We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!”
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel is in nice and quiet location, close to the beach. We stayed there Saturday and Sunday night with 12yrs old kid. We found that the staff was very friendly and attentive, from the time I made a reservation to the time we left we were treated in friendly and professional manner. Early arrival was not a problem. We had dinner in West restaurant and loved it, my husband said that in his book it was best dinner he had in a long time. The breakfast was great, with nice selection of hot choices, not only standard Irish Breakfast but also french toast and pancakes etc. We were very comfortable during our stay, would recomend the hotel. The staffs attitude and friendliness makes it really special place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magdalena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,301 - 1,307 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

We went here recently to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were extremely friendly and we will def return again. Small touches like a personalized cake in our suite on arrival and congrats card from the staff to a complimentary carry out coffee for the trip home made our stay so enjoyable! The West restaurant served delicious food and the breakfast menu was really extensive- have the eggs Benedict.Thanks to all the staff and to my wonderful hubby for such a great weekend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chappy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Hotel is Situated in the Picturesque Village of Barna, and Minutes walk form the Beach,
We arrived on a Sunday afternoon, We were checked into our Room early, Our Room was spacious, with balcony and Features , such as, Comfortable furniture, filtered coffee,
luxury toiletries, and stocked mini bar,

unfortunately there was few things missing in the room, i.e , hand soap dispenser broken in the bathroom, items missing from minibar, but we got over that. The Room was slightly shabby and could have done with a touch of paint in a few places, but overall it was pleasant.
Breakfast was served in the bar area, with an extensive menu to choose from,

Our check out was prompt and efficient and we would definately reccommend this Hotel , as a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

After a very long flight, we arrived by car. The misty rain of Ireland had posed some real challenges as we were bleary-eyed and plain exhausted! We arrived at The Twelve and was greeted very pleasantly by a lovely young woman who offered us a delicously cool tea drink. We went up a very tiny elevator to our room. I know I was tired, fatigued and exhausted; however our room needed much TLC as well. Looking beyond the fact that the walls needed a new paint job and the curtains were a bit dated, this funky hotel was a welcoming balm. The bathroom was the most dazzling room ever that offered mood lights to decompress what ails ya! However I did not like the industrial-like bottles of shampoo, body wash and conditioner offered that way and how they were placed, especially when the products were top-notch refreshing and amazing! Our room was dimly lit and that annoyed me as I really like to read before retiring for the night. Our beds were comfortable and the linen was cool and fresh. There was a cookie that welcomed us, which was a thoughtful gesture and yummy! The next morning we were delighted by a real hearty and filling Irish breakfast and buffet. Countless choices and mouth watering pastries awaited us! Colm , the maitre'd went out of his way to do anything that you request. A nice touch! Overall, we had a nice visit in the area of Ireland. The hotel did meet our needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road. Our room on the outside wall and was noisy due to traffic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sterlingtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

this is a spa like place that is newer and more like an American style hotel. It was a bit off the beaten path, but we could not find a room in the town of Gallway. The food was good, but the fancy restaurant was very expensive with odd choices on the menu so we ate downstairs. I had problems with the perfume smell in the room setting off my asthma. We left the window open 24/7 for the three nights we were there and it still smelled when we checked out even though we asked them to not use perfume cleaners, and on the second day asked them not to go in the room at all. The front desk was very helpful and welcoming. If you plan to stay in the area schedule your Irish music/dance show before you arrive. It is only done Sun. to Thurs. and sells out. They offered us a room with a walk in shower but it smelled like cigarette smoke so we stayed where we were. Too bad I would have loved the walk in shower.

Room Tip: Plan ahead since you are out away from things. Tours pick up and drop off at the hotel. It is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My Girlfriend surprised me with the Twelve and the Hotel surprised her with the "super extra+++ service". The Twelve couldn't do enough for her. She had been communicating with the hotel while I was driving us to Barna from Dublin and the whole time I thought see was on Facebook. The hotel had arranged a few bits and pieces along with a cake which was also really good (apparently they have a bakery there too and going by the cake I definitely recommend it). They even done other little bits that she didn't ask for like a birthday card and when we were in the 'West' restaurant they brought out my desert with a candle in it, I just couldn't believe it. How did they know? I've never seen anywhere communicate like that for something so trivial as a birthday. The food was amazing too, although how could it not be with service like that. I'm going again to Book for my girlfriend this time. Please don't judge my laziness.

Room Tip: My room was perfect, I had court yard view and I can't say I had heard a sound outside. as parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mellyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Cannot recommend The Twelve highly enough, from our first meeting with Fergus to the food tasting and the party, everything was perfect. The 'funnymoon' suite was gorgeous. The food was delicious, we opted for canapes but ate in the bar earlier too and it was so nice. The pizzas are yummy. The hotel itself is stunning and the staff are so helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eilis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
4.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,860 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,244 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,037 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range: $134 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing