We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely cracking meal”

O'Grady's on the Pier
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $87
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Absolutely cracking meal”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Had a splendid dinner at this restaurant last night, everything was spot on from service to food and even the sea view. Half a dozen fresh oysters for starters followed by king scollops with an assortment of interesting and slightly unusual vegetables, all done to perfection. Even some 'Cheffy' foam added. I had a close look at what my dinner companions were having and couldn't fault the excellent fish on their plates. Desert was a cheese plate, which could have been a little more generous with the portions. Quite interesting wine list with even a 2004 Chateau Musar a superb Lebanese Red wine if you are a red meat eater. We went for a palate pleasing white from the Alsace. Very pleasant evening indeed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomcot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    178
    65
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A seafood treat. Well worth a visit”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Eat in O'Gradys last night & it was delightful. The ambiance was great and the view of the ocean from out table was amazing. Being seafood lovers both my husband and myself had chowder to start and we agreed that it was possibly the best we have ever had. He then had halibut and I had scallops an both dishes were sublime. The staff were helpful and pleasant.
We thought it was expensive but worth a visit. We will definitely return and will be recommending it to friends and family.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alocindownes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A 40th wedding anniversary to remember.”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We had a most beautiful meal in O'Grady's on the Pier, last Saturday night. It was our 40th wedding anniversary, and they pulled out all the stops.
We did not have starters, but the gave us a little seafood chowder that was gorgeous.
Next we had scallops with black pudding, which was to-die for.
The scallops were really big, and were just cooked to perfection.
My wife had the pork, which was also cooked to perfection.

The restaurant was packed with customers, and I would say it's because of the food and the ambiance in the place.

We will definitely be back, and we come from Kildare...

Helpful?
Thank pershingave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“one of the best dineing experiences we have had.”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

on our travels along the west coast we decided to celebrate my partners birthday at O Gradys in Galway, we are both seafood lovers and we could not have picked a better restaurant for our meal.
everything was cooked to perfection, I have not very often come across a restaurant where I can say that everything was perfect, the service, atmosphere, surroundings, food all 100%.
was expensive but worth every penny.
Best of the best.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced poor food and service disappointing”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We ate here last weekend and were very disappointed with both the food and the service. The menu was overpriced for what you got and food nothing special. Staff were prententious and made us feel uncomfortable.
Also walls covered in out of date food awards. Will not be going back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Grady's on the Pier also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to O'Grady's on the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing