We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely menu, great food, good prices”
Review of Donnellys of Barna

Donnellys of Barna
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reno, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely menu, great food, good prices”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Friendly staff, wonderful seafood and brown bread. Situated in a cozy old pub with parking in rear and along the side street.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hello Stephanie M,

Thank you for your lovely review on Donnelly's of Barna and your kind words about our friendly staff and wonderful seafood and brown bread.
We bake our brown bread fresh every day and we also have the special recipe on our website www.donnellysofbarna.com if you would like to try it at home!

Warm regards,
Cecily and all the team at Donnelly's of Barna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    161
    54
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern USA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Glenlo Abbey's Sandra favorite”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Sandra at Glenlo recommended Donnellys after our day trip to the Aran Islands. We like to belly-up to the bar and meet/greet the locals or other like-minded patrons. We had the chowder and it was excellent...I believe we tried seafood chowder with the Irish infamous "Brown Bread" at every place we ate while visiting Ireland, and found each one unique. Our meals included the salad, fish special (Bream) and the Neptune (salmon, prawn seafood crepe with white sauce)...we received the clean plate award this evening. Our evening began quietly, and during our dinner, the restaurant quickly filled it's tables, booths and snug with hungry and thirsty patrons. Thank you Sandra and thank you Donnellys for the wonderful evening.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kvankuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi kvankuren,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on Donnelly's of Barna. You are more than welcome for the lovely evening. We are grateful to Sandra at Glenlo Abbey for recommending us!

We are delighted you found our Chowder excellent and enjoyed the rest of your dishes.

Hopefully we will see you back in Donnelly's in the near future.

Warm regards,

Cecily and all the team at Donnellys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Lovely restaurant, great food, great staff. The fish was delicious and all the food was presented elegantly, worthy of Masterchef! The dessert menu was especially good, and our choice was a real treat. It was busy and obviously popular. Great place and would recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncy Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and relax”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We ate here while staying at Freeport House. The staff is friendly and welcomed us back on the second night. The food is very good and the pub singers make the experience even greater.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisePandJohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must've Been Off Night!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

After spending the day seeing the Cliffs of Moher we looked forward to a bite at Donnelly's having read the reviews before arriving in Ireland. Arrived on a Tuesday evening around 8pm, pub wasn't crowded and were greeted warmly enough. Shown to a table in a closed off alcove and that was the end of our "friendly" experience. Wait staff arrived to take order, not friendly didn't ask if we had any questions, had ever been there before, no offer to take a drink order first. Stood with paper and pen in hand to take order.

Food was very good, a little pricey but we're on holiday so no complaints. The complaint is all relating to the service and lack of pub experience. Food served, chowder arriving late to table. After eating we sat with empty dishes and glasses for a good 20 minutes; no offer to clear table, coffee or anything. Husband had to get up from table and get someones attention. After he did it was another 10 minutes before anyone came. Totally unacceptable!

We left angry, insulted and wouldn't recommend to anyone. Worst hospitality ever, perhaps Donnelly's is supported by locals and tourism viewed as a nuisance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Liveitwelldaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecily H, Manager at Donnellys of Barna, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear LIveitwelldaily,

Firstly I would like to offer my sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your experience at Donnelly's. We are extremely disappointed to hear that a customer would leave our restaurant unhappy. That is certainly not our intention when it comes to customer service here at Donnelly's.

I would like to thank you for acknowledging the quality of our food.

We are supported by our locals but Tourism is a vital part of our existence and we enjoy visitors from all parts of the world (which is evident from our previous reviews) and would like to think we show the visitors a true Irish experience.
It is evident from your review that you did not receive the Donnelly's welcome.
For this we sincerely apologise and hope it did not dampen your experience of your Irish trip.

If you are still in Galway we would be delighted to if you would contact us on 091 592487 or dine@donnellysofbarna.com.

Thank you and I hope to hear from you very soon.

Kind regards
Cecily Harris
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donnellys of Barna also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Donnellys of Barna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing