We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”

O'Grady's on the Pier
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $87
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The view is amazing and the food is truly memorable, we ate at lunchtime and the restaurant was very busy, there was a lovely fire
Recommend the fish and chips best ever

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    169
    58
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lock Haven, PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice, but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We visited O'Grady's on the Pier on Oct 14, 2012 (a Sunday night) after a long day of touring (and not eating) on the sugeestion of our B&B host family. There were only 2 other couples in the restaurant. The hostess seated us quickly at a large table by the fireplace even though there were only 2 of us. The food came quickly after ordering. While we were eating, the chef and the manager both came out to check on us and see if we enjoyed the meal. We stayed for over 1 1/2 hours and even though it was later in the evening, we were not being rushed out. The food is a little pricey for what you get, but we enoyed it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cottonbaler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
“Fabulous, fresh seafood in wonderful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Enjoyed a celebration of lunch on a Sunny Sunday afternoon on 6th October at O Gradys , on the Pier. We were met by a friendly lady on entry into the restaurant, who kindly set a table for us upstairs with a wonderful view of Galway bay . Fabulous setting on a Sunny day and I'm sure equally beautiful in the evenings. The menu was extensive and well priced for the quality of the food we received. I had the freshest piece of cod which I knew was so fresh cutting it ,before I even tasted it. The dressing with the fish was a perfect accompaniment. It was served with generous selection of veg in season. My friend has the crab and smoked salmon salad , again a generous portion and so , so fresh. We shared a desert of luxury bread and butter pudding and coffees. Highly recommend O Gradys. We found the staff friendly , service was good and will definitely be back on next visit to Galway.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyFood4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible Service, Over Priced, Good Food, Smells of Sea”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Food here is good, if a little over-priced. There is a strong smell of rotten seaweed when the tide is out and the weather is dry. I didnt mind it, but others did. Far more offensive for me was the terrible service here. A sour matriarchal figure, seemingly put out by our presence, ruined the experience for us, a feeling that was shared by the table adjacent to us.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank ronniedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We ate in this restaurant 2 times and we always had good food! The sea view is fantastic! Prices are a little high and the staff is is very kind. We were always welcomed even without revervation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antopel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Grady's on the Pier also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to O'Grady's on the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing