We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Grady's on the Pier

O'Grady's on the Pier
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $87
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

What can I say excellent food ,excellent service and one excellent view .
The food was top class ,the fish dishes were so fresh and good and the choices were amazing ,must say the chowder was the best we had in a long time .
It was really busy but the service was excellent ,the waitress was so good and very attentive and helpful to all our needs .
The views out on to the pier was great , plenty fishermen catching and gutting and cleaning there catch ,were in the world would you get this excellent view .

We will be back .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank irishjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    169
    57
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ST Laurent Médoc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent meal and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had a wonderful time at this restaurant, the waiter helped us to translate the meals for us and the food was excellent as well as the wine the waiter had recommended; a nice place with a view on the bay, ideal to spend some time with the one you love !

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roxane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Food with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Ate here twice, once as a couple and then with 8 family members. Everyone heaped praise on their dishes and the service was relaxed yet efficient. The view from upstairs is beautiful and worth waiting for a table up there. Book in advance

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shynel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint Restaurant on Barna Pier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is a lovely quaint restaurant on Barna Pier with beautiful views over Galway bay from the second floor. I have been here a few times with family and friends the food is pricey but the quality is fantastic. The restaurant waiters and waitresses are always very nice and helpful with any special request. The only feedback I would give is - when making a reservation, it would be great if you could reserve the table you want. Overall, would highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GalwayGirlNY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had a very excellent dinner here, above all we were enthusiasts about the oysters. The atmosphere is really romantic with a beautiful view of the ocean and candle lighting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stefania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Grady's on the Pier also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to O'Grady's on the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing