We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding stayover”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Freeport House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Barna B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wedding stayover”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I , our two adult children and their husband and wife stayed in Freeport .House for two nights and really enjoyed our stay . We were in Galway for a family wedding so did not spend much time in the house. The owner Joan was very friendly and rooms were spotless. The bathroom was sparkling and the shower excellent and beds very comfortable, The breakfast was delicious and crockery of a high standard and also spotless. The views from the back of the house are not to be missed.

Tony and Breda Clear

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TonyClear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan C, Manager at Freeport House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank You, It was lovely having you and I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay and the weather was good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    23
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
38
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We enjoyed a very comfortable stay: very clean, excellent room and bed, nice breakfast.
Our room had a great view!

We got good advise on the local restaurants/pubs. It is a convenient place if you want to visit Galway and Connemarra.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Liesbet_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the room was lovely, we had an amazing view, and Joan went out of her way to make us feel welcome. She recommended the pub next door which was marvelous, and breakfast was delicious. Excellent value and the perfect location.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AlrewasRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Walking distance to great seafood bars and restaurants. Lots going on in Barna at night. It's a good place to stop in yiu ard exploring Connemara . It's also close to Salthill and Galway city and easily accessible from the M6. Very comfortable rooms and beds. Warm, friendly and genuine service. Very generous breakfast. On site parking which was great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan C, Manager at Freeport House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond, Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Joan was the perfect hostess so full of information and advice for the locale. This B&B was a wonderful experience versus the hustle bustle of Galway on a rainy Sunday afternoon. The location was great and the proximity of the food choices for dinner made it even better! The breakfast was great and we had a very nice and tidy room overlooking Galway Bay to cap off the stay. Next year when I am back playing golf in Ireland again we would definitely stay here again. Thank you Joan!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tomwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at Freeport House over Easter weekend during our trip across Ireland. Joan is very sweet and made us feel right at home. Breakfast was wonderful, and the rooms were very clean. The location is perfect, parking is on site, and the views from our room were incredible! This was definitely our favorite B&B in Ireland!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandaj8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

A very Good B&B near Galway, Good position to visit Galway town (only 10 mins drive) & Conemara. Excelent breakfast served with a large variety of choices, rooms were clean & of Good size. We'd like to thank Joan for the pleasent stay & advice, would surely reccomend this place to whoever is planning to visit this beautiful part of Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobutonabomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
0.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
1.9 mi away
Connemara Coast Hotel
2.3 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,473 reviews
4.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,891 reviews
9.5 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freeport House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeport House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Freeport House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Freeport | Barna Galway, Barna, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Property is a family run Bed and Breakfast accommodation which offer the highest of standards and we aim to accommodate and please all our customers who visit our Guest house, Our prices are per person sharing per night. There are tours to the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and the Connemara Tour which departs from our Guest House each morning and return again in the evening, all of which can be organised by Joan. There are also four award winning restaurants within walking distance, and of course the Beach and Barna Pier. We are located on the R336 road 10 mins from Galway city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Freeport House Bed & Breakfast Galway/Barna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing