We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice by coincidence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Donnellys of Barna

Donnellys of Barna
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $43
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, Soups, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent choice by coincidence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Driving by on a road trip, we decided to drop in - the first impression: Building looks nice - the second: It's busy..and so it was.
The only downside was that we were seated in the room furthest away from the bar :-) other wise, we had attentive service, great seafood and drink, a lovely atmosphere to go with it - what more could one wish for.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    153
    52
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Staff were helpful and pleasant. food was well done. attached bar gave option to participate in local interests.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
649 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Poor seafood chowder”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Was here a few times before
I vaguely remembered that the chowder was not good then but unfortunately ordered it again
Not good
Nice bar otherwise
Good beer
Good decor

Helpful?
Thank samboDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thusis, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favourite Seafood-Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

I am coming back as often as possible to this lovely Restaurant close to the Barna Pier in the middle of the village. The Seafood-Chowder is the best I know, the staff is friendly and professional, and the food is fresh and very tasty. The restaurant is cosy and warm, there's a lot of history involved with the building, there are still bullet holes visible from war times.
Donnelly's is my favourite Seafood-Restaurant, not only for the food, but for the combination of a traditional Irish Pub with a very good Restaurant, and of course the location on the coast with the lovely pier in walking distance (take a stroll down there with your girl after dinner and enjoy the beautiful view on Galway Bay!).
Would recommend Donnelly's of Barna to anyone!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, warm fire, cold beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We went for dinner, stayed for drinks and later enjoyed dessert in the company of locals at the pub. The establishment is a traditional Irish Pub and we loved every minute of it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donnellys of Barna also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Donnellys of Barna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing