We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Excellent Music”
Review of Donnellys of Barna

Donnellys of Barna
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The food was very good and so was the service. However, the best part of the visit was the six or seven musicians that played and sang traditional Irish tunes. It almost seemed like they were performing just for us! It was a night I'll never forget.

1  Thank manu204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Manu204
Thank you for taking the time to review Donnellys.
We were delighted to read your positive comments about our food & service.
I have to agree that the Traditional Music is a great addition and both locals & visitors enjoy the atmosphere it brings.
We hope to see you in Donnellys again next time you are visiting Galway.
Regards
Cecily & all the team at Donnellys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 421 of 628 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We visited yesterday evening. Although it was very busy (race week in Galway) we were seated promptly and given a good welcome. I ordered the seabass on the bone which was excellent

Thank Gemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Gemma N,
Thank you for taking the time to review Donnellys. We were delighted that you received prompt service and an Irish welcome.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Cecily & all the team at Donnellsy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

First day of our arrival in a rainy Galway we ate at this restaurant and were amazed at the quality of the food, the friendliness of the staff and the general cleanliness of the place. Would highly recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chrisspencer0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Chrisspencer0204
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. It's always nice to read such positive comments about our restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back some time.
Regards
Cecily & all the team at Donnellys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We arrived here on a late Monday afternoon after being recommended by a local friend.Wow im so glad we went here,the food is really really good and one of the best places we have had the pleasure in eating in for a long time.The staff are friendly, the ambiance is oldy worldy and quaint and as soon as you walk in to this restaurant the smell of the fresh food will make your mouth water! The menu is vast so you will have plenty to choose from.There is something for everyone on this menu at Donnellys.Of course its a matter of your own taste what you will order but all of our food from starters to mains where exceptional. The brown bread i think will be too every ones taste (best iv ever ate)must get the recipe next time i am there.And for sure next time i am over the West il be making a visit to Donnellys,,So go try and enjoy and Bon appetit (".)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank suzieyoung1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Susie Rosie,
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We were delighted to read your great comments about the food and our staff. If you would like me to email the recipe for our bread I can or if you visit our website donnellysofbarna.com you will find it there.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Donnellys and hope you enjoy it as much as this time and make sure you let us know of your visit and whether you made the brown bread.
Thanks again.
Regards
Cecily & all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

stopped of here on our way back from Roundstone and have to say as a seafood lover I was very surprised by the quality of the food and the price,
the staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us, will certainly be calling here again, recommend 100%.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank kevmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donnellys of Barna also viewed

 

Been to Donnellys of Barna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing