could the service. One or two staff excelled, but most offered just average service level given how highly rated the hotel is.

All in all, the property seems to be trading on past glories and is in need of more consistent standards and additional investment as it has lost what must have been its former sheen.

The Pins restaurant was particularly disappointing as food was just ok with very average service. Again - had higher expectations given the gourmet focus on the website

All in all, it's a nice hotel - not great - certainly not best hotel in Ireland nor one of five sexiest hotels - so perhaps with the right approach and mindset going in you won't be as disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClementWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepins12, Owner at The Twelve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear ClementWW,
Thank you for your recent stay and thank you for most of the nice things you said about your experience with us.

I have already addressed the deficiencies you mentioned with my team so as to ensure every team member is giving their absolute very best at all times. This is extremely important to us and it is the only thing we can directly control. We cannot directly control the awards, reviews and word of mouth.

With regard to our numerous awards and accolades, these are given by the industry,our peers and our guests. Our top ranking on Trip Advisor somewhat belies your comment regarding trading on past glories. Furthermore, yet again this year, The Twelve has been judged the 'Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland', has won the 'Best Wine Experience in Ireland', The Pins was judged the 'Best Gastro Pub in Connaught and Runner Up as 'The Best Gastro Pub in Ireland'.

ClementWW, It was The U.K. Observer that recently described The Twelve as ''one of the top 5 sexiest hotels in Ireland'. Most businesses would be proud of such a title and include it on their web site. Of course you are entitled to your opinion and I value your opinion as well.

Its a real shame you did not opt to dine in our gourmet restaurant 'West'. West has achieved its second AA Rosette star this year from the A.A. guide. Although The Pins, where you ate is extremely popular, West is our culinary showcase. You missed an integral part of The Twelve Experience and that's a shame for both of us.

You are most correct. We hope our guests have the right mindset coming in. Our goal is to then exceed those expectations and turn them into repeat guests. Our repeat guests account for more than 50% of our business. I once again thank you for your comments and will take whatever measures necessary to ensure we do not under deliver in any way.

Most sincerely,
Fergus and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Spent 2 nights here last weekend and really enjoyed it. Our room was spacious and cosy. We had an offer where one dinner in the West was included. We could choose anything from the menu and there were lot's of choices. The food was excellent and beautifully presented. Breakfast was also very nice with lot's of options and free newspapers etc.

I would highly recommend this hotel, especially for couples.

Some small issues we encountered. The traffic is quite noisy from the road outside and there was a loud buzzing sound from the keycard slot. I'm sure this was just a temporary glitch.

We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,190 reviews
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,818 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,980 reviews
2.7 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,561 reviews
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range: $137 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing