We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful find”

O'Grady's on the Pier
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $87
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A delightful find”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We treated ourselves to a visit to O'Grady's after a busy day sightseeing as we'd seen it the night before during a little walk and though the view must be pretty special. And the menu looked brilliant so we booked ahead. The kids were a bit tired to allow us to stay for too long, but the kids menu was very good and our eldest daughter was happy to just choose a starter (fish cake) from the normal menu as her main. We all really enjoyed the complimentary cup of soup and the gorgeous breads. I had a really unusual 'surf and turf' which comprised of a nugget of incredibly succulent slow cooked beef and thick juicy scallops with the roe. Just delicious, beautifully presented and highly creative combinations of flavours, that were perfectly seasoned. Take me back to Barna....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozzie_in_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    170
    58
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great view , excellent lunch menu”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Tho primarily a seafood restaurant there are plenty if choices for the meat eaters also , see if you can get a table upstairs for the view over the bay- booking advised. Very enjoyable meal , super steak and reasonably priced wine list. Will be back

Helpful?
Thank MTGIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and lovely food”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Ate here on a lovely sunny evening and the setting is just spectacular. Lovely menu. Really enjoyed my choice.......fish is a must here though there other options.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Ireland”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The owner of the B&B that we stayed in made these reservations and we couldn't have done better if we had searched it out ourselves. It was Good Friday so restaurants were very full. We ate upstairs with a beautiful view of the bay. The fish was so fresh and tasty. We had mussels and all local seafood. The wine was wonderful and the service was very attentive. Additionally, the desserts were off the hook. Excellent meal start to finish!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sallyern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
287 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Went last week and had to have a reservation, so took what they had early. Starter of prawns was nice----very fresh fish. Lobster salad was okay....a little tough. The pollack was really nice with risotto and had excellent flavors. The steak was nice, but a little tough, too. Chowder was very good. Bread was fresh. Wine list was good and had 2 bottles of different types that were worth the cost. The place has ambiance and would go back after trying others in Barna. The staff were very nice and explained different dishes perfectly. We just expected to be knocked out...but we weren't.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alish2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Grady's on the Pier also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to O'Grady's on the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing